Nick Petrie Series

Moonstone Bay Cozy Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Moonstone Bay Cozy Mystery Books

Witchin' USA (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Witch Out of Water (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Freaky Deaky Tiki (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cupid in Crisis (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
To Spell With It (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hex Type Thing (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Brewing Up a Storm (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Long, Hot, Witchy Summer (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Great Hexpectations (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Joy of Hex (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Witch is the Word (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Beach Blanket Wendigo (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bewitched and Bothered (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

“Moonstone Bay Cozy Mystery” is a set of cozy mystery series by Amanda M Lee, a young adult, paranormal and Chick lit author. As a person who loves to express herself in a variety of mediums, she has said that she is an avid reader, newspaper reporter and voracious consumer of science fiction. The Hong Kong born author was brought up in religious schools in China before she grew up and immigrated with her parents to the United States. As a child she was torn between wanting to become “Wonder Woman” or “The Incredible Hulk” when she grew up. She also thought about becoming a “Jedi Knight,” but the idea of traveling all the time meant that was short lived. In her teenage years, she decided that she wanted to become an author though she had no inkling what that entailed.

Amanda Lee also writes under the pseudonym Lily Harper Hart and is prolific under that name too. She will typically publish between 3 and 4 titles every month. Given how prolific she has been, she is considered the ideal and is to some point the standard bearer of what a self published author should be.

The “Moonstone Bay” series is set in the magical town of Moonstone Bay, where island life collides with paranormal sensibilities. Hadley Hunter grew up with a normal father on the mainland and was haunted by the memory of the mother who had died while he was still young. She was never much involved in the paranormal until the death of May Potter, her grandmother. Her grandma had died and left her a lighthouse on the island which was quite a surprise. Curious she decides to head to the island to check it out and finds it more than what had been advertised. From the good looking and charming sheriff that seems to be more than meets the eye to the taxi driver that also seems odd. There is also the naked woman who loves to swim in the ocean every morning, the lighthouse haunted by ghosts, the cemetery that is to be avoided in the evenings and early mornings and the Downtown Development Authority that has bizarre on goings. She has her work cut out and is looking forward to exploration and adventure on the enchanted island.

“Witchin’ USA” the first novel of the “Moonstone Bay” series introduces Hadley Hunter. She is a woman that has always lived with a normal father, had a normal job, and lived a very ordinary existence in a normal suburb. After her grandmother dies and leaves her an inheritance on Moonbay Island, her life changes forever. She doesn’t know what to do with a lighthouse but decides to take it up anyway as it seems like it would make for a great adventure. Almost everything and everyone in town seems to have some aspect of the paranormal and she is fascinated. But then magical things start happening to her and to others just before a body is found on the beach. There is a killer on the seemingly tranquil island and he may be after Hadley even though she just cannot figure out why he is interested in her. Things are about to get complicated for Moonstone Bay’s baffled and most recent witch. She has to hold on to the future, look into the present and learn about the past. While doing all that she will meet a few friends with some extraordinary abilities with some that are very bizarre.

“Witch Out of Water” the second novel of the “Moonstone Bay” series Hadley Hunter is adapting to being the newest witch in town. She wants to settle down but she is constantly knocked off her game by bizarre things happening. In addition to dating Galen Blackwood the Moonstone Bay Sheriff, Hadley uncovers a decades old feud and also helps to locate a body during a local fair. The stories are flying furious and fast and the list of suspects is growing exponentially. Booker, a local enigma, tops the list and Hadley is determined to know what he is about and manages to get some answers about his mysterious past. Booker and Galen are at loggerheads and the feud goes deeper than just the body found. When another witch tells her that she is interested in getting some training, Hadley is excited to teach her. But unfortunately, she is not going to get the help she thought she would from the old witch in town. She needs to figure out how to help the witch in training, get to know some of the locals and solve a murder all at the same time. She also has to bond with the grandfather she never knew and until very recently did not know she had. She is jobless but she always has something going on.

“Freaky Deaky Tiki” the third novel of the “Moonstone Bay” series has Hunter Hadley learning about love life and being a witch. She has a hunky and hot new boyfriend, family and new friends. But life just got busier when Aisling Grimlock, a grim reaper from Detroit jets into Moonstone Bay for her honeymoon. She is brash, loud and very pregnant. Unfortunately, the pregnancy is not doing much for her in terms of developing the new baby happiness and glow. When a body is discovered on the docks, Hadley decides to help Galen her boyfriend investigate. She’s certain that the homicide had been part of a ritual given the tiki mask that had been found on the scene and the unusual wound on the body. Given that she is limited and bored, she quickly volunteers to help by latching on to Hadley. Together they zip around the island and investigate the local cult living in the forest. Aisling has her own ideas that sometimes clash with what Hadley has in mind. Galen just wants the two women to stay clear of the case but things are just about to get complicated in a big way. Moonstone Bay’s newest witch is just about to meet up with the mouthiest reaper Detroit has to offer. Death is in the air in a high stakes game as secrets are about to be revealed and things will get freaky.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Moonstone Bay Cozy Mystery

2 Responses to “Moonstone Bay Cozy Mystery”

  1. Permina: 2 years ago

    who is June and where did she come from in book 5????

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      June was introduced in the short story Cupid in Crisis


Leave a Reply