Book Notification

Molly Knox Ostertag Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dungeon Club Books

Publication Order of The Girl from the Sea Books

The Girl from the Sea (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Witch Boy Books

The Witch Boy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Witch (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwinter Witch (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Molly Ostertag Graphic Novels

Publication Order of Regular Show Books

Parks and Wreck (With: Derek Fridolfs,Kevin Panetta) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Adventure Time/Regular Show (By: Conor McCreery) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Regular Show: 25 Years Later (By: Christopher Hastings) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Chainmail Bikini(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
World of Warcraft: Folk & Fairy Tales of Azeroth(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Is Our Rainbow(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Molly Knox Ostertag

Molly Knox Ostertag is an acclaimed American middle-grade comic author and illustrator. The gripping stories she creates and the way she crafts characters and protagonists has earned her awards and praise throughout her career.

Through each story she writes, Ostertag is driven to form unique characters who are memorable and entertaining to read. Her protagonists are often brave and inspiring and her narrative style is both captivating and resonating. She believes these kinds of characters are important for young readers to identify with and admire.

With her absolutely gripping storytelling and mesmerizing characters, it’s no surprise that Ostertag has created something special in the world of comic writing. With her gift for crafting stories with incredibly engaging narrative, readers of all ages have been left eager for more.

Further proving her status as a valuable genre contributor, Molly Knox Ostertag captivates readers in a myriad of ways. Her stories are both emotionally resonant and immersive, comprised of colorful visuals and powerful protagonists. By bringing her creative stories and characters to life, she has managed to bring something unique and inspiring to the comic world.

Early and Personal Life

Molly Knox Ostertag’s writing journey began during her upbringing in the New York forests upstate. As a child, she was an avid reader, loving to adventure through lush, fantastical worlds. This love of make-believe blossomed into something grander as she discovered live-action role-playing camps. Soon, she was brandishing her own foam swords and joining in on the action.

In 2014, she graduated from the School of Visual Arts, having studied illustration and cartooning. She now resides in Los Angeles and her creative interests are rooted in history, women in fantasy, fiction, and science-fiction, and superheroes.

That same year, Ostertag launched her webcomic titled Strong Female Protagonist, alongside co-author Brennan Lee Mulligan. The series skyrocketed to success, winning the title of io9’s best new and short webcomics in 2012. This newfound fame prompted Ostertag to launch a successfully managed Kickstarter campaign to release the first part of her series, published by Top Shelf comics. Now, the book is available online and in stores.

Ostertag’s passion for writing has only grown since then, blossoming into a successful career for the novelist. She is constantly striving to match her love of reading and storytelling with her own creativity, inspiring and expanding the realm of fantasy and fiction.

Writing Career

Molly Knox Ostertag was always a passionate and creative writer. She began her career as a writer back in 2017, when she published her debut young adult fantasy graphic novel, The Witch Boy. It was widely applauded by critics and readers alike, launching what would be a long and illustrious career in writing.

Ostertag released two more books in the Witch Boy series: The Hidden Witch in 2018 and The Midwinter Witch in 2019. In 2021, she released the stand-alone graphic-novel The Girl from the Sea, which received similarly stellar reviews. In 2022 she is set to release her new series Dungeon Club.

In addition to her own writing, Ostertag has contributed to a variety of franchises, such as World of Warcraft and the popular show The Regular Show. As a writer, she is continuously pushing boundaries with her work and her current projects promise to be equally as great.

The Midwinter Witch

Molly Knox Ostertag’s ‘The Midwinter Witch,’ published by Graphix on November 5th, 2019, is part of her acclaimed “The Witch Boy” series of comic books. The series follows the adventures of a young boy with special magical powers. Fans of graphic novels will love this fun middle-grade fantasy! The graphic novel is best experienced when read in order, so readers should start with the first book in the series.

Aster was proud and excited to participate and compete as a witch in the Midwinter Festival’s Jolrun annual tournament, however defying tradition was not easy. Ariel was also intrigued by the Festival yet she yearned for something more, her dreams being visited by a mysterious witch who seemed to understand the truth of her past. Unfortunately, a sinister force invaded the festivities, putting the two young witches’ plans at risk.

Though the dark magics threatened to tear them apart, Aster and Ariel had the courage to fight them and ultimately prevail.

Fans of graphic novels will take joy in this vibrant comic book tale of courage, family, and discovering one’s identity. As part of ‘The Witch Boy’ series, readers will be taken on an epic journey. With its captivating illustrations by “edge of your seat” story, ‘The Midwinter Witch’ is a must-read for comic book lovers!

Roll Call

Molly Knox Ostertag’s ‘Roll Call’ was published on November 29, 2022 as the first installment in her ‘Dungeon Club’ middle-grade fantasy comic series. Just in time for the holidays, this novel was released to the public with HarperAlley listed as the publisher. The story maps out the overall premise of the series and readers would be sure to enjoy the entertainment for years to come.

Providing the perfect escape from the challenges of middle school, Jess and Olivia explore their own imaginations through the classic game of Dungeons and Dragons. Jess, as Sir Corius, is the solo party member in their D&D fantasy adventures, while Olivia is the Dungeon Master. Their epic campaign quickly changes when Olivia wants to add new players though, leaving Jess to battle with questions of whether their friendship and adventures can survive this change.

Through finding a way to balance all these new elements, Jess and Olivia discover a new level of creativity and created adventures beyond their wildest dreams.

With its bright illustrations by Xanthe Bouma, Molly Knox Ostertag’s ‘Roll Call’ is the perfect book for those looking to explore creative new adventures in middle-grade fantasy. As the first installment of the ‘Dungeon Club’ series, this novel introduces readers to Jess and Olivia’s imagination-filled world. It’s a great story to explore for the holiday season, and readers can expect more exciting adventures beyond this novel thanks to the nature of an ongoing series. All in all, ‘Roll Call’ is sure to bring joy to any reader old or young!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Molly Knox Ostertag

Leave a Reply