Book Notification

Mike Attebery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Brick Ransom Adventure Books

Seattle On Ice (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloody Pulp (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Billionaires, Bullets, Exploding Monkeys (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brick Ransom (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Four Corners Books

Publication Order of Grimwood Trilogy Books

Flares (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ordinary World (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midnight Visitors (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Rose in Saint Tropez (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Mike Attebery grew up in Madison, Connecticut and Farmington, New Mexico. He lives with his wife and daughter in Seattle, Washington.

Mike writes the “Four Corners” series and the “Brick Ransom” series. His work is from the mystery thriller genre. He has also penned a non-fiction book and a stand alone romance novel.

“Chokecherry Canyon” is the first novel in the “Four Corners” series, which was released in the year 2017. Luke Murphy went back to Farmington, New Mexico to take care of his ailing dad, but one year later, his father is dead and Luke is still in town. He works for the local paper, and quickly learns that reporting the news in his old hometown usually means reading between the lines of what folks are willing to share with him on and off the record. There is nothing like a murder to get people talking.

He covers a crime scene on the edge of town, Luke stumbles onto a story that is forty years in the making. Some whispered secrets hint at a cover-up that is spearheaded by the ex-mayor of the town. It is a conspiracy that involves a hometown hero, as well as a growing scandal known to just a few folks, including Luke’s late dad. The more Luke drills down, the tougher the town’s power-players battle to hide the truth. This is a story as old as print, a story of politics, murder, and greed; all simmering under the hot sun in the American Southwest.

“Firepower” is the second novel in the “Four Corners” series, which was released in the year 2019. Just one year after Luke Murphy broke the biggest story of his career, he is reporting on more huge changes in the City of Farmington. It is here that the coming launch of a solar facility, the first of its kind, as well as the probable closure of the region’s coal-fired power plant is about to alter the fortunes of the city’s most prominent power-players in the process.

With millions of dollars at stake, with losers and winners on both sides, it looks like somebody is determined to tip the field into their favor anyway they can, and prepared to cover all their tracks with fire. Inside the shadowy world of big energy, it is never clear who owns what exactly, or just how far they are willing to go in their pursuit of profit and power.

While Luke pursues the story, and peels back the layers in his hunt for the truth, is he going to find out who is responsible for the series of killings, or get killed himself?

“Billionaires, Bullets, Exploding Monkeys” is the first novel in the “Brick Ransom” series, which was released in the year 2009. Jeff Pepper, Seattle billionaire and software titan, could not have picked a worse day to check on the research project he has been bankrolling at the university hospital for more than ten years. Gunmen move in, taking control of the building in their hunt to find a previously unknown weapon, Jeff gets caught up in the middle of a nerve-wracking hostage situation. It is one where he is a much too valuable pan.

Tensions mount and the body count continues to rise, his only hope to survive is on Nick’s shoulders, a deadbeat kid that is trapped within another part of the building. Nick, who works with law-enforcement outside, has to guide a special team through the locked-down facility and aid them to save as many people as possible. At the same time, Jeff uses all the negotiating tricks he has up his sleeve to assure that he and his fellow captives are able to make it out alive.

The book holds your attention and is entertaining right from the start that makes it tough to put down for very long. Mike also did a great job of writing the action sequences.

“Seattle on Ice” is the second novel in the “Brick Ransom” series, which was released in the year 2011. Brick Ransom is a rookie cop that has a taste for fine dining and no patience for criminal scum and slovenly deadbeats. During a rare Northwest blizzard, Brick has to cut his dinner short so that he can protect three key witnesses. One a stripper, one a bookkeeper, and a deadly assassin, all are set to testify against Frank Mason, Seattle crime boss, the next morning.

A gunman ambushes the first witness while heading to his downtown hotel, and Brick’s partner gets killed in the crossfire. It becomes apparent quickly that there are moles inside the police that leak the whereabouts of each of the witnesses to Mason in a desperate attempt to keep the kingpin from standing trial.

While storm gets worse, and the city freezes right to a standstill, it is all up to Brick to keep the last two witnesses safe, do his best to ignore his growling stomach, and outsmart Mason’s team of crooked cops and killers. All as he tries his hardest to contain the growing fascination he has for Witness #2.

This was another fun and entertaining read, with a great story and characters. Mike Attebery’s style of writing is thoroughly enjoyable as well.

“Bloody Pulp” is the third novel in the “Brick Ransom” series, which was released in the year 2012. Two shots are fired on a snowy street in Seattle, and a former bestselling author of mysteries lies dead.

Brick Ransom, a rookie cop, gets assigned the case, and the trail soon leads to an up-and-coming hard-boiled mystery author, the guy’s publisher, as well as a number of Seattle notables. It appears the publishing business truly is murder. Who did it? Why did they do it? While the murders still happen, who is going to be next?

This is an interesting series of fun books that readers hope to check out more of in the future. The tidbits about the city of Seattle were a great touch, and Mike makes the city almost like a character all its own.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mike Attebery

Leave a Reply