Book Notification

Mrs. Pollifax Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mrs. Pollifax Books

The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Amazing Mrs. Pollifax (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Elusive Mrs. Pollifax (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Palm for Mrs. Pollifax (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax on Safari (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax on the China Station (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax and the Hong Kong Buddha (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax and the Golden Triangle (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax and the Whirling Dervish (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax Pursued (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax and the Lion Killer (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax, Innocent Tourist (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Mrs. Pollifax series is a series of popular spy fiction books and mystery novels written by one of the most noteworthy American novelists named Dorothy Gilman. It is comprised of 14 books in total, which were released between the years 1966 and 2000. Each and every novel of this well known series features the lead character in the role of Mrs. Emily Pollifax. She is introduced into the series as a grandmother aged around the sixties. Pollifax is shown as a member of a garden club. In addition to her daily activities, she works on a part time basis for the CIA. After the immense success of the first few books of the series, it was adapted into a Hollywood comedy film titled Mrs. Pollifax-Spy in the year 1971. This movie featured Rosalind in the lead role of Mrs. Pollifax. Author Gilman started writing this spy fiction series in the year 1966. In the same year, she also came up with its debut novel. And after contributing a total of 14 books to the popular series, author Gilman decided to conclude it in 2000 with the final novel titled as Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled. As the heroine of the mystery series, the character of Mrs. Pollifax was very much appreciated by the readers. At the beginning of the series, she is introduced as a senior citizen and a widow living in New Jersey, The United States. One day, she takes the decision of coming out of her comfortable apartment and start working for the CIA as a part time agent. Her first assignment comes to her due to a misunderstanding in which the operations Chief named Mr. Carstairs gives her a courier assignment.

The adventure that Mrs. Pollifax goes through while delivering the courier takes her to a new career filled with espionage. The novels of this series are shown to employ suspense and comic relief quite frequently. An usual theme of the books in the entire series is based on the tendency of Mrs. Pollifax to develop interest towards the people who do not seem connected with the missions given to her, but who go on to become an important part of her investigation process and/or turn out to be of great assistance to her in resolving her cases. The most commonly featuring characters of this series other than Mrs. Pollifax include Mr. Carstairs’ assistant named Bishop; John Sebastian, an agent who turns into an art dealer; and a man named Cyrus Reed with whom pollifax indulges in romance in the later parts of the series. Most of the stories are shown happening in present countries, including authentic details. However, some of the characters are sometimes shown originating from several fictional places. Such places are shown as groups of some nonfiction countries. One of the examples of this is a character shown in one of the books who comes from a monarchy called Zabya from the Middle East. Along with this, a common feature of the stories described in the spy-fiction series is that a number of them take place in the era of the Cold War and are set in the Iron Curtain countries. Some of them are shown including the rival spies from the communist countries.

One of the most popular books of the Mrs. Pollifax series written by Dorothy Gilman is entitled ‘Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief’. It was released by Ballantine Books in 1995, two years after its original release in 1993. The main characters described in the book include Mrs. Pollifax and John Sebastian Farrell. At the start of the book, author Gilman is shown that Pollifax is handed over a new assignment in which she is required to take some pictures at a small funeral that is about to take place outside Washington. Then, she has to take the pictures to Sicily, where John Farrell is waiting for them anxiously. John is shown as a former agent and old friend of Mrs. Pollifax. But, Like of the assignments of Mrs. Pollifax that seem ostensibly suitable to the favorite club member of the CIA, this one too turns lethal very quickly. The welcoming committee of Mrs. Pollifax in Palermo consists of an unlikely CIA agent along with some unseen enemies. Several unfriendly also seem to keep a watch on her meeting with John Farrell in a remote mountain village. Soon, weapons get displayed to kill the two. As the mysterious forces try to hunt them down, Farrel and Mrs. Pollifax scurry to a fortified villa in the countryside for the safety of their lives. At the villa, Mrs. Pollifax comes across a former Madison Avenue star, who appears quite unnerving, similar to the dangers from which she is trying to protect them. Overall, the book seems to be a nice and predictable one by author Gilman. Her inclusion of ancient artifacts, art forgery, mysterious millionaires, stunning chases, spectacular scenery, unexpected romance, arms traffic, and nighttime assaults in the story helped it to be liked by the audiences very much. All these elements make the book a perfect mystery and humorous book to spend the afternoon with for an entertaining read.

Another successful book of this series is titled as ‘Mrs. Pollifax Pursued’. The Gold Medal publication released it in the year 1995. The opening sequence of this novel shows that Pollifax finds a young lady named Kadi Hopkirm hiding in her closet, which is the last thing that she expects. On inquiring, she tells Mrs. Pollifax that a couple of men were chasing her in a van. Kadi is then taken to her home in Manhattan by Mrs. Pollifax at night. While on the way, a green sedan begins to follow Mrs. Pollifax’s car, which she believes is the same car that chased Kadi Hopkirk. She believes that both their lives are in danger. Mrs. Pollifax asks Kadi to tell her the truth right from the beginning in order to help her get rid of the chasers. She says that one of her friends named Sammy is an assassinated president’s son from an African country. He had handed over something to her in their last meeting without the knowledge of his bodyguard. Since then, the unknown people were chasing her. Then, Mrs. Pollifax asks Mr. Carstairs, her colleague from the CIA, to help them. He sends the two women to a safehouse. And before Mrs. Pollifax can understand it, a break-in in their safety causes her to go on an assignment leading her to various exotic places and hair-triggering violences.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mrs. Pollifax

3 Responses to “Mrs. Pollifax”

  1. BETH: 1 year ago

    Absolutely loved this series Read many times. from the 1090s recommend to others often. own in paperback and audible also read every dorathy gilman book I could find. including Caravan, Tight Rope Walker and the Clairvoyant Countess series 2 books so sad she passed away. Amazing author!!!!

  2. Eileen Kavanagh: 2 years ago

    The last Mrs. Pollifax book was published in 2000. The author, Dorothy Gillman, died of complications of Alzheimer’s disease in 2012.

  3. Joan: 2 years ago

    Love this series will there be any more, if so when?


Leave a Reply