Book Notification

Nancy Thayer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hot Flash Club Books

The Hot Flash Club (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hot Flash Club Strikes Again (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hot Flash Holidays (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hot Flash Club Chills Out (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Stepping (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Women at the Water's Edge (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bodies and Souls (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nell (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Morning (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spirit Lost (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Dearest Friend (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everlasting (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family Secrets (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Belonging (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Act of Love (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between Husbands and Friends (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Custody (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moon Shell Beach (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer House (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beachcombers (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heat Wave (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer Breeze (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Island Girls (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Nantucket Christmas (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nantucket Sisters (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Island Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guest Cottage (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Island House (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets in Summer (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Nantucket Wedding (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Surfside Sisters (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Let It Snow (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Girls of Summer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family Reunion (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer Love (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
All the Days of Summer (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Summer We Started Over (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nancy Thayer is a bestselling author of more than 30 novels. She was born in Emporia, Kansas, in 1943. She lives in Massachusetts with her second husband, Charley Walters. She has two children, Joshua Thayer and Samantha Wilde. Her daughter has followed in her footsteps, also becoming a successful author.

Ms. Thayer earned a BA and MA in English literature from the University of Missouri at Kansas City. She taught English at various colleges before having children and beginning her writing career.

She has lived in Amsterdam, Paris, and Helsinki. She credits this exposure to different cultures as inspiring her in various ways and exerting a strong influence on her books.

Nancy Thayer was interested in writing about lives of ordinary women. While browsing through her own diaries, she realized that her life story could be a novel. When she was twenty, she ran away from home to marry her psychology professor. As she recalled the exciting and romantic moments of her life, she decided to write a novel loosely based on her experiences.

Her first novel, Stepping, was published by Doubleday in January 1980, before the advent of emails and texts; however, she kept every single letter and card sent by her readers and has them to this day. Her books have been translated into many languages.

She began writing Stepping in 1978, about a woman with a lover, professor husband, two children and two stepdaughters. She invented characters to bring drama to her story, but readers could also relate to the domestic difficulties that were portrayed in a humorous light.

The story depicts the struggle of a woman, Zelda, a college student who fell in love with her professor, Charlie, who loves travel. His career eventually takes them Finland, where Zelda exists in a house without TV, radio, or a record player, yet her husband is celebrated as a scholar.

By the time Stepping was being published, she had completed half of her second novel, Three Women at the Water’s Edge. The story has three main characters, a mother, Margaret; and her two daughters, Daisy and Dale. They are each poised on the edge of major watershed moments in their lives.

One of her novels, Spirit Lost, had a film debut in 1997, starring James Avery, Leon Robinson, Regina Taylor, and Deacon Dawson. When a painter and his wife move into an old island house, the spirit of a widow haunts the young couple and seduces the painter. While writing this novel, Ms. Thayer relates that she was dealing with the loneliness and stress of a new life and entirely new environment. That emotion became the basis of the novel. After Spirit Lost, she has gone on to write many more successful novels.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nancy Thayer

3 Responses to “Nancy Thayer”

  1. Sherry Harrris: 1 year ago

    As I am not a reader I am so loving your books and I truly thank you !!! Found it at by chance at a local bookstore and have shared with others!

  2. Judith D Browning: 1 year ago

    Loved the HOT Flash Club. Please let’s have more of this humor…laughed out loud every day!!!

  3. Janet Wall: 6 years ago

    when will we see more of the Hot Flash Club?


Leave a Reply