Book Notification

Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mrs. Hudson Of Baker Street Books

The Unpleasantness at Parkerton Manor (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson and the Irish Invincibles (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson in the Ring (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson in New York (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs Hudson's Olympic Triumph (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson Takes The Stage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson and the Wild West (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street by Barry S. Brown
Author Barry S. Brown pens the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series of historical mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2010, when “The Unpleasantness at Parkerton Manor” was released.

The series is about Mrs. Hudson, a widow, who works with Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson. With the deductive skills that Barry has developed over time, he has established Mrs. Hudson’s own role as the real sage of Baker Street. She is the one who provided Sherlock with free lodgings in exchange for being the male figurehead that is essential to a business enterprise in Victorian England.

Barry readied himself for the difficult job of correcting all the misinformation concerning Mrs. Hudson and the events happening at 221B Baker Street by pursuing a research career in the fields of mental health, drug abuse, and criminology. Through this capacity, he wrote more than 175 chapters and articles and even edited two works of non-fiction.

“The Unpleasantness at Parkerton Manor” is the first novel in the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series and was released in the year 2010. 1890 is the year. One woman rules the whole British Empire, however, virtually all other women rule over domains no larger than their own kitchens. Constable Tobias Hudson’s widow has some other plans and has made some. She has organized the first consulting detective agency, and combines her vast knowledge of criminal investigation and special powers of observation with the extremely careful selection of an essential male figurehead.

Sherlock Holmes has both the language and bearing of a gentleman, as well as a haughty self-confidence that clients find to be reassuring. Together, they both will investigate the death of Sir Stanley Parkerton after he died after having a family dinner where he and the rest of the guests had the same drink and food.

The game is truly afoot, when the Parkerton’s coachman, who drinks too much and knows too much, gets killed too. Mrs. Hudson and her colleagues, in order to solve this mystery, must sort through all the intrigues of both the staff and the family. They must also contend with the danger that the unexpected arrival of the White Rajah of Sarawak and headhunters’ sudden intrusion into the English countryside both pose to the investigation.

“Mrs. Hudson and the Irish Invincibles” is the second novel in the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series and was released in the year 2011. A woman named Moira Keegan is sure that someone is trying to kill her dad. She tries to recruit Sherlock Holmes to save his life, but everybody at 221B Baker Street are certain there isn’t any basis for her fears. None at all. Later, they read about the guy’s death in a sleazy waterfront inn. At this point, they have a new client and singular purpose.

Their investigation is sure to put them at odds with religious zealots, Irish revolutionaries, Scotland Yard’s Special Branch, and even the staff of the London Times. Lestrade is the only one that remains an ally, and he dares to participate in a covert manner only with these frequent colleagues of his. Before it is possible to set everything right, the Baker Street trio must call on Charles Stewart Parnell, the leader of the Irish Parliamentary Party, and Katharine O’Shea, his mistress, to help them.

“Mrs. Hudson in the Ring” is the third novel in the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series and was released in the year 2013. Sherlock Holmes gets goaded into a boxing match. Sailor Mackenzie, his opponent, loses the fight as well as his life. Everybody is convinced the fighter’s death was just an accident. Except Mrs. Hudson, Sherlock, and Dr. Watson. The Baker Street trio go to McLellan Manor in Yorkshire in order to sort through the long list of people that have reason to be glad for Mackenzie’s death and had the opportunity to cause it.

Making this case even more complex, Watson and Holmes are asked to be the protectors of Lily Langtry, and Mrs. Hudson to be her lady’s maid. It is due to this famous beauty getting threatened by her latest and volatile beau, named George Baird. Before it can be resolved, Holmes is going to need to lead a séance where he will call on a ghost to solve a murder that happened thirty-five years ago. Mrs. Hudson is going to realize she is in a rather surprising alliance with this Jersey Lily.

Readers found this to be a rather delightful read, and is quite an amazing twist on the character of Sherlock Holmes. The novel has terrific writing, and some sparkling wit.

“Mrs. Hudson in New York” is the fourth novel in the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series and was released in the year 2015. Mrs. Hudson, accompanied by Watson and Holmes, crosses the Atlantic in order to attend the wedding of her cousin’s daughter. The three find that the young lady’s fiancee, who pitches for the Brooklyn Bridegrooms, is accused of trying to kill JP Morgan and taking the life of his aide.

The ballplayer, who is a self-declared enemy of Morgan and the rest of the robber barons, ran from the scene. When he was apprehended, he was in possession of a gun that had two spent cartridges, the same amount and the same caliber as the one used in the attack.

Before the wedding can be held, Mrs. Hudson is going to lead Watson and Holmes along the path of investigation from JP Morgan’s mansion to gambling dens in New York’s Tenderloin. With some enthusiastic assistance from Samuel Clemens, the cautious aid of a leader within the African Broadway community, and Morgan’s hesitant assistance, they’re going to identify who attacked the financier. They will also rescue this prospective bride and groom from would be hitmen, and frustrate all efforts to corrupt baseball. All before they return to the comparatively quiet 221B Baker Street finally.

Barry S. Brown has created something quite magnificent here. It has all the intelligence, language, relationships, and settings that everybody loves about the Watson/Holmes partnership to make for a fantastic mystery story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street

Leave a Reply