Book Notification

Nancy Bell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Biggie Weatherford Books

Biggie and The Poisoned Politician (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Mangled Mortician (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Fricasseed Fat Man (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Meddlesome Mailman (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Quincy Ghost (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Devil Diet (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Judge Jackson Crain Books

Restored to Death (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Splits a Hair (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paint the Town Dead (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nancy Bell is American bestselling author of romance and mystery novels. She was born and raised in East Texas. Fascinated by language landscape and lore, the author brings those fascinations into her popular Biggie Weatherford series.

Bell became a published author in 1970 when her stand alone book Something of Value was released.

Biggie and the Poisoned Politician

This is the first book in Biggie Weatherford series; it is set in a small fictional town Texas. The narrative is told in the perspective of J.R. a twelve-year-old grandson of Biggie. It is a light and humorous mystery that focuses on the small Texas life. Biggie is a rich widow and one of the major influencers in Job’s Crossing; she does what pleases her and mostly gets things done her way.

So after a new landfill is constructed next to her family cemetery, she does not have an angry outburst bust instead unites her supporters to get rid of it. When the town mayor- an obese, and a blustery man with severe heart conditions collapses at a table in a local diner in the presence of Biggie and her grandson looking on, it is at first thought that he just had experienced a heart attack.

However, Biggie instincts tell her that she had just been poisoned and she sets out to prove her point, and she is also entirely sure that it also has something to do with the lodger’s car blowing up. The two events must somehow have some connections since nothing exciting happens in Job’s Crossing.

Biggie and the Mangled Mortician

In this novel, J.R narrates, the woman influence sphere of the East Texas town of Job’s Crossing has her hands full. She is also starring and directing a local production, but just before she does her rehearsal, a new city mortician and a cast member named Monk Carter suddenly takes his final breath. The cause of his death is associated with either an epileptic seizure or heart attack, but Doc Hopper’s examination on the body reveals that the mortician’s ribs were crushed prior his death. The suspects behind this new murder case are few and far between as well, but this does not stop Biggie with J.R. acting as her sidekick from attempting to solve this puzzling murder case.

The second series installment is loaded with knee-slapping humor, quirky southern charm and lots of compelling eccentric characters. Overall it is an intriguing mystery featuring interesting and loveable characters living a unique way of life. The fact that the novel is told from the perspective of a twelve-year-old boy residing in the fictional Texas town makes it brilliant read as well.

The author features a broad range of casts ranging from J.R., his grandmother (Biggie), his household, and a black cook who regularly does voodoo, and Cook’s lover who narrates some tales of the things that he has done and the all the sorts of people he has met. The plot is well crafted, and the author has made sure that each of the story scenes connects with the next without spoiling major points.

Biggie and the Fricasseed Fat Man

When Biggie and her grandson attends a grand opening the local town chicken café, Biggie finds herself entangled in a murder case. The restaurant owner is found shot dead in his kitchen, and his body gravied up like one of his prize hens and also garnished with tomato sauce in his mouth.

Biggie hardly finds it almost impossible to prepare for the upcoming Christmas holiday as she is busy investigating the case and going through the many clues and the suspects on her list. Tensions mount as she finds herself confronted by a second murder, the victim this time being Clovis Threadgill, a man who was popularly known for riding around the town on a lawn mower and sending threats to all the comers with his toy pistol.

On the other hand, the young J.R. has problems of his own, his other grandma; a witch threatens to take him away with her to live in Montana.

The third series installment is a fast paced cozy mystery featuring the old amateur sleuth Biggie. The characters are well crafted; both the primary and the secondary, and reading the book you will love how they interact with one another. The author also makes use of lots of local idioms to spice up the main story. The point of view character is J.R. who lives with his amateur sleuth grandmother named Biggie. Like any other good cozy mystery, this series consists of a collection of characters that make it unique and fun to read.

Restored to Death

In the first novel of Judge Jackson Crain, we meet Jackson Crain a forty something widower who knows almost about everyone living in Post Oak, Texas. However, when his sister in law is found brutally murdered and the suspicion flagged on her husband, Crain finds himself searching through the dirty laundry of the town folks including the murderer.

Death Splits a Hair

Death Splits a Hair is the second book in Judge Jackson Crain series. The novel opens up after Joe Junior a favorite barber of Post Oak is found killed. At first, the death seems to be the work of a prowler, however as the investigations deepen, Joe’s second wife named Marlene Ashburn becomes the primary suspect in this case.

During the funeral ceremony, a stranger shows up and something about this stranger reminds everyone about the deceased man. However, Joe’s brother claims to have never seen the man before and the evidence available points the Marlene as the killer.

In the meantime, Judge Crain and his teenage daughter Patty try to make use of her social activities as a young girl with some spying into the lives of their neighbors and friends. As the father and daughter get close to finding a solution, Patty and Jackson each find some touch of romance.

Patty is an interesting character; she seems to have gotten over her embarrassment at her dad’s involvement with Mandy. Mostly the novel deals with the town and its food and gossip; there is a lot of food description that you will love to have a taste.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nancy Bell

Leave a Reply