Book Notification

Myrtle Clover Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Myrtle Clover Mysteries Books

A Dyeing Shame (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pretty is as Pretty Dies (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Progressive Dinner Deadly (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body in the Backyard (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at a Drop-In (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body at Book Club (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Pays a Visit (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body at Bunco (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on Opening Night (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cruising for Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cooking is Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body in the Trunk (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cleaning is Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edit to Death (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hushed Up (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body in the Attic (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Ballot (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Suitor (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dash of Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at a Diner (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Myrtle Clover Christmas (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at a Yard Sale (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doom and Bloom (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Toast to Murder (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Myrtle Clover Mysteries is a series of cozy mystery novels written by Elizabeth Spann Craig. The main lead and title character, Myrtle Clove is former English teach in her eighties. She writes newspaper columns in her Bradley, a fictional town in North Carolina. The author, Elizabeth Span published the first novel in the series A Dyeing Shame: Death at the Beauty Box in 2006. The second novel Pretty is as Pretty Dies was released three years later in 2009. In the town of Bradley, North Carolina, its quiet nature might not as it seems, murders occur at a constant rate and the amateur investigator Myrtle Clove is focused to investigate and solve the cases before her chief police son.

Pretty is as Pretty Dies

Pretty is as Pretty Dies is the first novel in Myrtle Clover series by Elizabeth Spann Craig. Bingo game, bridge and a lifeless body in the most holy places-church? Life the small fictional town just became ugly and exciting and surprisingly no one in this little town in North Carolina minds about the killing of Parke Stockard, apart from the retired teacher Myrtle. Upon finding the corpse, she is struck not with mourning but with an excellent idea! Solving this murder crime would prove to anyone especially her son the police chief that this old woman is not yet ready to be put out to pasture just yet.

The murder victim, a nice but aggressive town developer had deep pockets and new friends. However, Myrtle cannot figure out the connections that caused her death. When another murder takes place, the proud Myrtle soldiers on, armed only with a venomous tongue, a heavy cane, and a widower sidekick.

The first novel in the series is a fantastic read. The heroine, Myrtle is an octogenarian who has clever wit and sharp mind of a younger woman. At first, Myrtle establishes herself in this book as a prolific amateur sleuth. However, what you will like most about her is a feisty personality. Her friends and her neighbors are featured as great characters too. Myrtle son who is the chief of police does not want his mother conducting investigations, and as he tries to talks to his mother to back away, Myrtle shows determinations and fills her garden with gnomes which she knows irritates her son.

On the other hand, Myrtle interaction with her neighbor Erma is one of the most humorous aspects of this series. Erma seemingly gets on Myrtle’s nerves; she is the pain in the back neighbor and also drives the former high school English teacher nuts at book club.

Myrtle, the lead character is a unique and one of the best engaging characters you will encounter. She finds herself with way much too time on her hands and of course as expected manages to find some trouble along the way. Her character development is sharp and funny as well. You will instantly get hooked on her. She is like that granny, aunt or the lady from church that everyone knows. The love that her son has for her is regularly affected by his absolute frustration and by the embarrassment by his mother.

The setting, despite being in a fictional small town in North Carolina is perfect for this cozy mystery. The characters are well crafted, and their interactions are simply one of the best you will find. The dialogue in this novel will help you understand and get to know more about the characters actions, feelings and actually who they are. The plot as well is well crafted, and each chapter connects to the next perfectly.

Progressive Dinner Deadly

In the second book in Myrtle Clover series, we encounter Myrtle trying to elevate her book club to a higher quality reading experience. However, her plans take a wrong turn as the group makes up their minds and turn their meetings into progressive dinner parties. However after one of the members is found dead, and with a smashed skull, the search for the killer begins. Throughout the narrative, Myrtle seems to always in the right place at the right time and her son always one step behind her. However, even though the dinner parties are suspended, this does not stop more bodies from piling. With the help of her sidekick, the two sleuths investigate into the shocking reality much against the Police Chief son Reds.

The second series installment is another fun adventure of the granny in her 80’s. The personalities in this novel are consistent, and you will love how Myrtle makes use of her garden gnomes to protest to her son who is constantly trying to keep her from investigating murders. As usual, her neighbor Erma is always happy in her way of annoying Myrtle. Like all good mothers, Myrtle thinks that her son still requires her help and fortunately for her and her curious nature, her son happens to be the chief of police, and she is more than willing to help her son in her police duties.

A Dyeing Shame

Some beauty secrets are far more dangerous than others. When beautician Tammy Smith is found dead, and with a pair of hair shears in her back, there are plenty of suspects to investigates and secrets are as well plenty in her small southern town.

The octogenarian sleuth bored by bridge and bingo is intrigued by the homicide as well as her neighbor’s secrets. However, blabbing and discovering secrets that got Tammy killed, Myrtle soon learns that not only that her sleuthing is dangerous but also very deadly.

The main character is thoroughly likable, patient and does what most people fear most despite her old age. She is caring, courageous and she is one woman who will not let her age hinder her from undertaking what she loves most. The story flows perfectly, and each chapter is well thought of, the characters are also well crafted and reading the series you will find some you will relate to real people in your life, some you will love and other you will wish you never encounter in your life.

If you love investigative novels that feature octogenarian amateur sleuth, Myrtle Clover mysteries by will be a great addition to your bookshelves.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Myrtle Clover

Leave a Reply