Book Notification

Napoleonic Horseman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Napoleonic Horseman Books

Chasseur à Cheval (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Napoleon's Guard (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
British Light Dragoon (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soldier Spy (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
1808 (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Talavera (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lines of Torres Vedras (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloody Badajoz (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to France (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Waterloo! (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Griff Hosker is a published British author.

He was born in 1950 in St. Helens of Lancashire. When he was younger, he went to Cowley Grammar School. After that he studied and was hired on as an English Teacher. For a period of thirty-five years he has had the privilege of teaching in England and its North East region.

In addition to being an author and having his books published in print, Hosker has another creative outlet. He likes to write musicals. Along with another author, he was able to write several musicals. These include the impressive Shakespeare The Musical as well as one called The Journey. This was put on in 2000 at the location of the Millennium Dome.

This author has other hobbies that he likes to pursue as well. He has an interest in history, and as part of that he goes out and visits various castles and finds historical novels to enjoy. Many of his own books are set in historical times as well, with the first nine that he wrote taking place in the first century (A.D.) in England and its northern area.

He has written several historically influenced novels and even a thriller which is titled Carnage at Cannes. He has written books that are designed for younger readers as well. This includes Great Granny’s Ghost, his KS3 novel. Many schools have placed orders for copies of this book to give to younger student readers. For books that have purchased the book, he will show up and do author days.

Once he stopped teaching, he set up his own firm that specialized in consultancy. He worked for colleges and schools in England as an adviser. However, things were changing and in 2010 a financial crash meant that he would have to stop working in that field as it was not as lucrative as it had been previously. He had more time to work with and did not like not having all of this free time to spend. He used the opportunity to look more into historical events such as Britain’s invasion by the Romans and the resulting information and interest that he had in the subject ended up helping him to write the novel The Sword of Cartimandua, which sparked a series.

On top of being an active history buff as well as writer and musical writer, Hosker also has pursued public speaking. He does public talks mostly about being a writer and has conducted a few award ceremonies as a speaker too.

Griff Hosker is the creator and the author of the Napoleonic Horseman series of fictional novels. The series started in 2013 with the publication and release of the debut novel in this series. Chasseur A Cheval was quickly followed by the sequel in the series, Napoleon’s Guard. Then came British Light Dragoon followed by Soldier Spy and more. The eighth book is titled Bloody Badajoz and was published in 2020. Check out all of these books, starting with the first in the series, and see what you think!

Chasseur A Cheval is the first book in the Napoleonic Horseman series by author Griff Hosker. In this first story, readers get to meet the main character of Robbie Macgregor.

Here is a man that can be seen as a traitor to many. That was the case with the people that he spent time growing up with, to random French people that did not know him very well. He estimates that he was probably seen as a traitor even to English people that he actually fought for. He recounts that when it comes to his relatives of Scottish descent, it would vary depending on the person that you were asking at the time.

Robbie says that he cannot personally take the fall or the blame for these circumstances. Especially since all that had happened occurred out of sheer random fortune, an accident of where and how he was born into the world. He was the product of his parents meeting, but that was a circumstance that was not destined to provide him with a happy childhood.

He was a bastard child born as the result of a pairing between a Scottish servant and a French aristocrat. He did not find himself growing up with his parents and a family. As his father did not want him or the burden of having a bastard child and all the shame and societal attention that would bring, it was as though he never had parents at all.

Robbie grew up and did not have money, or such things as status or power. The vast majority of people don’t like him, and he has to make a quick decision if he wants to keep his freedom and not get caught up by the guillotine. So he signs up for the military. It’s actually one of the best choices that he could have made, since his entry into the French Army affords him a unique chance.

Through the army and this new life, Robbie gets to redefine his life. He becomes a Chasseur a Cheval. Through a variety of heroic feats that take place on the action-packed battlefield of the moment, Robbie is part of a fleet capture and Malta’s conquest. Along the way he is noticed by Napoleon Bonaparte, a younger general in the army who is steadily gaining power.

Full of action and adventure, this book moves quickly through a fictional viewpoint of history as imagined by Hosker. This is when the revolution was still in its earlier days and Napoleon was on his way up the ranks. Follow a campaign that runs through Italy and all of the world encompassed by this novel by picking up the first book in the Napoleonic Horseman series!

Napoleon’s Guard is the second novel to come out in the series of the same name. Robbie is a French chasseur, but gets noticed by Napoleon. When Napoleon has more power, he commands Robbie to operate as a spy.

The action begins when Robbie quickly gets swept up in an Egyptian campaign. Suddenly, he has enemies everywhere. This is the tale of a general’s war put on with the Ottoman Turks and how Robbie as well as the many other members of the military navigate that. Want to find out what happens? Then pick up a copy of this book!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Napoleonic Horseman

Leave a Reply