Book Notification

Morgan Rhodes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Echoes and Empires Books

Echoes and Empires (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legends and Liars (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Falling Kingdoms Books

Falling Kingdoms (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rebel Spring (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gathering Darkness (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Frozen Tides (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crystal Storm (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crimson Dagger (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Obsidian Blade (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Immortal Reign (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Falling Kingdoms Books

Crimson Dagger is a prequel in the Falling Kingdoms series.

Publication Order of Spirits and Thieves Books

A Book of Spirits and Thieves (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Magic (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cursed Heir (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Morgan Rhodes is the New York times best selling author of the Falling Kingdom series and its spin-off, the Book of Spirits and Thieves. Rhodes has also written numerous books in the paranormal romance genre under the pen name Michelle Rowan. She is a national bestseller in this genre. Morgan maintains these two personas for her writing as she feels that her books fall into quite distinct genres and so keeps them separate by authoring them under different names. Morgan is based in Ontario Canada. She is an avid, although picky, reader, and enjoys travel, reality television and photography. Morgan also professes a love of coffee, handbags and Candy Crush.

Growing up, Morgan wanted to be a sword wielding, dragon and dark wizard fighting princess who saved kingdoms and princes from such perils. Her fantasy, the Falling Kindgom echoes her childhood dreams. Morgan maintains a strong presence on social media where she is happy to answer questions from her fans about her books. Morgan cities receiving good marks in English literature as a teenager, and the movie Romancing the Stone as her inspirations to become a writer. However, Morgan studied graphic design and spent the first decade of her working life working in that industry to provide a more stable income while working on her writing. Morgan considers J.K Rowling and the Harry Potter series to be her favorite author and books. Comparisons have also been made between Morgan Rhodes’style of writing and that of George R. R. Martin, author of the Game of Thrones series.

The Falling Kingdom series is billed as an high fantasy series for young adults. The focus in the early books is an epic battle between three kingdoms who had been living in relative peace until a deadly unrest set in. Some citizens are trying recapturing magic that the kingdoms had long thought was lost forever. Others are fighting for causes that have been in the hearts of the people for centuries. Others are fighting for themselves. Not all of the kingdoms, or its citizens will make it and their citizens will suffer brutally at the hands of each other. This series is written from the perspectives of four main characters, Magnus, Cleo, Jonas and Lucia.

The first book in the series, Falling Kingdom, sets the scene for the great battles to come, and it all starts with the attempted purchase of a bottle of wine for a ridiculous price. A boy is murdered and the battle line are drawn. This book allows the reader many opportunities to pick a side in the battle of the three Kingdoms, and in the minor story plots that take place throughout. Falling Kingdom leaves each character’s story on a cliffhanger.

In the second book in this series, Rebel Springs, Kingdoms have been conquered and are now resentfully one united country, Mytica. However, the magic is still alluring the people and offering a chance for someone to rule not only the country, but the world. When a road is built to unite all of Mytica, it unleashes a will in the people that will change the land forever. Readers must continue to read the remaining books in the series to find out who ultimately wins this epic battle of Kingdoms, magic, love and desire. One this is certain, Morgan does not hold back when it comes to the brutal treatment and shocking plot twists. She is not scared to do to dark places are she both thrills and horrifies readers with the treatment of her characters. It is perhaps this feature of her writing that grabs her audience and makes them feel invested in the story.

When it comes to the four main characters in the Falling Kingdom series, Morgan Rhodes’ states that while she can relate to most of them, and while they all share some of her traits, she has least in common with Magnus, although she enjoys writing about him the most. Morgan had originally intended the character Magnus to be the bad guy. The inspiration for this character was a cross between Harry Potter’s Draco Malfoy and Game of Throne’s Joffrey. During the writing process, Magnus’ character evolved into one more complex than the typical bad guy. Morgan was surprised that he has emerged to be a fan favorite. Magnus is the Heir to the throne of an evil King. Magnus is a prince with a desire for more than his father has planned for him. Cleo is a princess used to the finer things in life until she has to embark into a dangerous journey into enemy territory to find magic that her Kingdom thought had been lost for all time. Jonas is a rebel who lashes out at the leaders who has left the citizens of his Kingdom impoverished. He becomes the head of a citizen’s revolution. Lucia was adopted into a royal family (and is Magnus’ adopted sister) who discovers a secret from her past – she is a sorceress with a magical legacy that she is destined to fulfill.

Each of the characters has a central role in the main story line. However, they are each also fighting their own personal battles. Magnus, for example, is in love with his adopted sister, Lucia. Lucia, however, only thinks of Magnus as a brother, but confesses her love of him to use him to gain information. While Magnus deals with his love of Lucia, he is also fighting and internal battle between his sense of loyalty but also hatred towards his father. In the first two books in this series Magnus is engaged and then married to Cleo, despite the fact they hate each other. This all changes when Magnus saves Cleo’s life and again when Cleo saves Magnus. Magnus is also engaged in a bitter feud with Jonas as Jonas is trying to remove Magnus’ father from the throne. If this were to happen then Magnus would not become king. However, all of this changes when the kingdoms fall and the people have a new common enemy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Morgan Rhodes

Leave a Reply