Book Notification

Midnight Louie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Midnight Louie Books

Catnap / Cat in an Alphabet Soup (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pussyfoot / Cat in an Aqua Storm (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat On A Blue Monday (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Crimson Haze (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Diamond Dazzle (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat with an Emerald Eye (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Flamingo Fedora (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Golden Garland (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat on a Hyacinth Hunt (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Louie's Pet Detectives (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in an Indigo Mood (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Jeweled Jumpsuit (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Kiwi Con (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Leopard Spot (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Midnight Choir (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Neon Nightmare (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Louie In Something Fishy (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in an Orange Twist (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Hot Pink Pursuit (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Quicksilver Caper (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Red Hot Rage (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Sapphire Slipper (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Topaz Tango (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in an Ultramarine Scheme (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Vegas Gold Vendetta (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fruit of the Tomb (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a White Tie and Tails (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in an Alien X-Ray (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Yellow Spotlight (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in a Zebra Zoot Suit (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat in an Alphabet Endgame (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
If you are reading the Midnight Louie series in chronological order, you will want to read the Cat and a Playing Card series prior to the Midnight Louie series. However, this is not required.

Publication Order of Midnight Louie Cafe Noir Mystery Books

Absinthe Without Leave (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Midnight Louie series, penned by acclaimed American author Carole Nelson Douglas, is a captivating collection of mystery novels. With over 25 books released between 1992 and 2015, the series primarily revolves around its feline protagonist, Midnight Louie—a black cat detective delving into mysteries.

Douglas also introduced Midnight Louie in another two-novel series, serving as a prequel to the main sequence. In the primary Midnight Louie series, the detective cat teams up with Temple Barr, a public relations freelancer in Las Vegas. Meanwhile, in the prequel, Midnight Louie solos his sleuthing ventures.

This prequel, originally titled “Crystal Days” and “Crystal Nights” in 1990, was later rebranded as “The Cat and a Playing Card” series and is alternatively known as the “Crystal Phoenix duology.” The main Midnight Louie series kicked off in 1992 with “Catnap.” Following its success, Douglas released at least one book annually.

Most titles in the series start with the word “Cat,” barring the second novel named ‘Pussyfoot’. Douglas plans to release the newest addition to the series in the upcoming year. While Temple Barr narrates most of the series, some segments are uniquely voiced from Midnight Louie’s perspective. The narrative style echoes the flair of writer Damon Runyan. As the series unfolds, readers meet other significant characters like C.R. Molina, a stern female homicide detective; Matt Devine, an ex-priest; and Max Kinsella, a stage magician. The blend of mystery, social commentary, adventure, and humor led Douglas to describe her work as “cozy-noir.”

Interestingly, the prequel was initially envisioned as a romantic mystery. However, substantial mystery elements, including Midnight Louie’s sections, were edited out. Recognizing this oversight, Douglas later reverted and reissued the books in their original format, solidifying their status as true prequels to the Midnight Louie series.

One notable entry, ‘Cat on a Blue Monday’, was published in 1994. Set in Las Vegas, this novel continues the adventures of Temple Barr and Midnight Louie. Having charmed readers with the series’ initial books, Douglas introduces Louie, the jet-black tomcat with a penchant for suspense. Together with his partner Temple, a red-haired publicist, they navigate the luminous world of Las Vegas. When a stalker targets the annual Cat Show, Midnight Louie, with the aid of a telepathic Birman cat named Karma, trails a lethal adversary. Concurrently, Temple explores the history of Matt Devine, a hotline counselor who has piqued her interest. Soon, the duo finds themselves enmeshed in a web of extortion, blackmail, and murder.

Another engaging installment, ‘Cat in a Crimson Haze’, hit the shelves in 1995. Once again, Midnight Louie and Temple grapple with Las Vegas’s underworld. Temple’s attempt to salvage the reputation of the famed Crystal Phoenix hotel backfires, drawing her into a vortex of intrigue. With dangers mounting and time running out, it’s up to Louie to rescue both Temple and the hotel’s reputation.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Midnight Louie

Leave a Reply