Book Notification

Miss Dimple Kilpatrick Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Miss Dimple Kilpatrick Books

Miss Dimple Disappears (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Dimple Rallies to the Cause (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Dimple Suspects (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Dimple Picks a Peck of Trouble (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Dimple and the Slightly Bewildered Angel (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Miss Dimple Kilpatrick” series by American author Mignon F. Ballard began in the year 2010, when “Miss Dimple Disappears” was released.

It stars Miss Dimple Kilpatrick who is a long time first grade teacher during the second world war and the series is set in Elderberry, Georgia. She has been teaching first graders for forty years, and has taught just about everyone in town. This includes a lot of the other teachers at the school. She also tends to get involved in a murder investigation in some way. However, she does not always have the starring role in the novels, sometimes, it is someone else and she takes a more supporting role.

“Miss Dimple Disappears” is the first novel in the “Miss Dimple Kilpatrick” series and was released in the year 2010. Most of the men in Elderberry have gone to war in the year 1942. Right before Thanksgiving, on a chilly morning, Charlie Carr (a young schoolmistress) and the other teachers find that the janitor did not empty the trash cans or stoke the fire. Then he is found, in a broom closet, dead, after what looks like a heart attack. The janitor is named Wilson “Christmas” Malone.

Miss Dimple Kilpatrick, who is dependable, goes missing too. She has taught a lot of the first graders that were in Elderberry, even Charlie. Her going missing shakes the whole town, to their very worn and rationed shoes. Charlie knows that Miss Dimple would not go missing on purpose; so she and her good friend Annie go sleuthing and find danger that is quite close to their very homes.

Fans of the novel liked the way that all the people seem to live in boarding houses and do just about everything with everyone that is there with them; which is something that does not really happen much anymore. It really takes people back to a time when everyone did something to help the country fight a war. These are great characters that it is nice to get to know. Some cannot wait for more books in the series, finding that this is quite the series to follow.

“Miss Dimple Rallies to the Cause” is the second novel in the “Miss Dimple Kilpatrick” series and was released in the year 2011. It is September of the year 1943 and the town of Elderberry is planning a great Bond Rally to help support the troops who are fighting in the war. Part of the planning is Miss Dimple Kilpatrick, and her good friend, named Virigina Balliew, said she would chair the event. She would get help from a man named Buddy Oglesby.

Some kids find a skeleton in a field, and Buddy (and every penny of the war bond money) goes missing. Obviously, something is going on in the town, and Miss Dimple (and her fellow teachers) are on the case to figure things out.

Fans of the novel like the way that Miss Dimple is not always the center of attention, as it gives things a wider focus and keeps things fresh. It really feels like this is an actual place to go to and visit and explore the different places: like the library or the boarding house, or a diner. It is an enjoyable story being told here, and there is quite a bit of being taken to the time and place that Ballard writes about here.

“Miss Dimple Suspects” is the third novel in the “Miss Dimple Kilpatrick” series and was released in the year 2013. During the second world war, it is certain that Elderberry’s citizens will band together to find a child that has gone missing. That includes Miss Dimple Kilpatrick, because the missing child (Peggy Ashcroft) was a student of hers.

She goes on her own path to find out what happened to her, and of course she is right on target in things. She is able to find Peggy, too sick to walk while it is too dark for the two to find their way back.

She finds Mae Martha’s house. She is an elderly artist, and is with a young companion, named Suzy; they both help get Peggy back home, safe and sound. Suzy calls Dimple days later, frantic, and says that Mae has been killed and that Suzy is the most likely suspect in the case. This is due to the fact that Suzy is part Japanese. Miss Dimple, Annie and Charlie do not buy that Suzy would do this, and investigate the matter further. They find that there is danger in a place that they would not expect there to be any.

Fans of the novel enjoy reading about Dimple and her friends. Ballard is able to incorporate World War Two facts into the story and it is still an interesting story. There is a lot of charm, hope, and suspense to these books. The author does a great job of taking readers to Elderberry, Georgia, or making it a place that they would like to go and visit sometime. This is another great book in this wonderful series that a lot of readers like to keep up with.

“Miss Dimple Picks a Peck of Trouble” is the fourth novel in the “Miss Dimple Kilpatrick” series and was released in the year 2013. Picture it, summer of 1944, Elderberry, Georgia. The world seems stuck in a war that does not seem like it will ever end. Elderberry is doing everything they can to help out. The peaches are still ripe for plucking. Miss Dimple is picking in the orchard and hears cries for help.

Prentice (an eighteen year old woman) went missing, and later, is found murdered. Dimple and her fellow teacher-sleuths are bound and determined to catch this killer. Even though Prentice broke up with her boyfriend, that does not mean he is the killer. She may have been hiding some things, and a woman says she saw the whole thing.

That being said, her statement cannot be taken at face value. She claims Nazi spies are after her, she thinks she is Scarlet O’Hara, and she knows where the Confederates buried their gold. Figuring things out is going to be tough, but Miss Dimple has never been one to shy away from a challenge.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Miss Dimple Kilpatrick

Leave a Reply