Book Notification

Murderbot Diaries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Murderbot Diaries Books

All Systems Red (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Artificial Condition (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rogue Protocol (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Exit Strategy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Compulsory (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Network Effect (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home: Habitat, Range, Niche, Territory (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fugitive Telemetry (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
System Collapse (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Note: Compulsory can only be read on

Martha Wells is a successful published author from the United States.

Born September 1, 1964, she has been a science fiction and fantasy writer ever since her first novel came out. It was a fantasy novel and was released in 1993. Her work also includes many series, including short fiction, non-fiction, and young adult novels. She has received many different awards, including Hugo, Locus, and Nebula.

Her work has included many bestsellers being released that have been noted on the top sellers’ lists for publications such as the New York Times and USA Today. She has been featured on different ballots, including the BFSA Award and the Philip K. Dick Award. Her books have sold all over the world and as a result have been released in over twenty different languages. She is also in the Literary Hall of Fame in Texas.

Her first book, The Element of Fire, came out in 1993 and kicked off her writing career. It did well and right out of the gate was a finalist for a few awards. The novel was translated into French and was nominated for an Imaginales Award in 2003. Her third novel was titled The Death of the Necromancer and placed as a finalist for a Nebula Award in 1993. Its French counterpart was nominated for an Imaginales Award. Meanwhile, All Systems Red won a Nebula and Hugo Award, an ALA/YALSA Alex Award, and Locus Award for best novella.

Many of her other works were nominated for awards. Like the books before them, Artificial Condition won a Locus and Hugo Award. Network Effect was a bestseller and won a Nebula and Hugo Award in the category of best novel. The Murderbot Diaries collectively also received a Hugo Award in the category of best series, and Fugitive Telemetry was a hit best-seller.

Wells made personal history when she was chosen to be one of the authors included in Texas’s Literary Hall of Fame. The honor came in October of 2022, cementing the status of her prolific writing career as well as her impact on the literary world. Her work has also continued to win awards in different languages.

The Murderbot Diaries (books one through four) and Network Effect ended up being Seiun Award finalists. The omnibus was also nominated for the best ‘foreign’ novel in German.

The author has also had three of her media tie-in books published. These include in 2006 the release of Stargate Atlantis: Reliquary, followed by the 2007 release of Stargate Atlantis: Entanglement, as well as Razor’s Edge, a Star Wars novel in 2013. She also entered into the world of Magic the Gathering, writing the magic story in 2018 for their Dominaria expansion.

Her first fantasy story for young adults came out in 2013 and it was titled Emilie and the Hollow World. It was followed by the sequel in 2014. The author has also had her short stories featured in publications such as Black Gate, Uncanny Magazine, Wired Magazine, Lone Star Stories, Realms of Fantasy, and They have also been featured in a number of different anthologies. She has also had her essays featured in non-fiction anthologies.

Martha Wells is the creator and the author of fictional novel series known as The Murderbot Diaries. The series first got started in 2017 with the debut of the first novel in the series, All Systems Red. In 2018, the second book came out, titled Artificial Condition. The third novel soon followed, titled Rogue Protocol. Next came the fourth novel, Exit Strategy. Before the fifth novel in the series is a short story titled Home: Habitat, Range, Niche, Territory. This is followed by the fifth novel, Network Effect. The sixth novel is titled Fugitive Telemetry, and the seventh novel is titled System Collapse.

All Systems Red is the first book in Martha Wells’s series The Murderbot Diaries. If you have been looking for something new in the area of science fiction and fantasy, be sure to check out the engaging debut of this fun fictional series!

When it comes to being a killing machine without heart, it was a failure. In the future, humanity is spacefaring, but society is also dominated by corporations. Missions to planets have to be approved by the Company and supplied by them too. Exploratory teams also have safety checks in place since they are accompanied by security androids, of course helpfully supplied by the Company.

However, in this society contracts often go to the lowest bidder, and safety really is not a primary concern when it comes to that. Meanwhile, a team of scientists on a faraway planet is conducting surface tests, all the while shadowed by the android from the Company. This is a SecUnit that is self-aware and has even hacked its own personal governor module. As a result, it calls itself Murderbot. Although the android only does it internally and never says the Murderbot name out loud.

Murderbot does not care about humans and just wants to have time alone to figure out who they are. However, when a mission close by goes dark, Murderbot may have to work along scientists to find out what truly happened. Will they get results? Read this book to find out!

Artificial Condition is the second book in Martha Wells’s series The Murderbot Diaries. If you love science fiction and liked the first book, check out the sequel!

Murderbot has a past where humans were killed and where it came to call itself Murderbot. There was a reason behind the naming, the bot is sure. However, the massacre that inspired this name remains vague in memory. After going through so much and having vague recollections about its past, Murderbot wants to find out more.

Nothing is stopping it, so the android moves forward with its investigation. It pairs with ART, a research transport vessel, and heads off to the mining facility where it first went rogue. Will what Murderbot discovers change its very way of thought? Read this book to catch all of the action and find out what this android does!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Murderbot Diaries

Leave a Reply