Book Notification

Murder 101 Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Murder 101 Mystery Books

Murder 101 (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extracurricular Activities (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quick Study (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Exam (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Third Degree (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Physical Education (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extra Credit (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Murder 101 Mysteries series is a series of suspense and cozy mystery books written by one of the reputed novelists from The United States named Maggie Barbieri. This series is comprised of 7 books in total, which were released between the years 2006 and 2012. Each and every book in this mystery series follows the life events of the chief protagonist named Alison Bergeron. Author Maggie has introduced Alison Bergeron as an English professor who teaches at one of the small Catholic colleges in The Bronx known as St. Thomas. In the series, it is shown that the twists and turns in the life of Alison Bergeron force her to switch over to an amateur detective from a college professor. Author Maggie began writing this series in the year 2006 and also published its debut book in the same year, which is titled a Murder 101. After contributing a total of 7 novels in the series, author Maggie put a halt to it as she was not able to get her hands on a more intriguing mystery that her fans began expecting from her over the course of this series. The series begins by showing Alison Bergeron as a newly divorced professor of English teaching at St. Thomas Catholic college in the town of the Bronx, New York City.

The first book in the Murder 101 Mysteries series written by author Maggie Barbieri was published under the title of ‘Murder 101’. It was released in 2006 by the Minotaur Books publication. Author Maggie has described the main characters as Alison Bargeron and Bobby Crawford, and has set the plot in Bronx, New York City, New York, The United States. The plot of the book opens by showing Alison Bergeron as an English Professor, who does not seem to be having a good day. At first, her car gets stolen due to which she has to walk all the way to the train station in order to reach to her office at the Bronx’s St. Thomas college in time. And when she reaches her office, she finds that a couple of homicide detectives are already waiting for her. They give her the good news that her car has been bound. But, they also tell her a bad news that leaves her totally shocked. The homicide detectives tell Alison Bergeron that they have found a dead body in the trunk of her car, which is of her students who appeared in the Shakespeare seminar taken by her. One among the detectives is Detective Bobby Crawford, whom Alison finds very handsome and gets attracted towards him. She seems desperate to get her name removed from the suspect list of Detective Crawford. But, that appears to just one of the bigger problems of her life.

The other things that she has to face unwantedly include bailing out her ex-husband from jail, dealing with the distraught parents of the poor student, as well as face her own classmates when she used to be studying at St. Thomas. Also, Alison Bergeron has to grade the Shakespeare exams, which she thinks is nothing but a boring stack of old reports and is getting unnecessary attention. Along with all this, she also has to find out the one who is responsible for the death of her student Kathy Miceli. The book appears to be a decent and a quick cozy mystery. It has a light touch to it. Overall, it turns out to be an absolutely amazing book to read. The readers love Alison Bergeron as a protagonist as well as her shenanigans. Her portrayal as a protagonist by author Maggie seemed very realistic. However, author Maggie has not shown her doing sleuthing activities throughout the book. Alison is shown getting involved in romance with Detective Crawford in between the plot. And this romance continues till the end of the plot where they get involved in a serious relationship with each other. This was very well portrayed by author Maggie and equally well appreciated by the readers.

One of the other well known books written by author Maggie in the series is titled as ‘Third Degree’. It was also published by the Minotaur Books publishers in the year 2010. In the plot of this book, author Maggie has described the main characters as Carter Wilmott, Bobby Crawford, and Alison Bergeron. At the start of the story, it is shown that Alison, who works as a college professor, is about to meet with the family of her new boyfriend in person. On the way, she decides to stop at a coffee shop to steel resolve of hers. She considers it to be one of the big events of her life. Firstly, it is the first time that she has got the chance to the entire family of NYPD detective Crawford. And secondly, Alison Bergeron feels that a wedding proposal could come up in the meeting and she looks forward it to since she has kept away the idea of getting married for the second time from her life for a very long time. While thinking about all this, Alison Bergeron steps into the coffee shop and witnesses a brawl taking place. Before she could do anything to stop the brawl, a local blogger named Carter Wilmott gets killed.

Carter Wilmott was known to be a loathed and merciless blogger. As Alison herself witnessed the whole incident, the case appeared to be very simple. But, in the aftermath of the incident, the car of Carter Wilmott explodes in the parking area. This hints that the crime which appeared to have happened out passion in the shop was actually something much more complicated. The police also does not rule out the suspicion that there was a premeditated plan set up to kill Carter Wilmott. As Alison Bergeron and Bobby Crawford both get involved in the mysterious case, it becomes even more intriguing to read. According to author Maggie, it is a real treat for the readers. This heated mystery book is also filled with a lot of scenes of steamy romance between Crawford and Alison. The plot also shows several cunning villains, who keep making things difficult for Alison and Bobby Crawford. In the end, the mystery of the story reaches its climax after a lot of twists and turns. The novel eventually went on to become highly successful and was praised a lot by one and all. Author Maggie also received a lot of praises and appreciations for bringing up such an interesting mystery novel. It motivated her to contribute a few other excellent mystery books later in her writing career.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Murder 101 Mysteries

3 Responses to “Murder 101 Mysteries”

  1. Mildred Robinson: 6 months ago

    I haven’t had the pleasure of reading your books yet but I fell in love with mystery 101. I wish hallmark would continue with the mystery 101. We were left wondering and full of curiosity. Thank you for your great talent.

  2. Jaynie Cox: 2 years ago

    Have enjoyed watching on Hallmark the Mystery 101 series. I’m only sorry there are not more.
    That seems to be the rule rather than the exception. I have had an injury to my back and appreciate the story (ies), that will take my mind off it and the recent death of my husband.
    I wish Hallmark would find more of these great stories!

    • Barbara: 3 months ago

      I love just curling up and watching all of the Hallmark mystery series. I especially enjoy the Murder 101 series. My husband recently passed away and I had begun to get him to enjoy watching them together. Are there going to be any more episodes of this series?


Leave a Reply