Nick Petrie Series

Mildred Abbott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cozy Corgi Mysteries Books

Cruel Candy (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Traitorous Toys (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bickering Birds (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Savage Sourdough (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Scornful Scones (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chaotic Corgis (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Quarrelsome Quartz (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wicked Wildlife (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Malevolent Magic (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Killer Keys (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Perilous Pottery (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghastly Gadgets (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Meddlesome Money (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Precarious Pasta (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Evil Elves (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Phony Photos (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Despicable Desserts (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chattering Chipmunks (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vengeful Vellum (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wretched Wool (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Jaded Jewels (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Yowling Yetis (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lethal Lace (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pesky Puppies (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deceptive Designs (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Antagonizing Antiques (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Malicious Malts (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Salacious Surprises (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dastardly Ducks (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stormy Stars (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Baffling Bachelorettes (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Twister Sisters Mysteries Books

Hippie Wagon Homicide (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Casserole Casualty (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bandstand Bloodshed (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

For Pet's Sake: A pet-themed cozy mystery anthology(2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Mildred Abbott is a cozy mystery author obsessed with most of the things she writes about. These range from Corgis to Cozy Mountain Towers. The only thing she doesn’t like is the murder, but what is a good mystery story without a body and a psycho on the loose. Abbott has always loved investigative stories and grew up reading the Nancy Drew series.

Cruel Candy

Cruel Candy is the first book in the Cozy Corgi Mysteries. The book features Winifred Page, and Watson, her Corgi. Winifred has just moved to Estes Park with one goal in mind, reset her life. With a divorce and a significant business setback all behind her, Winifred is looking to start her dream bookstore. She hopes to enjoy a quiet time in a small town loved by tourists for its charm and picturesque scenes. Her mother, Phyllis, and stepfather Barry also live in town, and Winifred needs all the support she can gather. The plan is to run the bookshop from the building owned by her parents.

Winifred senses that things are not going to be as smooth as she expected after introducing herself to the store owner next door. Her troubles go a notch higher when she discovers a dead body in the building set to house her bookshop. Her neighbors on both sides were sisters who were keen to buy the building Winifred plans to start her business. While the initial hostility was expected, the body of one of the sisters in the upstairs kitchen caught Winifred by surprise. The police think that Barry is the natural suspect, but Winifred believes otherwise. Determined to prove his innocence, Winifred delves into the case. While Winifred doesn’t have any training in detective work, she had learned a lot from her father and ex-husband, who were both in the forces.

While working to solve the mystery, Winifred works alongside Fred, a hot police detective. The duo hits off immediately, and with the help of Watson, they start digging and piecing the details that led to the murder. Who would want Sinful Bites Candy shop owner dead, and why? Could it be one of the neighboring business owners? Fred is experienced, but he doesn’t dismiss Winfred’s ideas. Even when Winifred foolishly confronts the suspect, he understands enough to turn a blind eye. In the end, the killer is put behind bars. Still, the secrets Winifred uncovers could threaten the possibility of a happily ever after in Estes Park. The relationship between Fred and Winifred blossoms, and we can only hope it grows into something lasting in the future.

Cruel Candy is a sweet mystery featuring a smart and lovable middle-aged woman and her equally cute dog. In this story, we learn about Winifred, her past, and her plans. We also get introduced to Fred and his family and the possibility of a romance between him and Winifred. This is that cozy story you want to curl up with as you enjoy the fire on a snowy day. The rising tension will keep you turning the pages, and the numerous unexpected twists will ensure that you never have a dull moment.

Traitorous Toys

Traitorous Toys is the second book in the Cozy Corgi Mysteries series. Twinkling lights, cozy fires, and soft snowfall are becoming the norm. Estes Park is starting to look like Christmas, and everyone is trying to do that last-minute shopping. Winifred’s bookshop is turning into a reality, and the Christmas charm is making her feel all warm inside. Things change when Winfred and her friend Katie happen upon a dying man. The two are out shopping for handmade stuffed animals when they find a seriously injured man on the floor. Katie tries to help, but the man dies in her arms. When the police get to the scene, Katie is listed among the suspect with Winifred as a witness. Once again, Winfred and her grumpy Corgi have to put on their detective hats to save her friend.
Sergeant Branson knows that Winifred doesn’t run away from a challenge. He has no other option but to work alongside her, which is no problem at all. These two friends form a fun duo, and it is evident that Branson hopes their relationship could develop into something more serious. Branson doesn’t come out straight on his intentions, though. After all, there is a violent murder on the loose looking to damped the Christmas mood, and that is his main focus.

Sparks will begin to fly, but Winifred is too distracted by all that is going around her, so time for romance is limited. She still needs to set business and adjust to her new home. However, her friend’s freedom is at stake, and Winifred will do anything to ensure Katie doesn’t spend time in prison. How long can Branson stand her meddling into the investigation? Does he still find it cute, or will this kill the feeling he has for Winifred?

Follow Winifred as she tries to exonerate her friend. It is interesting how Branson and Winifred interrogate the suspects until they get the information they are looking for. The funny thing is that the list of suspects keeps on changing. When the detectives start to think they have the culprit, new evidence pointing to another person emerges. They both know that there is no time to waste since the murder is unpredictable. The false trails will keep you guessing, and when the killer is revealed towards the end, you will be surprised.

Traitorous Toys is another captivating story in this series. The book starts immediately, where the first one ends and includes both old and new characters. Aside from the intriguing storyline, the characters here give the book more depth. Even if you haven’t read the first book in the series, you can enjoy this as a standalone. The events in this crime story are thrilling, and the scenic setting will have you looking forward to more. If you like Cozy mystery stories, this is one series you will be addicted to.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mildred Abbott

Leave a Reply