Book Notification

Miranda Hart Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Is It Just Me? Books

No, It's Us Too! (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Is It Just Me? (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Miranda Hart's Joke Shop: The Complete First Radio Series (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miranda and Me (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peggy and Me (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miranda's Daily Dose of Such Fun! (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Haven’t Been Entirely Honest with You (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Girl With the Lost Smile (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Why Can't I Tickle Myself?: Big Questions From Little People... Answered By Some Very Big People(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Does My Goldfish Know Who I Am?: And Hundreds More Big Questions from Little People Answered by Experts(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's Not OK to Feel Blue [and other lies](2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Miranda Hart is a children’s fiction novelist, comedian, and actress from the United Kingdom. The author was born in 1972 in Torquay and together with Alice her younger sister, they grew up in Petersfield, a small market town in Hampshire.
It was an affluent childhood as she counts many dukes, earls, and baronesses in her lineage including a fourth cousin twice removed from Princess of Wales, Diana.

Captain David Hart Dyke her father belonged to the illustrious Dyke family and was an officer in the Royal Navy. He served in the war in the Falklands and at some point was in charge of the HMS Coventry as its commanding officer.
When the ship was struck by Argentinian fire, he got several bad burns and went missing for several days. Hart was then only ten and her mother sheltered her from the media frenzy which resulted in minimal impact on the kid.

Growing up, Miranda Hart developed a taste in comedy given what she loved watching on TV during that time.

She loved the slapstick humor of “Are You Being Served,” “Fawlty Towers,” and the “Carry On Films” in addition to “Morecambe and Wise,” with its camp silliness.

While she was never aware of her craving for laughter, she always knew that she wanted to be on stage. As a person who always found life to be quite boring, she just loved the silliness.
In an interview, Hart said that she has never looked forward to adult responsibilities as she always thinks she needs to be making light and fun of anything and everything.

When she was a kid she never liked it when she was told to stop being silly and perhaps this is why she decided to be silly and become a comedian as an adult.

When she was eleven, her father was transferred to the United States while she heeded to an all-girls boarding school known as Downe House. Even though she wanted to take stage management in college she was pressured to study political science.
Upon graduation, she went back to live with her parents while she dealt with panic attacks, anxiety, and agoraphobia. After working as a temp in several places she finally told her parents she wanted to become a comedian.

Miranda Hart began developing her autobiographical character that we all know and love today at fringe festival shows in Edinburgh.

She got her first breakthrough in 2008 when she went to the BBC and read a Miranda script that screenwriter and comedian Jennifer Saunders who was in the audience found to be very funny.

It was this would be made into “Miranda Hart’s Joke Shop” which then aired on the radio. The series changed her life and by the time she turned 37, she had developed a fanbase all across the United Kingdom.
In 2012, she got her first role on “Call the Midwife,” a popular BBC drama that got her a BAFTA nomination.

In addition to her comedy, she has also written several autobiographical works and got a role in “Spy,” a Hollywood comedy and a novel in 2017.

She now makes her home in West London’s Chiswick with Peggy her beloved shi-tzu and sometimes sidles down red carpets alongside Jude Law and Jason Statham.

Even though she has asserted that she still has an edgy side, she hates clubbing and has two tattoos one on her arms that she regrets and one on her right ankle that she loves a lot.

“Is It Just Me?” is a delightful autobiography of Miranda Hart who has to be one of the most familiar and beloved figures in the United Kingdom.

It is a work that reveals all the bad and the good, the ups, and downs of her career, from when she was going to school to her life as a temp, the author reminisces about the many experiences.
It is clear that she does not look so favorably upon the awkward experiences breaking out as a comedian and actress.

Miranda is now a national treasure who has proved herself worthy of all the adoration and critical acclaim she gets from her many fans.

In recent times, she has been compared to the likes of Alan Bennett and Stephen Fry as she has worked herself into the affections of the country.

Nonetheless, beneath the comic awkwardness she likes to showcase, there is another side to Miranda that is very human, even if she is totally genius, unadulterated, and pure.
She is also a great author who effortlessly puts down all her charm and personality on paper making for an enjoyable and exciting read.

“Peggy and Me” by Miranda Hart is a half love letter to Peggy her dog and half autobiography.

It is a quick, cute read with a ton of socially awkward and loud moments, that you would not be chided for believing that this was one of her very popular situational comedy scripts.
At its heart, the work tells the story of her dog Peggy, and the story of how she unexpectedly came to own the dog.

Set over several years, it follows Peggy and Miranda as they get to know each other. There are many cute adventured and doggie moments to make you oohh and aaahh.

While Hart says that this is a story written by her dog, she sometimes chimes in writing about the adventures, and her feelings which results in a charming story.

There is not much about Miranda’s personal life though we can gather that she is a lovely person.

She leads a pretty much ordinary life with friendship, love, heartbreak and loss, fun times and job, and the why me moments of social awkwardness that just about everyone also goes through.

Miranda Hart’s debut fiction novel “The Girl with the Lost Smile” is a work that will make you laugh no matter how downcast you may be.

The lead is Chloe Long, who is a kid who lost her smile and just cannot find it, despite looking under her bed, under her pillow, and even under her nose.

Chloe has tried everything to get it back but nothing works until something magical happens and she finds herself on an out-of-the-world adventure.

It comes with fabulous illustrations as it takes you on a magical journey full of action as it celebrates the wonder of true friendship, the power of imagination that will make you smile.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Miranda Hart

Leave a Reply