Book Notification

Monica McCallan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of LadyLuck Startups Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Better Than a Dream (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Back to the Start (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charm City (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Spin (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perspective (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tapping into Love (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Then & Now (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flaw in Our Design (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
When I'm With You (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Back in Your Arms (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cuffing Season (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Life Worth Living (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Monica McCallan is an author of romance books best known for her LadyLuck Startups Romance series. She’s always been an avid fan of romance books, right before she even began writing them. Now, she writes them, and nothing will stop her from crafting sweet romance stories that her readers are waiting to devour. She lives in Philadelphia and works at a startup that has given her so much inspiration for her story’s settings and storylines. She is married, and the couple live together with their two tiny dogs. When not writing or working, you will find her playing pool or enjoying a glass of craft beer.

The Flow in Our Design is Monica McCallan’s standalone novel, published in 2020. It delves into the entangled lives of two women from disparate worlds set in Lake Cabot. This is a classic tale of a rich girl who meets a poor girl to find love against the odds.
We are introduced to Valerie. She returns to Lake Cabot to spend her summer before diving into the demanding world of law school. It’s a summer of soul-searching for Valerie before she can begin a career path that has been planned for her. We also learn that Valerie is wrestling with a personal truth she has yet to acknowledge–her sexuality openly. However, a chance encounter with Olivia ignites Valerie’s curiosity to explore her desires, and she wonders if a summer romance might provide her with the clarity she seeks.

Olivia is the essence of local charm. She divides her time between helping her father at the rental shop and serving drinks at the local bar and dedicates some of her time to writing and spending with family. Olivia’s life is simple even though she yearns for independence. This starkly contrasts Valerie, whose world is defined by expectations and skeletons in the closet.

The Flaw in Our Design vividly portrays Olivia and Valerie’s unexpected journey towards love. The setting of a sleepy yet vibrant small town is a character by itself, which helps develop the main characters.

Mourning her mother’s death, Olivia has vowed to shield her heart from heartbreaks. She equates love with loss. As a result, she is determined to avoid love at all costs and hence chooses solitude over the risk of heartache. On the other hand, Valerie is a fortress of secrets. She has concealed her true self even from those closest to her as she follows on the edge of an expected future and her hidden desires.

Olivia and Valerie’s paths collide one fateful morning. This ignites an undeniable chemistry that neither can ignore. The chemistry overpowers their initial intentions as they give into a no-strings-attached summer fling, resulting in mixed emotions and tough decisions. With summer ending, the possibility of a future together becomes a complex puzzle they’re hesitant yet desperate to solve.

Monica McCallan has done a fantastic job in creating characters that come to life throughout the pages. This provides a depth that extends beyond Olivia and Valerie. The secondary characters also enrich the narrative, adding layers to the small-town ambiance. This romance tale’s strength lies in its ability to alternate perspectives between Olivia and Valerie, showcasing their complexities and shared vulnerabilities.

Olivia’s serious, guarded nature is juxtaposed with her fierce loyalty and unexpected passion. This dichotomy unfolds beautifully as she navigates her feelings for Valerie. On the other hand, Valerie exudes a genuine warmth and charm that belies her inner turmoil.
The Flaw in Our Design provides a unique lens through which the story’s themes are explored. It is a testament to the power of serendipity, love, and the journey of self-discovery. It’s a story that celebrates the beauty of finding oneself and another in the least expected places and the unpredictable nature of life and love. McCallan delivers a compelling narrative that’s as heartwarming as it is thought-provoking. It is a powerful reminder of the possibilities that await when we open our hearts to love.

Sweat Equity is the first novel in the LadyLuck Startups Romance series, published in 2018. The series revolves around the lives of three Stanford alumni who leap into the tech world with their groundbreaking lesbian dating app. Meet Brennan, Carter, and Avery. They share the hustle of nurturing a fledgling company and cohabitate in Brennan’s spacious San Francisco residence.

At the heart of this narrative is Avery Simmons. She is the tech wizard behind the startup whose world turns upside down after a bitter breakup with her long-term girlfriend. In pursuit of solace and a fresh start, Avery moves into Brennan’s vacant apartment. The apartment soon welcomes an unexpected occupant—Charlie Grant. Charlie arrives in San Francisco intending to turn a new leaf. She leaves behind a whirlwind of personal despair, suffocating family expectations, and a promising yet unfulfilling career in New York. Charlie aspires to find fulfillment and purpose in her new job as a personal trainer.

The initial friction between Avery and Charlie results in an unlikely alliance as Avery enlists Charlie’s expertise to embark on her fitness journey. This lays the groundwork for a series of interactions that oscillate between cooperation and conflict, thus evolving their relationship.

Avery struggles with asserting her independence and competence in her professional and personal life. This struggle shapes her interactions with those around her and sees her grow as a character.

On the other hand, Charlie is a mature character in the story. But her character arc takes a surprising turn thanks to her questionable decisions. This adds a layer of complexity and human flaw to her persona. The back-and-forth dynamics between Charlie and Avery weave a frustrating yet fascinating tapestry of relationship dynamics.

Besides the story’s main theme, this novel delights with its vibrant portrayal of the startup culture. The secondary characters and the entrepreneurial setting enrich the story and set the stage for future books in the series.
Overall, Sweat Equity is a compelling debut to a series that blends the vibrancy of startup culture with the intricacies of personal growth and relationships. It is a promising journey of heartache, redemption, and the relentless pursuit of happiness in the innovation and tech entrepreneurship world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Monica McCallan

Leave a Reply