Book Notification

Morgan L. Busse Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Follower of the Word Books

Daughter of Light (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Son of Truth (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heir of Hope (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Nordic Wars Books

Winter's Maiden (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Ravenwood Saga Books

Mark of the Raven (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight of the Raven (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cry of the Raven (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Skyworld Books

Secrets in the Mist (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Secrets (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Soul Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Just Dumb Enough(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stories That Sing: Havok Season Two(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Finding God in Anime(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Morgan L. Busse
Morgan L. Busse is a mom by night and a writer during the day. She writes steampunk and fantasy novels, sometimes dabbling in science fiction.

“Daughter of Light”, her debut novel, was a finalist for a Carol Award and a Christy Award.

When Morgan’s not busy writing, she loves taking long walks, playing games, and dreaming up her next novel.

Morgan is the sort of the writer that plots, needing to know what the main events are, how the novel starts, and how the story ends. Since she’s that sort of author, it’s easier to stick to an outline.

She will typically begin coming up with ideas years before she sits down and writes the book, since she’s usually working on another novel at the time. Morgan sets up a folder on her computer and puts all of her ideas, characters, scenes, and dialogue that she’s dreamed up in that folder. Then, by the time she is finally ready to begin writing the novel, she is quite familiar with the settings, the story, and the characters.

And when it is time to start writing on the book, she pulls the folder out and for a week, she brainstorms and tries figuring out how the story fits together. Where does she begin? How does one event lead to the next? Is there some theme that she is seeing? And how does it all end?

By the end of this week, she puts all of her ideas on 3×5 cards and pins them to this cork board in the story’s order. The storyboard becomes her outline or map she follows while starting to write the story. That’s when she starts the writing process. Rarely does she ever veer from this storyboard. What is there is what goes into her story. But while getting into her rough draft, her characters will reveal more things going on that she hadn’t realized.

“Daughter of Light” is the first novel in the “Follower of the World” series and was released in 2012. What if with just a single touch you could see inside the soul?

Rowen Mar finds this bizarre mark on her hand, and she’s banished out of her village as a witch. She covers up this mark with a leather glove and goes looking for sanctuary in the White City. She lives in fear that if she touches another person, that this power inside of her will trigger again the horrifying power which allows her to see the darkness inside of the human heart.

However the mark is this summons, and those who are called can’t hide forever. For her people’s salvation lies within her hand.

“Tainted” is the first novel in the “Soul Chronicles” series and was released in 2016. What happens when your soul dies?

Kat Bloodmayne is one of the first women to be selected to attend the Tower Academy of Sciences. However she carries this secret: she is able to twist the natural laws of life. She’s got no clue where this ability even came from, just that each and every time she loses control and unleashes this power, it kills a piece of her soul. If she is unable to find a cure soon, her soul’s going to die and she’ll become something else entirely.

Stephen Grey, after suffering a devastating personal loss, leaves the World City Police Force in order to become a bounty hunter. He believes in the idea of justice and will stop at nothing in order to ensure that criminals are caught and locked up. But when Kat Bloodmayne arrives at his office looking to get his help, his world ends up turned upside down.

Together they both search World City and beyond for a doctor that’s able to cure Kat. However what they find along the way goes beyond science and into the darker sphere of magic.

“Mark of the Raven” is the first novel in the “Ravenwood Saga” series and was released in 2018. Lady Selene is the heir to the Great House of Ravenwood and the secret family gift of dreamwalker. This allows her to enter a person’s dream and manipulate their greatest desires or fears. For the past hundred years, the Ravenwood women have used their gift of dreaming for hire to assassinate or gather information.

While she learns her family’s dark secret, she is torn between seeking the true reason behind her family’s gift and upholding her family’s legacy, which is a legacy that supports her people.

Her dilemma comes to a head once she’s tasked with assassinating the single man that can bring peace to the nations, however who will also bring about the downfall of her own house.

One single path holds power and glory, and is going to solidify her position as Lady of Ravenwood. The other path holds execution and shame. Which is she going to pick? And is she truly willing to pay the price for the path she selects?

“Secrets in the Mist” is the first novel in the “Skyworld” series and was released in 2021. What is lurking out in the Mist is the least of their problems.

In a world where humanity lives up in the sky in order to escape the deadly mist down below, Cass’s single goal is survival. Up until she lands a job on Daedalus, the airship, as a diver. Now she explores ruined cities, looking to find treasure and people’s lost heirlooms until this young man hires her to find something impossible: a way to eradicate the Mist entirely.

Theodore Winchester is a member of one of the Five Families which rule the skies. Following in his dad’s footsteps, he hunts for the source of the Mist, and hopes he can stop the purges which used to control the overpopulation. However what he ends up finding are terrifying secrets and deadly ambition. Should he continue his quest, it might mean his own death.

The Mist is rising and before long the world is going to be enveloped in its lethal embrace, turning what remains of humanity into the undead.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Morgan L. Busse

Leave a Reply