Book Notification

Miranda Rijks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dr. Pippa Durrant Books

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Don't Call Me Brave (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Want You Gone (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deserve to Die (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roses Are Red (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Arrangement (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Are Mine (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Visitors (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Influencer (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
What She Knew (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Only Child (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Neighbour (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Wife (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Insomniac (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forget Me Not (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Concierge (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Mother (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lodge (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Homemaker (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Make Her Pay (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Godchild (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Miranda Rijks is an English author of contemporary, crime and psychological thriller books. She writes standalone psychological thrillers such as Deserve to Die, I Want you Gone, Roses are Red, You Are Mine as well as book series such as Dr Pippa Durrant series.

Miranda’s standalone novel, The Visitors, is a beautiful page-turning story, which can be described as furiously paced, intelligent, and a dazzling psychological suspense thriller book with jaw-dropping plot twists. If you enjoy reading pulse-pounding, fast-paced thriller books with flawed and relatable characters, then this is a highly recommended read.

As you peruse through the prologue, you find someone being charged with Murder. But the big question is, who? Well, you must wait to discover later in the chapters.

The story begins two weeks earlier, just like in the movies and ends 18 months later. We are introduced to Hannah, who is married to Daniel, a consultant cardiothoracic surgeon and is often away from home for work often. We learn that Hannah’s parents moved closer to them to help them out with the two kids, Rosa and Joel.

Hannah’s life is moving on quite perfectly. She has been doing her latest project of renovating their barn into a modern luxury vacation holiday rental. She hopes to get some company when her husband is away for work in Manchester or London even though Daniel was not keen on having strangers on their property, but he finally agreed.

This is both her little business and holiday cottage. She is proud of her work, and she calls it her own. She spent seven years building and fitting it and hence has so much love for it. She gets the best linens, flowers, and finishing to make the cottage more inviting for the guests she expects.

Her first guests just left the cottage, and Hannah is happy that everything went on just fine. She is also hoping that the guests will leave positive reviews on Trip Advisor and expect others to check-in. But what Hannah doesn’t know is that her next guests will be a nightmare.

Meet Mike, Nadia and their daughter Kayleigh from Sussex. They are the second group of visitors and a living nightmare from hell for Hannah. They are loud, weird, rude, dirty, and obnoxious, and they complain about everything. It seems they want the opposite of luxury. From the time they check-in, they cause one problem after another. Hannah finds herself jumping through so many hoops but maintains to keep her calm, so they don’t leave a bad review for her.

But things take a turn when Mike falls and threatens to sue the cottage owners. Additionally, they are not willing to leave when it’s time for check out, claiming this is a one-level cottage while their home is a multi-level. Even worse, she has another clients checking in and now, since she can’t get rid of the previous clients, she is forced to make an expensive last-minute hotel accommodation for the next guest.

Even worse, the visitors try to befriend Hannah and her daughter, coming into their private lives with no boundaries for privacy. The visitors are nosy and crude, they have a dog even when the management doesn’t allow pets. They follow no rules, change the locks, and break one rule after another. Mike is nosy and keeps on talking on the amount that Daniel probably makes.

Hannah discovers that her husband is not supportive of the project, as he often pushes her to get rid of the holiday cottage. But she isn’t willing to give up on a project she is heavily invested and vows to get to the bottom of the matter with a little amateur sleuthing.

The havoc escalates to a showdown, and soon someone ends up dead. As expected, Miranda Rijks pulls out her signature captivating plot twists that will have you on the edge of your seat. There is an intricate backstory and connection. The visitors have a plan they need to execute, while another hidden agenda changes Hannah’s and Daniel’s perfect marriage life.

From the first page to the emotional conclusion, Miranda grabs you with surreal settings, suspense and riveting tension. She allows you to feel the fear and pain and enables you to see how your hospitality business can easily be ruined in a world dominated by social media.

In the first book in Dr Pippa Durrant’s book series, we meet psychologist Pippa Durrant as she is framed for the killing of a woman she never even met. It’s inevitable that someone is trying to frame her as Pippa’s photo is discovered on the body of lottery winner Leanne Smith.

Dr Pippa finds herself the main suspect at the core of a huge media storm. But she has an invaluable skill to her advantage- she is a human polygraph well trained to spot lies and deceit a mile away. It’s the skillset she will need to help her solve the murder mystery of who killed the lottery winner before the case destroys her professional and personal life.

Coming to her aid is DS Joe Swain, who initially suspected Pippa but later comes to trust her and her human polygraph skills. But soon, another body turns up, and Pippa realizes not only her reputation is in danger but also her life. Can she, with the help of DS Joe Swain, find the killer before she becomes the next victim?

Fatal Fortune is a fantastic first book in Dr Pippa Durrant’s Thriller series. If you enjoy reading edge-of-your-seat stories that feature clever sleuths, action, and surprising twists and turns, then you will fall in love with Miranda’s exciting crime novel. This is an excellent novel with a similar story along the line of I Want You Gone, which is equally exciting and intriguing. There are plenty of suspects, and while money appears to be the main motive behind the killing, there is so much deeper motive than that. It’s a fascinating start to a series that scratches the surface of a darkly cast of characters revealing to us what lies beneath.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Miranda Rijks

Leave a Reply