Book Notification

Mystery of Alexander The Great Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mystery Of Alexander The Great Books

A Murder in Macedon (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murder in Thebes (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of Death (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Godless Man (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gates of Hell (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Alexander The Great Mysteries series is a wonderful series of suspense, mystery, and historical fiction books. It was written by a well known British novelist named Paul Doherty. The series is comprised of a total of 3 books, which were released between the years 2000 and 2003. Author Paul has set the books of this series around the life and times of Alexander. In each of the stories, Alexander’s Great campaigns are described. Set against the backdrop of the intrigue and mystery, the novels show how the young warrior conquered the whole of Greece and set out to make the entire world his own empire and spread his rule throughout. In addition to these, the books also show another side to the character of Alexander besides the strategist and peerless soldier he was. Alexander is depicted as a panic stricken man, who gets stuck in the web of superstition. His fear from within makes him fall for all the superstitious things that please him. The novels describe that even a brilliant general and king can become like this with the fear of murder. Paul has mentioned the stories along the lines of the ancient world. He has made them run through the sprawling camps of the army of Macedonians to the opulent Persian empire, and to the haunting Troy city. Each and every novel of the series tasted a grand success in all parts of the globe. The readers not only appreciated the stories and characters, but they also liked the unique writing style of author Paul. Each book received numerous praising reviews from the readers and the critics. This helped them in becoming much more successful. Author Paul’s popularity as an excellent writer of historical fiction stories also reached new heights with the immense success. Riding on the back of this success, he continued to write many more interesting novels in his writing career later. His fans continued to grow as he kept them entertained with his continuous releases one after the other. Some readers showed their disappointment because of getting to read just 3 books in such an exciting series as they felt that Paul Doherty should have added a few more titles to this series and extended the series a little further. Paul explained his side by saying that he tried to come up with other stories, but could not come up with anything interesting. So, he decided to conclude the series at the end of the third book and shift his focus towards his other novels and series. This series succeeded in reaching out to a large number of audience, many of whom continue to read it even today. The series’ books are among the ones that are found on the bookshelves of any fan of historical fiction novels. Paul feels that this itself is a great achievement in its own sense.

Paul C. Doherty is a renowned author, historian, lecturer, and educator from the UK, who is fond of writing historical mystery and fiction novels. He has won many awards for her wide range of works and is included among the prominent authors of all times. Other than being a popular writer, Paul is also renowned for being the Headmaster of the Trinity Catholic School in Woodford Green, Essex. Over the course of his literary career, author Paul has produced many novels of historical fiction as well as nonfiction books. He is regarded as a great scholar of Alexander the Great. Paul was born on September 21, 1946, in Middlesbrough, Yorkshire. He studied at the Ushaw College in Durham. Later, Paul joined the Liverpool University and earned an Honors Degree in the subject of History. After this, he studied at the Exeter College and achieved a doctorate for an Edward II thesis. Throughout his life, Paul has given lectures on history in many organizations. His particular area of interest as a historian is a historical mystery. Paul holds an OBE, which was awarded to him for his dedicated service in the education field. The historical mysteries written by Paul are set in the Classical Greek, Middle Ages, Ancient Egyptian, and a few other time periods. Other than using his actual name for writing fiction, Paul uses several pen names such as Michael Clynes, Paul Harding, Anna Apostolou, Vanessa Alexander, CL Grace, and Ann Dukhtas. In 1998, the Times included Paul in the list of the top 100 writers of crime. This list was prepared by various critics and top authors like Agatha Christie, Raymond Chandler, and Arthur Conan Doyle. Paul is the recipient of the Herodotus Award as a token for his lifelong achievement in writing historical mysteries. A 2006 documentary broadcast on Channel Five, The Secret Life of Elizabeth, is set on Paul’s book with the same name. The makers of this documentary have explored the theory of Paul Doherty that there was a love child of Elizabeth I. Paul has given an appearance on National Geographic for a documentary. In this documentary, he has tried to help the makers in examining the controversial theories related to the decision of Elizabeth for remaining unmarried all her life.

The debut book of this series is entitled ‘The House of Death’. It was published in 2001 by the Carroll and Graf publishing. Paul has described the chief characters in this book as Alexander and Telamon. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that the Macedonian army and Alexander arrive at the Hellespont. Alexander wishes to accomplish his mission of conquering Persia as soon as possible. But, the gods seem against his wish. This makes Alexander wary and troubled. He starts getting death threats in the form of cryptic messages sent to him fro the Iliad of Homer and Euripides’ tragedies. Alexander knows that he cannot trust anyone. Later, he even learns that the generals in his army are harboring secret ambitions. After the spies from Persia infiltrate his camp, all his troops gets demoralized. Alexander becomes so much suspicious of everyone that he doesn’t even trust Telamon, the physician and close friend whom he used to tell everything. Alexander wonders who among his close ones is wants him dead, and wishes to find it out as fast as possible.

The next installment penned by Paul in the historical mystery series is called ‘The Godless Man’. This book was released by Constable & Robinson publishers in 2002. Once again, the primary characters are shown as Telamon and Alexander, along with several other important ones like Aristander, Darius III, Centaur, etc. Paul has set this book’s story in 334 BC. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Alexander defeats Darius III in a battle in Granicus. Following this successful campaign, he visits each of the cities in the western region of the Persian Empire and unleashes his wrath on them, killing thousands of men and conquering all the cities. When Alexander reaches his next target city, Ephesus, his successful campaign is halted due to violent serial murders. It is learned later that the murders are being committed by a notorious Persian spy named Centaur. Alexander asks Telamon to help him in unraveling yet another mystery and orders Aristander, the king’s Secrets Master, to assist Telamon in his investigations.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mystery of Alexander The Great

Leave a Reply