Book Notification

Mossy Creek Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mossy Creek Books

Mossy Creek (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reunion at Mossy Creek (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer in Mossy Creek (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blessings of Mossy Creek (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Day in Mossy Creek (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
At Home in Mossy Creek (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone But Not Forgotten: Novella (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Critters of Mossy Creek (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Homecoming in Mossy Creek (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Closer Than They Appear: Novella (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas in Mossy Creek (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mossy Creek Hometown is a series of novels written by various authors including Sandra Chastain, Debora Smith, Virginia Ellis, Debra Dixon, Martha Shields, Donna Ball, and Nancy Knight. The series is set in a small fictional town in Georgia, and many of the books in the series are collaborations between different authors. The publication of Mossy Creek Hometown series began in 2001 when Mossy Creek the series debut novel was published.

Mossy Creek

Moss Creek is the debut novel in Moss Creek series set in Moss Creek a place described to have a friendly neighborhood. There is a mayor who visualizes breaking law as her civic duty and by the books police chief trying to live his daily lives up to his father’s legend. Then there is a bittersweet clash at the coffee shop and a heartwarming fight on the softball field.

We have got a world-weary Santa with a heartbreaking dream and a flying Chihuahua with a very streak of bad luck. You will also meet Millicent who rejoices in the beauty of stealing joy and the atrocious patrons of O’Day Pub who strong believer of the non-existence of honest game of darts. Tuning up your radio to listen to the Bereavement Report and also prop your feet up at Mama’s All You Can Eat Café would be an ideal choice. While you are in Moss Creek, you will also meet the gossip columnist named Katie Bell, one of the locals who will make you feel like one of the small town family and tell you stories that will make you laugh through your tears. That’s how people are in Moss Creek, thanks to the creativity of the award-winning authors Sandra Chastain, Deborah Smith, Virginia Ellis, Debra Dixon, Donna Ball and Nancy Knight.

The series debut novel is a collection of short stories, and each story is narrated from the point of view of one of the residents of the fictional mountain town, Moss Creek. What makes it stand out from other fiction books is the fact that readers get an authentic feel for the town and all its colorful characters who define it. Some of the characters in the different stories are strong than others; thus as a reader, you get a feeling of different characters all in the same town and how they interact with each other.

The sections are easy to define, and hence readers are able to connect or form a bridge from one section to the next. You will also love the character’s quirkiness, and the touching stories of Jayne and Casey, and other town residents who played Santa Claus. All these stories are genuinely suffused with real human emotion, thus making them more of real-life stories rather than fiction- even though they are 100% pure fiction. For example, Casey’s overall emergence from her loss and sense of sadness to her understanding of and her adaptation of a new purpose in life is quite wonderful and inspiring as well. The dynamic between Ingrid and Jayne is also quite satisfying. These two wonderful women come to a brand new understanding about one another, and also the heart touching the story of a man who losses his lust as his beloved wife slips away is also beautifully realized.

Additionally, you will also like the stories like that regarding darts competition between Bigelow and Moss Creek. Also, you will like how the authors have presented the people of Moss Creek, as ones who felt fiercely loyal to their mountain town and also to one another.

Reunion at Mossy Creek

Welcome back to the small mountain town of Moss Creek, and the joyful and beautiful characters are once again sorting out the sorrows, joys and the everyday mysteries of life. This time, they have got the added drama of the big town reunion celebrating the two-decade-old mystery of the late, great Mossy High School, which was burned to the ground amid dark secrets and rumors. Are all bad people who cause the fire at the grand school finally ready to step forward?

In the meantime, the live and bold 100-year-old Creekite Eula is convinced that Willard Scott has placed a death curse on her and the Moss Creek Police Chief Amos is still fighting his reputation as the local town most eligible bachelor. Then there is also the new bad girl who’s just arrived in town. Jasmine and the epic adventures of the old bad girl in town Mayor Ida Hamilton, and last and not the least is Bob, the flying Chihuahua who finds himself stalked by a lustful lady poodle.

Summer in Moss Creek

It is a normal summer season in the picturesque town of Mossy Creek in Georgia where laughter, friendship, and love make nostalgia a way of life. The local town’s residents are ready for sultry romance, sincere celebrations, funny feud, and this summer is no different to the previous ones.

Once again, get ready for a comical battle over spy mission, pickled beets to recover “kidnapped” chow-chow peppers. Then meet the unforgettable parakeet, Tweedle Dee and a dog named Dog. Watch Ida and Amos sidestep the typical rumors and then follow Katie Bell’s normal snooping. In the meantime, Opal Suggs, the old-time and her long-dead sisters discuss a lesson on living while Hope Bailey, the apple farmer faces touching choices when an old flame comes knocking on her door.

Homecoming in Mossy Creek

Homecoming in Mossy Creek continues the witty, wise and warm doings in a small mountain village you will want to call home.

It has been over two decades since Mossy Creek experienced true homecoming, and this time around, they are determined to do it right. But you know the Creekites, if something is interesting going on, they won’t rest until they know it. So when a note shows up at the Police Station with a warning about the past secrets, secrets that have been kept hidden for the past twenty years, the whole town is abuzz with the possibilities.

Ida, Win, and Amos put Louise Sawyer and Peggy Caldwell on its trail, with the hopes that the sleuth loving ladies can unearth it before the weekends and before the homecoming dance begins.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mossy Creek

4 Responses to “Mossy Creek”

  1. Vicki: 2 years ago

    Are the books in the series short stories?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Most of them are full length novels.

  2. Judith Watts: 2 years ago

    I have one list of Karen White books which includes Blessings of Mossy Creek only but I don’t see her name listed anywhere here. On another list of Karen Whites books, all 9 books Can you explain what she has written?
    Should I assume that really the best way to read this series of 9 books is in order by date published?
    Thank you

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi Judith,

      Yes there are so many authors attached that on the series pages, we don’t display them all as it can look very messy and hard to browse.

      Karen White was part of the writers for Blessing of Mossy Creek and that was the only one she wrote within this series. Yes I would read it in publication order.


Leave a Reply