Book Notification

Myrtle Crumb Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Myrtle Crumb Books

Between a Clutch and a Hard Place (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Good Bras Go Bad (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Claus of Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soup...Er...Myrtle! (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perp and Circumstance (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Party Line (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Myrtle Crumb series is a famous book series of cozy mystery and Christian fiction novels. It is written by a highly reputed author from the United States named Gayle Trent. The series is comprised of 6 books in total, which were released between the years 2004 and 2015. All the novels of this series are set in Virginia, United States, and feature the chief protagonist in the role of Myrtle Crumb. She is described by author Trent as an old woman in her mid-sixties, who likes to indulge in sleuthing activities and solve the mysteries in and around her hometown. Myrtle Crumb is shown as residing in Virginia’s Commonwealth. She has a granddaughter named Sunny, who has interests in technical gadgets and instruments. Myrtle Crumb is a good friend of the local sheriff named Cooper Norville. Both of them always provide helping hands to Myrtle Crumb as and when she needs them during her investigations. Author Gayle Trent started writing the series in 2004 and also came up with the series’ first novel in the same year. A long time has passed since the publishing of the latest book of this series, but author Trent has not declared its end. In fact, she has said that the series is still going as she is working towards the completion of a new novel as a part of this mystery series, which is expected to release very soon in the coming days.

Gayle Trent is an excellent author of suspense and cozy mystery stories. She hails from America and has achieved grand successes with her multiple mystery series, Daphne Martin, Embroidery Mysteries, and Myrtle Crumb. The book of all these three series are all very exciting and interesting to read. They have found success in reaching out to a wide range of readers throughout the world. In addition to writing mysteries under her original name, author Trent also uses the pen name of Amanda Lee for writing some of her suspense books. Whenever she gets any free time from her busy schedule of writing books, she likes to indulge herself in writing blogs. Trent has already written several blogs for a few websites. Author Trent is happily married and currently resides in Southwest Virginia along with her loving family. The writing career of Gayle Trent began in 1999 and she also found success in establishing herself as a published writer around the same time. Trent entered the publishing scene with her teen mystery book called Photo Finish. Since then, she has penned numerous books and mystery stories, many of which have become bestsellers. Gayle Trent started writing as Amanda Lee in the year 2010. The first book that she wrote under this pseudonym was The Quick and the Thread. Over the course of her literary career, author Trent has successfully formed a huge fan base for herself. And the number continues to grow with each passing day as more and more readers are becoming her fans everyday by reading her mysteries. Trent likes to interact with her fans through social networking sites as well as her personal website. She gives out information about her upcoming publishings and the latest happenings in her life and career at regular intervals. As of today, the readers are eagerly waiting for the release of her next book.

The debut book of the Myrtle Crumb series written by author Gayle Trent is entitled ‘Between a Clutch and a Hard Place’. It was released by the Grace Abraham publishers in the year 2004. The lead characters depicted by Gayle Trent in this book include Myrtle Crumb, Flora Adams, Sunny, Cooper Norville, Jim Adams, Tansie Miller, etc. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Myrtle Crumb is a middle aged grandmother of Sunny. She buys a second hand clutch and finds a note hidden in one of the pockets. The note reads that is the previous owner of the small purse, Flora Adams, ever goes missing, her husband, Jim Adams would be responsible for it. And when Myrtle Crumb investigates about the authenticity of the note, she learns that Flora Adams has actually disappeared. In order to get to the bottom of the mystery, Myrtle Crumb confronts Jim Adams. She manages to make him agree to go out with her, thus, taking a big risk with her own life by going out with a probable murderer. Finding a solution to this mystery becomes the first priority for Myrtle as she wants to defeat her neighbor and arch rival, Tansie Miller, who also seems interested in unraveling the mystery. Myrtle is assisted by her tech savvy grand-daughter, Sunny and the town’s sheriff, Cooper Norville. However, she does have some hard time in dealing with Cooper Norville because the man keeps doing things that make it impossible for her to handle. All three search every nook and corner of the town in trying to find Flora Adams and catch the one responsible for her disappearance.

The next interesting novel of this series is called ‘When Good Bras Go Bad’. This novel was also published by grace Abraham publication in 2006. Once again, the chief characters are shown as Sunny, Myrtle Crumb, Cooper Norville, etc. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Sunny is charged with theft in her middle school and Myrtle decides to go undercover and enter the school’s cafeteria to find out any information that might help her prove the innocence of her granddaughter. Myrtle tries to make Sunny tell her everything she knows so that it would be become easier for her to find the real thief. And with the way Sunny narrates the incident, Myrtle seems pretty sure that she is not telling the whole story. After some time, Sunny’s relationship with her grandmother begins to get affected because of her silence. Later, Myrtle suspects Sunny’s close friend Alicia to be the thief as Sunny has become more protective towards her. She wonders if Sunny is trying to protect her and take the blame and the resulting punishment on herself. And after Myrtle Crumb gets a hold of the whole situation, she attempts to make Sunny understand that she is making a big mistake by hiding the real culprit. She also tries to make her realize that the she is being used emotionally by the one she is protecting. But, Sunny seems to adamant to give up the name and the narration of the whole story. So, Myrtle gives her the example of a good bra going bad. Not only does it let down the person, but also its underwore keeps poking right in the middle of the heart. And it is only after the continuous efforts of Myrtle Crumb that Sunny begins to understand. Also, she agrees to help Myrtle in giving up the actual culprit, thereby, proving that she is not the thief. This book too managed to become as successful as the previous one. It also helped to increase the popularity of author Trent even more.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Myrtle Crumb

Leave a Reply