Book Notification

Nancy Herkness Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Consultants Books

Publication Order of Royal Caleva Books

Publication Order of Second Glances Books

Second to None (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Time Around (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Act (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Wager of Hearts Books

The CEO Buys In (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The All-Star Antes Up (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Irishman's Christmas Gamble (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The VIP Doubles Down (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Whisper Horse Books

Take Me Home (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Country Roads (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Place I Belong (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Down-Home Country Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Bridge to Love (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shower of Stars (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Music of the Night (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nancy Herkness is an award-winning American writer of contemporary, romance, and fiction novels. She is best known for writing the Whisper Horse book series that helped her to win her first literary award. The Montlake Romance publication published this series along with another popular novel series by Herkness known as Second Glances. Herkness has also written several other popular novels of contemporary romance in her career. She has been nominated for RWA’s RITA Award on two occasions. Recently, she has started writing a new romance series that follows the adventures of 3 rich men, who indulge in a life-altering bet during their romantic adventures. Author Herkness is a proud member of the RWA, the Novelists, Inc., and the New Jersey Romance Writers. She has won many accolades and honors in her area of work. Some of the most prestigious ones include the Maggie Award, the Golden Leaf prize, the National Excellence in Romantic Fiction, etc.

Herkness was born in Charleston, West Virginia. She completed her graduation from the University of Princeton with a creative writing and English literature degree. Currently, she is happily married and resides in the suburban region of New Jersey with her loving husband, a couple of dogs, and an old cat. Herkness has been active in literature since she joined the university. In addition to her numerous academic works, she was accepted into the program of creative writing at Princeton University. In her thesis of senior year at the university, Herkness came up with a large volume of unique poetry that she later published under her name.

In spite of having a great interest in the world of writing, Herkness did not start writing novels straightaway after graduating. She tried her hand at various other jobs first, including retail management & buying, sales & marketing of computer systems, COBOL programming, receptionist, etc. It was only after she became a mother and her children started going to school full-time that she started writing full-length novels. Herkness excelled in this field with her very first book called A Bridge to Love. She claims to have been inspired to write romance stories from the works of Georgette Heyer and gives the credit of all her success to her grandmother, who introduced her to Georgette Heyer novels. Otherwise, Herkness was trained to be a poet and had no interest in the romance genre initially. She ended up liking the genre only after realizing that it is full of optimism.

A very popular novel series written by Nancy Herkness is known as the Wager of Hearts series. It consists of a total of 3 novels and 1 novella released between 2015 and 2017. This series follows the romantic lives of 3 billionaires named Nathan Trainor, Luke Archer, and Gavin Miller. Nathan Trainor is a rich CEO of a multinational company and Luke Archer is a celebrity quarterback. Gavin Miller enjoys his popularity as a bestselling author. These billionaires come across each other at a club. It between their drinks, they get well acquainted with each other and realize that they have a lot in common. Each of them has dazzling wealth, a modest background, and the absence of real love. They realize that they have become tired of being chased around for their power and money. So, they decide to make a wager with high-stakes among themselves. In order to win, they are required to find a woman who would love them not for their enormous wealth, but for being the men that they are. As a result, the rich and jaded bachelors set off on a journey to find a perfect woman to love them wholeheartedly and change their lives for good. Herkness has set the stories in New York City and has mentioned the other essential characters in the roles of Chloe Russell, Miranda Tate, Frances Hogan, Liam Keller, and Allie Nichols.

The debut book of this romance series is entitled ‘The CEO Buys In’. It was released by Montlake Romance in 2015. Initially, it is shown in the plot that Nathan Trainor feels disillusioned and restless. He feels proud to be a self-made billionaire and have a company that is among top-listed ones in the world, but the absence of real love from his life is what makes him sad. And when he comes across two other billionaires like him at the Bellwether Club, Nathan sets himself on the course of finding his lady love. He wants to find a woman to love him purely before the other two bachelor billionaires to win a wager made between them.

Chloe Russell is introduced in the story as a temporary office assistant working in Nathan’s company. She needs the job badly for supporting her grandmother. Following a flu epidemic in the company, Chloe gets promoted to the rank of Nathan’s personal assistant. Chloe becomes very happy to know that she has become a permanent employee. But, because of Nathan’s illness due to the flu, she is required to work from Nathan’s penthouse. She seems reluctant at first, but then agrees, thinking about the lucrative promotion and permanent position as Nathan’s assistant. As Nathan and Chloe work together from the penthouse, they generate genuine heat among themselves and realize that there is definitely a connection between them. Nathan feels that she has found the woman he has been looking for, and also a chance to win the bet.

The next installment of this series is the 2016-released book called ‘The All-Star Antes Up’. It features Luke Archer and Miranda Tate in the lead roles. The book opens by showing Luke Archer as a man with the ‘No Strings Attached’ rule. He enjoys being a champion quarterback player for the NY Empire team. All the women that he has had relationships with so far only want him for his superstar image. But, his intention is to find someone to love him for being the man he is. After Luke’s best friend announces his retirement to live with wife and children, Luke feels that he is missing out on the bigger joys of life, that is, having a family. This is when he comes across Miranda Tate. Miranda had fled the dairy farm of her family and come to New York City to fulfill her dreams. Luke hires her to look after his high-rise luxury apartment. He sees her as a hard-working and sincere lady and knowing that she sends a major part of her income to her brother makes him respect her even more. Shortly after, the two develop a strong sexual attraction that turns into a steamy romance. Being with Miranda makes Luke think that she is who could become his life-partner and make him win the wager against Gavin Miller and Nathan Trainor.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nancy Herkness

Leave a Reply