Book Notification

Mike Mackessy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of American Trapper Caleb Western Books

Publication Order of Captain Ash Western Adventures Books

Trigger Finger (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Journey to Prairie Dog Town (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Clint Hunter: Mountain Man Books

Down From The Mountain (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Dog Ranch (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Healing Of The Broken Dog (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The First Of The Mountain Men Books

Rory: Mountain Man And Longhunter (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mountain Man's Revenge (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Artist (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mountain Man's Ranch (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eli On The Revenge Trail (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mountain Apprenticeship (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jarod Welsh: Range Rider Western Books

Frontier Justice (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Acts of Vengeance (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Retaliation (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killin' Tree (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wrath Of A Gunfighter (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Turn Of The Cards (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scribblers (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miles And Gil (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lieutenant Cord of the Texas Rangers Books

Publication Order of Mountains Call Books

The Mountains Call (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mountains Call 2 (By: Jeff Crawford) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Orin Chantry Books

Bounty Hunter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hardship Trail (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Retribution (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Uriah: Mountain Man Books

Mountain Man (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ira: Son Of Mountain Man (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Wandering Man: Mountain Man Western Books

Wandering Man, Mountain Pox (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Wells Fargo Jehu, Routs Wilderness Books

The Saga of Eli (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Zeke, Mountain Man of the Great Books

The Last Mountain Man (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Zephaniah: Mountain Man Books

Rocky Mountain Maturity (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Medal (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Eternal: A Warrior's Journey (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Chances (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forlorn Hope (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mike Mackessy is a bestselling author of Western fiction novels that is best known for the “Mountain Man” series of novels.

Before he became a bestselling author he used to work as a bricklayer and hod carrier in construction. By 2013, he had risen through the ranks and ultimately retired as a Master Special Inspector.
Earlier on, he had attended the University of Idaho where he studied creative writing, architecture, and construction.

As such, it was not so surprising that he decided to pursue a career as a fiction author when he retired from his construction jobs.

The author now has more than twenty works to his name. His favorite themes include military history and Western history, most of which have been published under Dusty Saddle Publishing.
“Eternal” is his first attempt at publishing military history fiction under Dusty Saddle.

Mackessy currently makes his home in Oregon where he lives with Gwen his wife.

When he is not penning his blockbuster fiction works, he can usually be found at the coal forge hand forging knives. Sometimes he can also be found doing some archery.

“Trigger Finger” by Mike Mackessy is a brand new work full of rip-roaring gunplay in the traditional Western fiction style.

This is the story of a captain of the cavalry who refuses to surrender. Since he refused to surrender, the Yankee Blue Coats execute his men and leave him angry and frustrated, and determined to revenge.
His clues point him toward Texas, where he has a run-in with a ruthless gang and he is beaten and left for dead.

He is let abandoned and buried up to his neck and is only saved by a squad of Texas Rangers who stumble upon him.

Rio the gang leader had left him with a memento as he had shot off his right-hand trigger finger. After months spent recovering in the east, he resumes his quest as he now carries a 12-gage shotgun in his right-hand holster.
Riding with the Rangers and the US Cavalry, they go on a mission that ends in disaster against the Comanche Indians. Since the Rangers think him a hothead he is banished and becomes a very good bounty hunter.
He is understanding to anyone he deems worthy but he is still human and can suffer from knife and bullet wounds and even attacks on his reputation and name, even if he always comes out ahead.

Mike Mackessy’s novel “Journey to Prairie Dog Town” is a work that follows the continuing tension between the U.S. Army, the Texas Rangers, and Captain Ash.
He finds himself dumped yet again by the Rangers but since he has always been good books with the governor, he is selected to head a special mission.

He is charged with ridding the state of the last Carpet Baggers and he manages to do it but his accomplishment comes at great personal cost. Dismissed from service and wounded as an anachronism, he finds his solace back in the East.
Finally, he is revived, healed, and ready to go back to regain his reputation so that he can work for the governor again. The governor sends him to the East to take care of bad penny in Prairie Dog Town.

He has once been in the town and wonders why this tiny town is so important to the authorities. While he has never been appreciated, has been the underdog, and has often been robbed of the glory he deserves he never turns away or becomes bitter.
On the contrary, the only thing he is desirous of is to serve and offer his hard-won and unique gifts on any mission that he is sent on.

“Mountain Man” by Mike Mackessy is one of the most brilliant Western fiction works by one of the best Western fiction authors in a generation.

The lead in the novel is Morgan who adopts the name “Mountain Man” since he loved working with Morgan’s horses.

When he was 17, he left home and headed to the mountains in the west. He chronicles how he met a wide range of elements of the time including Indians, outlaws, and mountain men.
Upon arriving on the eastern side of the Rockies alongside several rugged mountain men he sees his goal come into sight.

At the Rendezvous, he is to find a golden eagle which the crow people hold sacred. He manages to win the favor of a group of Crow warriors who teach him some critical warrior and hunter skills.
The friendship results in Morgan getting into a romance with the chief’s daughter and he proceeds to marry her and have a son with her.

Ultimately, he leaves and goes on a series of unending adventures as Morgan becomes a Texas Ranger.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mike Mackessy

Leave a Reply