Book Notification

Nadine Dorries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bellfont Legacy Books

A Wicked Woman (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Four Streets Saga Books

The Four Streets (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hide Her Name (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ballymara Road (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coming Home to the Four Streets (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lovely Lane Books

The Angels of Lovely Lane (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Children of Lovely Lane (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas Angels (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mothers of Lovely Lane (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Angel Sings (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Snow Angels (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Tarabeg Books

Shadows in Heaven (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mary Kate (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Velvet Ribbon (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Run to Him (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Girl Called Eilinora: A Short Story (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nadine Dorries is a bestselling author of Sagas who is perhaps best known as one of the United Kingdom’s most controversial MPs. She was born and brought up in the small suburb of Bargery in Liverpool.

Nadine was one of the daughters of a working-class family and spent some of her time living with her grandmother on a farm before she attended school on the western coast of Ireland.

Her Irish father was a Catholic man who worked as a lift operator and at some point had Raynaud’s disease. It was a house of contrasts as her mother was Anglican and ultimately Nadine was brought up in her mother’s tradition.

After completing her studies at Halewood’s Halewood Grange Comprehensive School, the family moved to Runcorn where they lived on a council estate.

In 1975, she began training as a nurse at the Warrington General Hospital, sharing a flat with her father, following his divorce from her mother during her teens.

She would then proceed to have a very successful career establishing and then selling her own business.

She is currently a member of the British House of Commons and has served as Under Secretary in the Department of Social Care and Health.

As for how she came to be an author, Nadine Dorries has said that she always wanted to write. The seed for a career as a writer was planted by a teacher at the Liverpool Modern Secondary that she attended.

The English teacher had one day given her a huge pile of magazine cuttings and asked her to find inspiration from them for a story that the teacher swooned over.

She would ultimately become addicted to books and magazines and used to ask to be locked inside the stock room of the English department during her lunchtime.

Nadine used to spend that time disappearing into worlds created by others and burying herself in the smell of books.

During the weekends she used to head to the council estate library and read everything the library assistant recommended.

It was at this time that she started thinking that maybe she would one day have her book grace the shelves.

Years later she would leave her dream behind and become an MP and a busy mother. She used to spend most of her time in her kitchen and in Tesco’s, ironed school uniforms, and polished her house until it gleamed.

Things changed for Nadine Dorries when her daughters became young adults and moved out. Despite being an MP and having achieved what most people could only dream about she started thinking her life needed to have more meaning.

She had always tried to write over the years but apart from her secondary school teacher, no one else had ever encouraged her. In fact, many people had actively broken her confidence and over time she had convinced herself that she was not good enough.
In 2010, some well-known author who penned stories about shopping and sex became an MP. But it would take more than a year before she gathered enough courage to ask her to recommend someone that would help her.

Encouraged by Iain Dale the broadcaster and her publisher she began writing a blog and slowly but surely gained confidence in her abilities. Her MP friend’s agent rejected her work but after freezing for about a year she got back on the horse.
She would then submit her manuscript to Sheil Land’s Piers Blofeld and this time she got an acceptance letter and has never looked back since.

Nadine Dorries’ novel “The Four Streets” is a historical fiction work set during the 1950s. The leads in the novel are Catholic Irish immigrants living in Liverpool.

The work follows two families that live on one of four streets. The men are employed at the docks earning a pittance while their wives are confined to the home.

In that society and the times, women could only stay at home, bear children, and do their very best to ensure that the little income their husbands brought home sustained their budgets.

The lives of the families on Four Street have themes of neglect, post-maternal death, child sexual abuse, and personality disorder. Nadine also includes a little of the paranormal in what is an interesting and even thrilling community saga.
In some scenes, there are some dark aspects, even though Nadine tries not to sensationalize them as she paints a picture of how hard their life can be.

“Hide Her Name” by Nadine Dorries is the second in the series that continues to follow the poor Irish immigrants of Liverpool’s Four Streets now living in the 1960s.

The lead in the novel is a young pregnant girl named Kitty who is sent to Ireland for her and her family’s safety. She is to have her kid in Ireland’s laundrys which are infamous all over the British Isles.
These laundrys have gained notoriety as their story has been told in real-life accounts, movies, and books.

They are terrible places where pregnant girls who are unmarried get horrible treatment and are forced to work long hours in terrible conditions.
Once they have their babies, they are taken from them and sent to the United States where they are adopted.
Back in Liverpool, Kitty’s neighbors, friends, and family have to deal with the aftereffects of a couple of murder investigations, struggles with poverty, and affairs of the heart.

Nadien Dorries’ “The Ballymara Road” is the final thriller in the Four Streets Trilogy.

The work is set in 1963 on Christmas morning when Kitty Doherty a fifteen-year-old just given birth.

But the thing is she has had her baby in a convent known to be hostile to the Irish. Given his heritage, the boy is a huge danger to his mother and the entire family living in Four Streets in Liverpool as Catholics.

When the baby finally gets adopted by a rich Chicago family, Kitty believes her problems are solved. However, it is soon apparent that the kid is very sick and can only be saved by his birth mother.

In the meantime, things have been getting a bit settled in Liverpool. The Dohertys have been dealing with the tragic consequences of their daughter’s pregnancy and a new priest who happens to be charismatic has been posted to the community.
The police have also been making headway in trying to solve the double homicide but suddenly everything threatens to go to the dogs.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nadine Dorries

Leave a Reply