Book Notification

Mitchell Hogan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Infernal Guardian Books

Shadow of the Exile (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dawn of the Exile (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Necromancer's Key Books

Publication Order of Sorcery Ascendant Sequence Books

A Crucible of Souls (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of Innocents (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
At the Sign of the Crow and Moon (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shattered Empire (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Arrow (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Tainted Cabal Books

Tower of the Forgotten (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revenant Winds (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Collections

Steel and Sorcery (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mitchell Hogan is a fantasy writer who fell in love with writing when he was introduced to Lord of the Rings and Hobbit at the age of eleven. Since his first encounter with these books, Hogan has accumulated a good collection of sci-fi and fantasy novels. Hogan is a Chemical Engineering graduate, and he worked in a bank and a pharmaceutical company before delving fulltime into writing. Currently, Hogan lives in Sydney, Australia, with his wife and daughter.

A Crucible of Souls

A Crucible of Souls is the first book in the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence. The story is about a boy named Caldan and his coming of age story. Caldan’s parents are brutally murdered, and this leaves him in the care of monks. The monks teach Caldan the mysteries of sorcery, and the young man grows to become an expert in this field. Caldan vows to find why his parents were killed and who they were once he became of age. After years of being sheltered with the monks, Caldan is thrust into an unfamiliar world with just his heirlooms and very little cash. Aside from trying to discover his identity and that of his parents, Caldan also has to earn a living.

Caldan will soon realize that the outside world is much darker than he thought. Despite his expertise in the field, this young man learns that sorcery comes with far-reaching consequences, not to mention the shadowed evil that has resulted into forbidden powers being unleased. Thanks to this evil power, Caldan gets involved in an old conflict that could destroy the world. Will Caldan be able to concur the evil? How about the information about his parents? Will Caldan be able to find all the answers he is looking for?

This is an enjoyable and relaxing read made up of several archetypes, symbolism, and connotations. The author skillfully tells the story of a boy working hard to survive in a harsh world while trying to deal with his inner wounds. At a point, Caldan will also be forced to protect others against a despicable evil. While the journey is not comfortable, Caldan stays determined to the end, and it is impressive that he chooses to use his skills for good.

This being the first book in the series, the author has done a lot in character development. It is fun meeting Caldan, seeing how far he can come from, and knowing why he acts the way he does in the begging. The naïve boy who starts life with a skewed view of the world grows fast and is able to handle the many challenges along his way. Away from the main character, the book comes with several side stories that add a lot of juice to the main tale. Get to see Caldan in action and see how fiercely she protects the people she loves.

A Crucible of Souls is an excellent story with loads of old school ties. The characters are quite outstanding, the narration is flawless, and the world-building is simply on another level. While the cliffhanger at the end will leave you scampering to get the next book in this series, you can be sure that this is a worthwhile read.

Shadow of the Exile

Shadow of the Exile is the first book in The Infernal Guardian series. The book tells the story of Tarrik Nal-Valim, a demon who was outcast and exiled a long time ago. Tarrik currently lives in Shimrax, a place where demons of bad character live. While he served his evil former boss well, Tarriks erred when he married a human. Tarrik plans to escape from this exile and make those who pushed him into the gutter pay. His plan changes when he is summoned back to the human world. The book starts with the ripping of the veil separating the worlds. Tarrik is then carried to the human world.

Tarrik thinks the world has already forgotten him, so he is surprised when a desperate sorcerer summons him. It turns out the sorcerer in question is Serenity Branwen, the daughter to his friend and former master. While Serenity seems ruthless and cold, Tarrik can see that she is desperate, and he is moved by a force beyond him to help her. With Tarriks help, Serenity manages to sink the world into a maelstrom of insurrection, murder, and intrigue. Serenity plans to resurrect unimaginable power that is capable of wiping out Tarrik’s entire race. As events unravel, Tarrik realizes that Senerity is different, and he could have judged him wrongly. This forces him to act and work to prevent unimaginable devastation, but this comes at a price: Tarrik will have to give up the redemption that could end his exile.

Follow Tarrik and Serenity as the unusual duo fights to prevent evil from taking over the world. Many enemies will fall, but somehow Tarrik and Serenity will manage to keep those around them safe. Tarrik is a lovable demon, and it is sweet that he chooses to serve Serenity, even when he did not know the reason behind her coldness. Serenity is an intriguing character, and when you consider what she is up against, it is easy to understand her coldness. This book brings the 90s fantasy back, and there is enough action to keep you glued to the pages. Will Tarrik still feel the same about the humans given that loving one is the cause of his forced exile?

Shadow of the Exiles is a though-provoking story featuring a likable demon, mysterious sorcery, and a relentless enemy. While the author has done a great job with the history and backstories, the content is straightforward, and this, coupled with the unique storyline, turns this into one intriguing read. This is a perfect read if you are looking for something out of the ordinary. There is magic, demons, and everything in between. The book is close to 500 pages, and it is an excellent pick if you want an intriguing story with a non-human protagonist to fill a boring weekend.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Mitchell Hogan

Leave a Reply