Book Notification

Nanny Piggins Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nanny Piggins Books

The Adventures of Nanny Piggins (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nanny Piggins and the Wicked Plan (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nanny Piggins and the Runaway Lion (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nanny Piggins and the Accidental Blast Off (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nanny Piggins and the Rival Ringmaster (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nanny Piggins and The Pursuit Of Justice (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nanny Piggins And The Daring Rescue (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nanny Piggins And The Race To Power (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nanny Piggins Guide to Conquering Christmas (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Nanny Piggins Series is a set of novels by RA Spratt, the television author and bestselling child fiction author also known for the “Friday Barnes” and “Peski Kids” series. Spratt was born in the UK in the town of Essex though she spent much her life in Epping, Sydney. She went to the Eastwood Public School, the James Ruse Agricultural High School and then proceeded to get a bachelor’s in Communications from the “Charles Sturt University.” She got her start writing political satire for the likes of “Life Support” and “Good News Week” before she moved on to animation, preschool drama and sketch comedy. She spent more than fifteen years working children’s TV, which is where she got her passion and inspiration for writing children’s fiction. Seeing the lack of playfulness and humor in children’s educational programs, she wrote “The Adventures of Nanny Piggins” the first of the Nany Piggins series in 2010. Spratt asserts that her biggest influence was author Roald Dahl whose characters just like Nanny Piggins provided audiences with refreshingly amusing, uplifting, and imaginative content. When she is not writing she loved to garden or take a nap. She lives in Bowral in New South Wales with her husband, two children, two goldfish, and one very needy dog.

The Nanny Piggins series by RA Spratt are some phenomenal books that have captivated children and parents alike. They follow the adventures of Derrick, Michael and Samantha, and their eccentric nanny Piggins. Nanny Piggins is not your everyday nanny as she is a pig. However, she is also not an everyday pig as she gets up to all manner of activities you would not expect of a nanny. She has mastered the art of being shot out of a cannon, paints some beautiful portraits of herself, and bakes the sweetest pies that the children just cannot resist. It is not only about pies as she can also bake any pastry and has been known to make chocolate, cakes, cotton candy and tons of toast. She has been compared to the likes of Nurse Matilda or Mary Poppins, though she does come across as incredibly quick-witted as compared to her contemporaries. Nonetheless, she is nothing like any nanny you have ever read. Despite her shortcomings, the children think she is a hoot and love her a lot. There is a side to her that comes across as subversive as Spratt plays it close with the unhealthy and wild lifestyle of the children under Nanny Piggins. They eat a lot of junk food and their nanny encourages them to take part in reckless behavior including skipping school. But for the children, it would seem that they struck the jackpot. What child would not want a nanny that can cook some of the best pastry and has the astonishing ability of getting blown out of a cannon.

“The Adventures of Nanny Piggins” the first novel of the Nanny Piggins series by RA Spratt introduces Michael, Derrick and Samantha Green and their nanny Nanny Piggins. The three are the children of the stingy and cheap Mr. Green, a tax consultant that helps rich clients reduce their tax obligations. He never has the time nor the money to spend on his children and leaves their care to their mother. But then his wife dies in a freak boating accident, which means that he needs someone to take care of the children. He advertises that he needs a nanny and Sarah Piggins the famous circus pig saunters in asking for the job. She has spent much of her life as a celebrity flying pig and is not even remotely qualified as a nanny. Mr. Green does not think that it would be wise to hire a pig but she has one thing going for her – she is the cheapest of all the applicants as she can work for ten cents an hour. Having got her to agree to a contract Green goes back to helping his rich clients leaving the nanny and the children to their devices. With Mr. Green busy, the nanny and the children embark on a series of adventures including a trip to a beach that is interrupted by a huge storm, a trip to the amusement park that turns into a shopping trip and the unexpected arrival the best dancing beat and Nanny’s adopted brother Boris.

“Nanny Piggins and the Wicked Plan” the second novel of the series has Nanny Piggins and the children working to blocking Mr. Green from spoiling their fun. The man is intending to take a wife so that he can have someone to take care of his three children for free. This means that Nanny Piggins will have to go and the children cannot let that happen. In the several interconnected stories, the children go on adventures that include dabbling in holistic medicine, digging a tunnel to China and then finding that they are inside a men’s prison, a stint for Nanny Piggins as the Principal at the children’s school, jury duty and being shot out of a cannon. They also include several adventures done to prevent Mr. Green from marrying his fiancé. The story has almost a laugh every minute as Piggin’s attitudes and antics push the boundaries of political correctness and expose its shortcomings. Piggins also has her scruples and from time to time educates the children on wrong and right. While she does some things that some people might not necessarily agree with, it is all in the spirit of fun and to make a point.

“Nanny Piggins and the Runaway Lion” the third novel of the Nanny Piggins Series by R.A. Spratt has our favorite pig trying to keep the Greens protected and entertained. It is a good thing that they have their nanny since their father would rather they be in a boarding school since he is not interested in them at all. But Piggins is there to keep the children safe and run interference even if it means protecting the children from their father. Each chapter in the book comes with some type of adventure ranging from a runaway lion, a trip to the ballet, a skiing competition and a bake sale at school making it the perfect read-aloud book. Every chapter gives a satisfying conclusion and even as the tension ramps up towards the conclusion of the novel, every chapter can be enjoyed on its own. Piggins is hard to resist a pig that loves chocolate, sweets and can bake them as well. Moreover, she is brave, loyal and fashion-forward to a fault and who can hate anything she does.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Nanny Piggins

Leave a Reply