Book Notification

Murder-By-Month Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Murder-By-Month Mystery Books

May Day (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
June Bug (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knee High by the Fourth of July (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
August Moon (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
September Fair / September Mourn (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
October Fest (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
November Hunt (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
December Dread (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
January Thaw (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death by Potato Salad (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
February Fever (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
March of Crime (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
April Fools (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Monday Is Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jess Lourey is widely known for the critically acclaimed book series, Murder by Month mystery series. The Murder-by-Month book series has earned the author numerous starred reviews from Booklists and Library Journal, with Library Journal terming her writing as a splendid mix of suspense and humor. Jess Lourey also pens down sorcery and sword fantasy novels, magical realism, thrillers and magical realism. Apart from being an author, she is also a renowned professor of sociology and creative writing. Lourey is also a recipient of Loft’s Excellent Teaching Fellowship Award and a regular blogger and a workshop leader, who had the opportunity of delivering, the Rewrite Your Life during the 2016 TEDx Talk.

When Lourey is not writing, reading or teaching or alternatively hanging out with her family, Jess Lourey can be found working on her next story. The author’s feminist thriller is expected to hit stores in September 2016.

Murder by Month Book Series

The first installment in the Murder by Month book series is May Day. May Day introduces the reader to the protagonist, Mira James. In the past, Mira has always had issues with a small town. However, when she was fired from her job, then got flashed by a guy who was hawking guitar-pedals and finding her boyfriend with her neighbor, all on the same day, the exceedingly small town of Battle-Lake appears to be a little bit more, promising than Minneapolis. Due to the fact that she had an English-Major background, Mira James is able to find work as an Assistant-Librarian and also a part-time news reporter.

Apart from Mira James, we are also introduced to Jeff Wilson, an archaeologist. When Jeff strolled through the doors library, it finally appeared as if luck was on her side. However, a few days later she finds Jeff dead in the stacks of the library. As the local police conduct their investigation, Mira also decides to do her investigation. While conducting her investigation, Mira is more than determined to know whether Jeff was murdered because of the line of work that he was doing. Mira is able to uncover some of the small town’s dirtiest secrets while someone is constantly watching her. With that said, this is the first book in the Murder by Month book series by Jess Lourey. The beginning of the storyline was exceedingly shuddering since the book begins with the discovery of one, Jeff’s body and then begins all over again. The setting of this story is exceedingly interesting, while the mysteryitself is pretty solid.

The second book in the Murder-by-Month book series is June Bug. Just like the first installment, Mira James is a reporter who works for the Battle Lake Recall and also works as the head librarian. Mira lives with her cat Tiger in a doublewide trailer. Mira James was given the doublewide trailer so that she could house sit and also take care of her friends, German Shepherd dog. One day, Jason Blunt goes into the room that Sunny was sleeping in. Sunny is not exceedingly happy to see the guy that she had an exceedingly bad experience with when she was still in college. Jason informs Sunny that he was in town so that he could dive for Shangri-La Diamond. According to legend, that there was a guest who was used to stay at the hotel, who went swimming with an exceedingly huge diamond on her necklace.

Upon emerging from the water, the huge diamond was nowhere to be seen. In the past sea, divers had tried to locate the diamond but were not successful. Once the hotel was sold, the new owners decided to place a contest so as to bring many tourists to the small town, In collaboration with one of the rival newspaper, the hotel management had decided to place a cloned diamond in the lake. Any diver who would emerge out of the water with the diamond was going to be awarded 5,000 dollars together with a free week-long vacation at the Shangri-La. Thus, Mira decides to not only scoop the rival newspaper and locate the diamond as well; Mira James dives into the lake and also the local’s shady behaviors.

Mira James believed that she had finally managed to find a home for herself in the small town of Battle Lake. However, it has been one murderous summer. Within a few months, Mira had managed to stumble on more than three corpses. Furthermore, one John Leeson, a local landscraper who had shown interest, also stood her up. Mira James thus decides to leave the small town together with its residents and return to the city of Minneapolis where she believed that she was going to live peacefully as an English professor who loves cat collecting. Due to the fact that she was leaving for a long time, Mira not only needs to hire but to also train a new librarian considering the fact that Mrs. Berns was more than determined to scare the applicants.

However, Mira once more follows the police car, to another dead body and this time around it is someone who is close to her. Thus, Mira decides first to solve this mystery before she finally moves on. Her instincts tell her that one of the new church members in the town was involved. September Fair is the fifth book in the murder by month book series. The book begins as Mira James leaves Mrs. Bern in charge of the local library. Mira James decides to pack her bag and head for the small town’s representation during the Minnesota State Fair. Mira James role will be snapping photos of the Milkfed Mary contest. She will be taking the photo of contestants including her own town’s bad girl, who is going to have her head sculpted in butter. As she is wondering what exactly is wrong with Ashley, the entire fair’s lights go off.

When the lights finally come back, Ashley is dead. Due to the fact that she has never waited for the results of any investigation conducted by the police, Mira decides to do her own investigation. While digging for information, she not only uncovers numerous love affairs but she also finds embezzlement rumors, big business cover-ups, and freaky compulsions.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Murder-By-Month Mystery

Leave a Reply