Book Notification

Mother-Daughter Book Club Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Mother-Daughter Book Club Books

The Mother-Daughter Book Club (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Much Ado About Anne (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dear Pen Pal (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pies & Prejudice (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home for the Holidays (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wish You Were Eyre (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mother-Daughter Book Camp (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Mother-Daughter Book Club is a series of novels by American contemporary fiction, fantasy, and historical fiction author, Heather Vogel Frederick. The first novel of the highly popular series was the 2007 published Mother-Daughter Book Club that made Vogel a household name. Frederick published the first novel in the series in 2007, and has not looked back since, publishing six more titles in the series by 2016. The series follows the stories of four girls and their relationships to each other and with their mothers. The narratives take the format of a book club where each narrator offers their perspectives on what is happening in their lives. It is an increasingly popular way of bonding the US where mothers and daughters come together to read book club readers, that they use to help each other, and to have better relationships among themselves. The Mother-Daughter Book Club series has of four girls as the main characters and their mothers as minor characters. Over the course of the novels the girls grow and become more mature, learning how to deal with a variety of challenges that become increasingly complex as they age. While the stories of the girls as espoused in their monthly book clubs are the most important, their mothers also have to deal with a variety of issues. Ultimately, the purpose of the mother daughter book club is to portray the book club as vehicle for the promotion of friendship, compassion, and communication.

The lead characters in the series of novels are Emma Jane Hawthorne, Jessica “Jess” Joy Delaney, Cassidy Ann Sloane, and Megan Rose Wong. The four are later joined by Rebecca ‘Becca’ Louise Chadwick. The girls become friends after their mothers decide to set up a book club, which meant that the girl had to meet more often. The story is told from the perspective of the four girls over several years. As is to be expected of people brought up in different households under different circumstances, the girls are very different in disposition and worldview. Emma is a girl of medium height with curly brown hair that wears glasses. Coming from a family that is not so well off she buys her clothes from a thrift shop, which makes her an object of ridicule in school. Similar to her friend Emma Jess is the object of derision in school particularly from Becca because she lives on a farm where she takes care of animals. She is a petite girl with blonde hair that she likes to wear in a braid. Her mother once ran away to become an actor leaving her father to run the farm on his own. Cassidy is a tomboy that everyone loves to refer to as the jock of the club. A tall girl with gray eyes and red hair she loves practical jokes and stands up for herself in any situation. Megan is of American Chinese heritage and has dreams of becoming a fashion designer. Originally friends with Emma, they drift apart when her family becomes rich, though she later becomes friends with the other girls in the mother daughter book club.

The essence of the Mother-Daughter Book Club series of novels is the showcasing of how persons that are so different could learn to exist and even come to help each other solve life challenges if they are willing to try. The issue of bullying which is a hot button issue in the United States is a theme that the author excellently espouses through the Fab Four Group that harasses and intimidates different members of the club at various times. The books also look at serious issues such as changing family circumstances, ambitious parents that leave home, single mothers getting back into relationships much to the chagrin of their children, and disagreements over career choice. Nonetheless, while the novels look at some very serious issues, ultimately they are all about the fun of growing up, and the inevitability of children maturing to become better persons. Becca of the Fab Four Group that was always teasing one or the other of the girls joins the mother daughter book club and soon becomes friends with them. Cassidy comes round to accept that her mother has to live her life after her father’s death, and dating is part of that. Megan goes full circle from hanging out with Becca to being fast friends with the book club members after Becca and her mother join in. Jess also comes to accept that she cannot control everything, and her mother may just leave again to pursue her dreams of becoming an actor.

The Mother-Daughter Book Club is a delightful novel on friendship, family and fabulous fiction that is sure to enthrall girls of all ages. The first novel of the The Mother-Daughter Book Club series introduces us to a motley crew of four strong-willed girls and their mothers who are part of a monthly book club. The mothers come together to form a book club though the girls are not so excited about the idea. Jess is missing her mother so much to care about reading a book, Emma has read practically every book you can think of, Cassidy prefers hockey practice, and Megan is more interested in shopping. However, the monthly book club ritual that begins with the reading of Little Women soon becomes a platform where the four girls help each other deal with the challenges of middle school. Taking lessons from Jo March, they deal with a range of issues from first dance fashion fiascos, bullying, secret journals, secret crushes, and familial issues.

Much Ado About Anne is the second novel of the Mother-Daughter Book Club series. Just like the first novel in the series, Vogel Frederick excellently showcases the magical splendor of friendship that is sure to delight mothers and daughters alike. A big surprise awaits the four girls Megan, Cassidy, Jess, and Emma: Becca Chadwick their worst enemy and her mother just got invited to the book club. But that is the least of Jess’s problems as she soon learns that her family may lose half of their farm. It is a roller-coaster of a year for the girls as they attend a high stakes fashion show, a mother daughter camping trip that ends in disaster, and skating parties, events that make them all realize that they can only be better if they work together. In the end, even Becca joins in the effort to save Jess’s family Half Moon Farm.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mother-Daughter Book Club

Leave a Reply