Book Notification

Monk Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Monk Books

By: Lee Goldberg, Hy Conrad
Mr. Monk Goes to the Firehouse (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk Goes to Hawaii (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk and The Blue Flu (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk and The Two Assistants (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk in Outer Space (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk Goes to Germany (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk is Miserable (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk and the Dirty Cop (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk in Trouble (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk is Cleaned Out (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk on the Road (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk on the Couch (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk on Patrol (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk is a Mess (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk Gets Even (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk Helps Himself (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk Gets on Board (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk is Open for Business (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Monk and the New Lieutenant (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Those who have a fascination for detective stories and crime thrillers would certainly be aware of Monk (series by Lee Goldberg). There are a number of books which have been authored and published with Monk as the central character. All these books have been authored by Lee Goldberg who is an American. Apart from being a proficient author and writer, Goldberg has also earned reasonable name and fame as screenwriter, producer and publisher. Though he has penned a number of books, the Monk Series without any doubt is his biggest success. Starting 2006 there are fifteen books in the Monk series which have hit the stands. All of them have been well accepted by readers and quite a few of them also have won critical acclaim.

A Bit About Monk The Main Character

The entire 15 books of Goldberg on Monk revolve around this central character. His full name is Adrian Monk is a former homicide detective attached with the San Francisco Police Department. He is a person who suffers from OCD or Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and also suffers from regular bouts of phobias. All this presumably has been the result of the murder of his wife Trudy, which also resulted in his suspension from policy duty. He has no other option but to work as a private detective as a homicide consultant. Apart from cracking some of the toughest, bizarre and gruesome murder mysteries, he also uses this period to overcome his grief and mental disorder. This ultimately leads him back to normalcy and is reinstated as the police detective. In the various television serials the role of Monk has been enacted by Tony Shalhoub. It is quite possible that inspiration for Monk as a private detective might have been taken from Sherlock Holmes and Colombo. Like Sherlock Home, Monk is always accompanied by a loyal and obedient assistant (Doctor Watson).

Some Of The Famous Books Under The Monk Series

As mentioned above, fifteen books have been published with Monk as the main character. Each of these books is unique in its own way. All the books are gripping, sensational and many readers also have referred to it as unputdownable. It would be difficult to talk about all the fifteen books. However, we will be looking at a couple of books which are well and truly amazing and fantastic according the reviews and also based on the feedback from readers.

One such book is Mr. Monk Goes To Germany. The book is about a virtually pressurized trip of Monk to Germany because of his unexplained fear of flying. However, he is drugged, put to sleep aboard the flight as he travels to Germany. As the drug effect wears of Monk is back to his usual self again. The story begins with a chance encounter of a person with six fingers and Monk recalls his wife Trudy’s death. He believes that the killer of his wife was also a six-fingered person. The plot takes many twists and turns and eventually leads to an unsolved mystery involving the death of one Mr. Bruno Leupolz who is a magazine journalist along with his neighbor Axel Vigg who is a next door neighbor of Leupolz. The investigation reveals that Leupolz’s death was caused by firing of shots in the wall by the killer which resulted in Leupolz’s death. Vigg on the other and is presumably killed by accident and the killers tries to present it as a suicide.

Mr. Monk Is Cleaned Out is another classic book published in the year 2010. This is about Monk himself landing in serious trouble for some bizarre reasons. He has invested his entire life savings with one Mr. Bob Sebes. Sebes gets arrested for running an illegal ponzi scheme which has completely destroyed the lives of millions of people. The key witness to the wrongdoings of Sebes is murdered and the needle of suspicion turns towards Monk. The plot then weaves its way through many ups and downs as Monk has to fight a double battle of identifying the killer and also get his name cleared as a murder suspect.

Books Of Monk Made Into TV Films

There are a number of books under the Monk (series by Lee Goldberg) which have been made into TV series and films. Mr. Monk On The Road is one such book which has been well received both in the form of a book and as picture. Adrian Monk has reasons to be happy because he has been able to solve the suicide-turned-homicide case involving his wife Trudy. He now wants to get on with his life and also help is brother Ambrose who suffers from agoraphobic disorder. Ambrose’s birthday becomes a horrible event for him. His birthday-cake his drugged and he finds himself on the road. Adrian does it to help Ambrose overcome his agoraphobic tendencies. However, instead both Adrian and Ambrose come across a reporter by the name Dub Clemens. He is keen on uncovered a murder mystery but dies a premature death because of lung cancer. The onus now falls upon Monk and Ambrose to uncover this murder mystery.

Mr. Monk is a mess in yet another book based on the TV series Monk. It is a narration as usual by Monk’s assistant Natalie Teeger. The storyline starts in the home of Natalie when she finds a dead body in her bathtub, after she returns from her duty as police officer in New Jersey. The investigation leads to the uncovering of sleaze funds under the carpet of Natalie’s home. The money belongs to a Federal Sting Operation. She has no other option but to seek the help of Adrian Monk, who is however busy. He is trying to uncover the mystery involving the missing of his brother’s girlfriend Yuki Nakamura. The investigation leads to Yuki’s past which is anything but safe. They eventually end up chasing a dangerous and highly ruthless killer.


There is no doubt that Lee Goldberg has his own classical style of representing events in his various books including the one’s revolving Monk. Each one of them is worth reading because they are fresh, different and highly interesting and captivating.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Monk

Leave a Reply