Book Notification

Montana Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Montana Books

Stranahan (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wolf Mountain (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
McKeag's Mountain (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
O'Rourke's Revenge (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
McCreed's Law (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eye For Eye (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revenge of the Damned (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blackjack Brannigan (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Montana” series is a series of western novels written by author L. J. Martin. Each novel in the series is set in the state Montana, thus the name of the series. Each book does not star the same people, but has a revolving door cast. The only thing that stays the same with each novel, is the state of Montana. Readers do not have to read the novels in any particular order and stand on their own.

His knowledge on Western History is extensive, so much so that he is an available speaker on the subject. Martin and his wife (who is also an author and is named Kat Martin) also live on a ranch in Montana, near the Sapphire Mountains. They live on a small horse ranch, in front of the Lolo National Forest (a two million acre forest). The Lolo National Forest provides them with quite the backyard. Since he sets this series in Montana, he gets to see some of the atmosphere for most of the year. And all that he has to do is walk out his front or back door.

“Stranahan” is the first novel in the “Montana” series written by L. J. Martin that was released in the year 2002. Sam Stranahan is nothing but an honest man that finds himself in at the wrong time and at the wrong place. He shows up in Judith country and is arrested for robbing Bozeman stage and killing a guard. This is something that he did not do. He breaks loose, desperate to find his brother (a long lost one) in Helena. He breaks loose because he knows that there is no way that he will be found innocent with this version of the law that is here in Montana.

Fans of the novel liked the ending, and the way that the tale captures the essence of the old west. Not to mention the fact that it had everything that a western novel should have. It also keeps readers glued to the pages until the very end of the story, to know how certain characters would get out of their current predicament. The great story line helps keep things moving and interested. The novel picks up after a slow start, and has good entertainment value. Some will continue reading this great series of western novels.

“Wolf Mountain” is the second novel in the “Montana” series written by L. J. Martin that was released in the year 2004. The McQuades carved a nice homestead out of the fierce mountainside in Montana. Colin and Kevin McQuade have to get two hundred head of cattle down to the Tongue River for the Fifth Infantry. They will have to get around the vicious Sioux. Winter is approaching, and the McQuades have to get south. They do not expect to have a slick gambler from St. Louis to join their traveling party. There is also a beautiful young woman who has a bunch of thugs, paid by a rich man, on her tail. There is something bad that is about to happen in Rocky Butte.

Fans of the novel find that Martin knows so much about the old west, it is like he was there and is passing on his expertise to the reader. The author gives the reader the ability to imagine every little detail that he is talking about. Some find that the novel is so good that it may just be Martin’s best work. Martin takes you into the work and makes you feel that you are a part of everything that is happening. This is something that good writers do.

“McKeag’s Mountain” is the third novel in the “Montana” series written by L. J. Martin that was released in the year 2004. Bertoldus Prager (a wealthy rancher) is not the first to try to kill the McKeags who live at the Lucky Seven Ranch. He is just the worst. They still stand strong on their land that is located near Deer Lodge, which is in Montana. Old Man Prager will not fail again. He sends seven hired guns to take McKeag’s land by force. Dan clings to life and plans a nasty revenge. This is the only problem with an otherwise perfect plan that Prager put together.

Fans of the novel found that this is once again another example why Martin is a great writer. He gives the readers a compelling novel that pulls them in at the start and keeps them interested. It has a strong leading man and an awesome adventure. The plot twists and turns, there is plenty of adventure, and just a touch of romance. These elements made the novel well worth the time spent reading the book. This is quite the western series to read, and Martin is able to pick up where L’Amour left off with his work.

“O’Rourke’s Revenge” is the fourth novel in the “Montana” series written by L. J. Martin that was released in the year 2005. An Irish family has gone through a lot, like injustice for one, to make a name for themselves in the new world. They went from the Killorglin Emerald fields to the American Southwest’s starker landscape. A dozen men and women are ready for the call when one of The Kin gets into trouble. Ryan O’Rourke was in a pretty famous and notorious prison that there is in the West, and now he wants to get revenge on the people who put him there or die. The only way anyone can stop him is while he enforces his own brand of justice.

Fans of the novel found that this novel is quite a nice read that has elements that good western novels have. Revenge, a clever main character who is able to shake off the bad guys in cool ways, and friends being found in the oddest of places. The author gives details but not enough to where the novel bogs down too much. The author writes wonderful novels that readers can read quickly. Some find that they stay up late reading the novels, because they just have to know how things shake out.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Montana

Leave a Reply