Book Notification

Mog the Cat Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mog the Forgetful Cat Books

Mog the Forgetful Cat (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog's Christmas (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog in the Dark (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and Me (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog's Family of Cats (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog’s Amazing Birthday Caper (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and Bunny (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and the Baby (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog in the Garden (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and Barnaby (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Look Out Mog! (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog on Fox Night (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog’s Kittens (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and the Granny (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and the Vee-Ee-Tee / Mog and the V.E.T (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog’s Bad Thing (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goodbye Mog (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and Bunny and Other Stories (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog's Christmas Calamity (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and the Baby and Other Stories (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog and Me and Other Stories (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
My First Mog Books (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
My First MOG ABC (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
My First MOG 123 (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog’s Suitcase (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mog Treasury (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mog’s Birthday (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mog the Cat is the main character in a series of children’s books authored by Judith Kerr. Other recurring characters in the series include Mr. and Mrs. Thomas who are Mog owners and their two children Debbie and Nicky. In every book in the series, Mog gets into a conundrum with a new event or character. Unusual for a famous children’s series, Mog dies in Goodbye, Mog, and the final book in the series. Kerr began publication of Mog the Cat series in 1970 when the debut book, Mog the Forgetful Cat was published. The series lasted over a dozen books concluding in 2002 when Goodbye Mog the last book in the series was published.

Judith Kerr had an exciting life her dad, Alfred Kempner later changed the name to Kerr was a prominent German theatre critic famously known by many as the Culture Pope or Kulturpapst. She was born in a Jewish origin in Germany in 1923, but her family relocated to Britain at the age of 10 just before the Nazis came to power. Besides from writing Mog the Cat series, Kerr also wrote The Tiger Who Came to Tea, and other acclaimed books for older children including the semi-autobiographical novel, When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit, a book that gave an account of a child’s- point of view of the World War II. Kerr is a resident of Barnes, London living in the same old house she has lived since 1962 and claims that since the death of her beloved husband, writing became more crucial than anything else the world has to offer.
The author based her illustrations of the house in which Mog the Cat family reside in her own family home in Barnes, and the two children in this series were named after the middle names of her daughter and son, Tacy and Matthew. Additionally, the family name Thomas is her husband’s first name upon which the appearance of Mr. Thomas was based. In 2015, Mog the Cat returned as a CGI character for an advertisement for supermarket Sainsbury. In Mog’s Christmas Calamity, Mog by a chance starts a fire after experiencing a nightmare, but she can alert the fire department –after she calls 999 while scrabbling across the phone. Subsequently, she is hailed as a hero for saving her owner is later given an egg as a treat. In the advert, Kerr appears as a neighbor of Thomas’.

Mog, the Forgetful Cat

Mog, the Forgetful Cat, is the first novel in Mog the Cat series by Judith Kerr. The book introduces Mog who lives with the Thomas family, father, mother and two children, Debbie and Nicky. As a cat, she has her own entrance into the house, and around the house, a cat flap that leads her from the kitchen to the garden. She is always happy when she gets the time to go to the garden and explore, chase the birds around, smell all the smells, run around with her big flipped tail and climb trees. She is a beautiful cat indeed.

However, when it comes to going back to the house, she forgets that she has a cat flap, and sits outside the kitchen window just meowing until one of the Thomas children lets her in. While waiting for her entry into the house, she will sit on the window box that Mr. Thomas is happily cultivating, and he is always angered when he sees his flower garden messed up and always shouts “Brother that cat!”.

One day Mog is saddened when Nicky picks her up while she is still asleep- she is not happy about this, but she says nothing. However, during breakfast, she takes on vengeance when, forgetting that cats often have milk for breakfast and eggs as a treat, so she climbs on the dining table and treats herself with Nicky’s egg. Debbie tries to put on a good spin by claiming that Nicky does not like eggs.

Then another day, Mog is in the streets, when she is confronted and chased by a big dog. So she runs home, and as usual forgets about her cat flap door, jumps up to the house window and meows to be let in. Mog also gets into trouble when she takes a nap on top of the television as Mr. Thomas gets ready to watch a fight and again when she sneaks into Debbie’s bed and licks her hair causing Debbie to awaken shouting as she thinks she is having a nightmare. However, in the end, Mog is forgiven for having, fled the house after Debbie’s nightmare, she sits in the garden and spots a man in the kitchen. She jumps up the kitchen window and meows her biggest which causes the man inside the house to drop him a bag which awakens the household and it is discovered that it is a burglar and so Mog saves the day and even the night.

Mog’s Christmas

Mog is just relaxing at home when suddenly all hell breaks loose. Being a cat, she cannot just jump up and ask, “hey buddy what’s going on?”. However, instead she conducts her own investigation, and son the house fills up with people with objects hidden inside a paper wrapped in ribbon, people dancing around and drinking and soon a big fire tree is brought in a placed in the middle of the living room.

To have some peaceful moments alone, Mog leaves the house and heads to the roof to get a bit of peace. She falls asleep on a cold white cloud and has some dreams chasing down a mouse. This is fun until when the cloud begins melting and soon Mog finds herself sliding down the chimney straight into the grate. After some unpleasant bath, Mog is treated to a conciliatory meal of soft boiled eggs and fish and then she is given some presents.

The second novel in Mog the Cat series is beautifully written and full of illustrations to enable children to grab the concept behind every paragraph. Judith Kerr truly knows her stuff when it comes to domestic cats. Mog is forgetful, stupid, lazy, selfish and easily frightened and she even dies in the last book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mog the Cat

Leave a Reply