Book Notification

Mimi Matthews Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Belles Of London Books

The Siren of Sussex (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Belle of Belgrave Square (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lily of Ludgate Hill (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Muse of Maiden Lane (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Parish Orphans Of Devon Books

The Matrimonial Advertisement (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Modest Independence (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Convenient Fiction (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winter Companion (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Somerset Stories Books

The Work of Art (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gentleman Jim (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return to Satterthwaite Court (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Appointment in Bath (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lady of Conscience (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Victorian Romantics Books

Fair as a Star (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Lost Letter (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Viscount and the Vicar's Daughter (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Work of Art (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
John Eyre (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Holiday By Gaslight (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Pug Who Bit Napoleon (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Victorian Lady's Guide to Fashion and Beauty (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mimi Matthews is a USA Today Bestselling author who is best known for books like he Pug Who Bit Napoleon: Animal Tales of the 18th and 19th Centuries and A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty in non-fiction and Victorian romance novels like The Lost Letter. Her books cover every aspect of nineteenth century culture including animals, art, etiquette, feminism, law, and much more.

Matthews is an outstanding researcher which shows in all of her work. Her work is always meticulously researched and she has also written a number of scrupulously cited articles that have been published in a variety of places. Her articles have appeared on various academic history sites on the web, including the Victorian Web and the Journal of Victorian Culture. She has also written works that have appeared in BUST Magazine.

In addition to her success as a writer, her non-fiction work has also been cities and referenced in publications like Smithsonian Magazine, The Paris Review, and The Journal of Civil War Medicine. Perhaps an even bigger honor is that her work has been used in high school and college classrooms as part of a History curriculum.

As if she didn’t seem busy enough, Matthews is an n attorney with both a Juris Doctor and a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature.

Mimi writes both historical non-fiction and fiction. For her fiction career, she writes Victorian romance novels with dark, brooding heroes and intelligent, pragmatic heroines. She is a working writer and holds memberships in groups such as the Historical Novel Society, Romance Writers of America, and English Historical Fiction Authors.

Mimi got an early start as an author as she wrote her first book when she was still a teenager. She wrote a YA novel that ultimately did not sell, but the work landed her an agent in the great Helen McGrath. Despite the novel not selling, McGrath kept her under contract even as she went on to concentrate on college and law school. By the time she wrote her next novel after college, Helen had passed away, but she was able to land another agent based on her talents.

A lot of times when writing, Matthews spends time with her pets. She has two Shelties and two Siamese cats. Her and her family also have a Andalusian horse. The cats are named Marizpan and Sapphire while the dogs are named Ash and Stella. The pets can often be found right by her side as she writes her latest novel.

Mimi was born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area in California. She owned a horse from a young age and some of her best memories are horseback riding in the foothills of Mt. Diablo. She stayed in the area as she attended college and later law school. She still lives in the state of California today with her family.

Matthews’ first published novel was called The Lost Letter. The book is a great Regency romance and a Victorian happily-ever-after story with clear inspiration from the great Jane Austen.

The book tells the story of a society beauty named Sylvia Staford who has been left destitute and alone following the death of her father. She takes a job as a governess in a merchant’s household. She grew up with many fashionable acquaintances in her youth, but now she is living the life of a spinster. Her life changes one day when a mysterious visitor comes and convinces her to return to her old life – and her former lover.

Colonel Sebastian Conrad was one a young dashing cavalry officer, a man that Sylvia fell in love with. He went off to fight in the Sepoy Rebellion and returned, badly scarred. He withdrew to his estate and lives mostly in complete seclusion. He is an Earl, but he cares little about it and thinks nothing of the beautiful Sylvia who rejected him years ago.

The two are sent off together for a week in the remote Victorian countryside. Neither of them really wants it, but they are now reunited and getting their chance at a happily-ever-after.

Matthews is also the author of The Matrimonial Advertisement which is the first book in the Parish Orphans of Devon series of books. The book tels the story of a woman named Helena Reynolds who would do anything to escape her life in London. This takes her off to the North Devon coast where she has plans to marry a complete strange. She meets the ex-army captain Justin Thornhill who is tall, dark, and handsome, but he is anything but a romantic hero.

Justin has spent the last two decades of his life living a wild life. He’s made his fortune and settled scores, and even spent time in an Indian prison. He needs a wife, someone to manage his household and smooth the way for him with the villagers. He answers a matrimonial advertisement thinking it will solve all his problems with a nice business arrangement.

When he meets Helena, it ends up being anything but. The two are meant to be free of entanglements like love, but they soon develop real feelings for one another. When Helena’s past, that she was so desperate to escape, comes back to haunt her – Justin will have an important decision to make: let her go or come to her rescue and become the romantic hero that he isn’t thought to be.

Another good ready by Mimi is The Viscount and the Vicar’s Daughter. This book follows Tristan Sinclair, a man who has been living years and years of unbridled debauchery. He’s hit rock bottom and is getting near the point where he’s ready to make a change.

Valentine March is working as a lady’s companion when she ends up in Yorkshire with Tristan. She knows exactly who he is and aims to keep her head down when around him. A reckless act draws them together and the two soon find that there is more than meets the eye to the both of them. Their pasts threaten their fragile romance before it begins, can they move past it?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mimi Matthews

Leave a Reply