Book Notification

Mike Befeler Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gabe Tremont Books

Mystery of the Dinner Playhouse (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mark Yeager Sports Mystery Books

Paradise Court (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Millicent Hargrove Mystery Books

Unstuff Your Stuff (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of An Omnipodge Mystery Books

Old Detectives Home (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Gasp Motel (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Mystery Yarn (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Paul Jacobson Geezer-Lit Mystery Books

Retirement Homes are Murder (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Living With Your Kids is Murder (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Senior Moments Are Murder (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cruising in Your Eighties is Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Care Homes Are Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nursing Homes Are Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Platform Tennis Mystery Books

Publication Order of Wing Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The V V Agency (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Switzerland Trail (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tesla Legacy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Scam Artist (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coronavirus Daze (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

For Liberty (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best Chicken Thief in All of Europe (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mike Befeler
Mike Befeler grew up in Honolulu, Hawaii. He began writing fiction after a career in high technology marketing. He has a Bachelor’s degree from Stanford and a Master’s degree from UCLA.

Mike is an acclaimed speaker, giving entertaining and informative presentations that promote a positive image on aging. He is a former president of the Rocky Mountain Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America.

Mike reads all kinds of non-fiction and fiction. Although when researching a project, he might read more non-fiction.

Before publishing “Retirement Homes Are Murder”, he had written three other novel-length manuscripts.

He was inspired to write the novel after meeting people in the retirement home his mom and stepdad lived in. Mike was struck by the pathos involved with the aging process as well as by the sense of humor and vitality of quite a few of the residents that lived there.

The novel actually began life as a tale about three men and three women that lived in a retirement home. During this time, he was also working on a collection of short fiction that had either the perpetrator or victim being some older person. He wound up merging the two ideas along the way and “Retirement Homes Are Murder” was born. Mike’s stepdad had short-term memory loss and this gave him the idea for Paul to have memory problems came from.

He works on emails and social after he writes. He is a morning person and does his best creative work early on in the day. Mike writes in the morning, then typically takes a mid-day walk in order to reset, and does all the social media stuff during the afternoon.

When not writing, Mike likes to visit his four grandchildren and three kids. He once was nationally ranked during his younger years and played college tennis while at Stanford. He now enjoys platform tennis, another racket sport. He is also an avid hiker and walker and snow shoer. He tries to avail himself of the outdoors as much as he can, since he lives in Colorado.

“Living With Your Kids is Murder” was nominated for a Lefty Award for the Best Humorous Mystery of the year 2009. In 2012, “Cruising in Your Eighties is Murder” was nominated for a Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery.

Mke’s debut novel, called “Retirement Homes Are Murder”, was released in the year 2007. His work is from the mystery and cozy mystery genres, with some of his work being called “Geezer lit”.

“Retirement Homes Are Murder” is the first novel in the “Paul Jacobsen Geezer-lit” series and was released in the year 2007. Paul Jacobsen, a cranky octogenarian, finds a body that is wedged inside of a retirement home garbage chute. He has to become an amateur sleuth in order to clear himself as a suspect, as he struggles with the issues of being stuck living with a bunch of elderly folk and short term memory loss.

Paul’s snooping lands him in trouble with the retirement home administration and local cops. Along the way, he develops one new friendship, meets some of the eccentric residents, and he experiences some of the quirks that come with an old age romance. He also has to face his biggest fear to escape from one mysterious killer.

With an original amateur detective and a unique setting, this made for a fast and fun read that had humorous and light moments that kept readers turning the pages. Paul made some readers laugh out loud with his sarcasm. There is solid suspense and is well paced, and readers enjoyed getting to know the people at the retirement village.

“Living With Your Kids is Murder” is the second novel in the “Paul Jacobsen Geezer-lit” series and was released in the year 2009. Imagine you woke up in your son’s home, not remembering anything at all and being accused of killing somebody.

Paul has to solve two murders as he battles with his short-term memory loss. While Paul gets suspiciously close to a bank robbery, a drug bust, and kidnapping, Jennifer, his granddaughter, helps him hunt down the real killers. Paul experiences some of the vagaries of romance, juggles two girlfriends, and has to figure out how to stay alive while confronting the killer.

There is a bunch of humor in this one, and does a great job of thoroughly entertaining the reader. Fans enjoy joining Paul on his adventures each and every time, as he wisecracks and gets into all sorts of trouble.

“Court Trouble” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2016. Mark Yeager plays platform tennis with his friends at the recreation center one night, and the lights go out for just a moment. The lights come back on, and Manny Grimes is found dead on the adjoining court, having been bashed in the head with a platform tennis paddle.

Four people stand next to Manny’s body on the closed court. Mark, who feels like he is indebted to Manny for helping him out when he came down with prostate cancer, talks his friends into doing some investigating into each of the four suspects. Mark becomes an amateur sleuth in order to figure out which of the four suspects is the killer. Avoiding the attempts on his life, he breaks the case and saves the courts from being close by the city.

“The Tesla Legacy” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2017. Picture a conspiracy nut with a surrogate daughter that kicks a lot of butt, and a retired math professor. Elmore Kranz bombards the cops with his predictions about disaster until one actually happens, to the point he gets implicated in the plot.

Even with the help of Brittney Chase, his only ally and rookie cop, people begin dying all around Elmore, while attempts are made on the man’s life. Elmore and Brittney, following up from inventions by Nikola Tesla, team up in order to thwart a secret government agency and the Afghani terrorist group that seeks to get their hands on some doomsday weapon.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mike Befeler

Leave a Reply