Book Notification

Natasha Pulley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Watchmaker Of Filigree Street Books

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Future of Pepperharrow (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Bedlam Stacks (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kingdoms (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Half Life of Valery K (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mars House (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Haunting Season(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Natasha Pulley is a renowned British author of historical fiction and fantasy stories. She is well known for writing The Watchmaker of Filigree Street series. The first book of this series, having the same name as the series, has won the Betty Trask Award. Winning this award became the highlight of Pulley’s career as she got noticed by the who’s who of the writing world. Author Pulley made her debut in the world of publishing in 2015. She was born on December 4, 1988, in the United Kingdom. She completed her education in English Literature from Soham Village College, New College, Oxford. Thereafter, Pulley obtained her master’s degree in creative writing from East Anglia University in 2012. Following her graduation, Pulley began teaching English. She was employed in China as a teacher of English for 6 weeks.

The experience during her teaching job made her realize what it meant to be a foreigner. Later, she spent some time working as a bookseller at Waterstones over Christmas. Pulley also worked as a publishing assistant at Cambridge University’s maths and astronomy departments. When she is not busy with her writing assignment, she likes to indulge herself in reading. Historical fiction and ghost stories are her favorite. Currently, she is trying to get used to Japanese literature. Pulley wishes to get her hands at as much Japanese literature as possible. She is also learning Japanese slowly. Author Pulley believes that fiction is a lot better place than the actual world and so, she likes writing about it. In 2013, Pulley had won a Daiwa Anglo-Japanese Foundation scholarship that allowed her to live and study in Tokyo for around 18 months. She spent this time learning the Japanese language and researching her first novel.

In 2016, Pulley lived in Peru for several months. This opportunity was provided to her by the Society of Authors’ travel grant. Pulley spent all those months in researching her second book and chasing llamas. Following the immense success of her first novel, she decided to come up with its sequel. After spending almost a year in developing the manuscript, Pulley was finally able to publish the widely successful second installment in 2020. As of now, she resides in Bath with her family. Pulley is at work on the fourth book of her career and is expected to release it in the coming months.

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street book series written by author Natasha Pulley is comprised of two books in total, released between 2015 and 2020. Pulley has set this series in the 1880s in London, England; and Tokyo, Japan. The central characters created by her for the series include Keita Mori, Grace Carrow, Thaniel Steepleton, Takiko Pepperharrow, and several others. This steampunk, historical fiction series’ debut book is entitled ‘The Watchmaker of Filigree Street’. It was released by the Bloomsbury publication in 2015. The story takes place in 1883 in London and Tokyo. Initially, it is depicted that Thaniel Steepleton comes back to his small apartment home in London and discovers a precious pocket watch made of gold lying on the pillow on his bed.

Six months after this valuable discovery, Thaniel Steepleton’s life is saved by the mysterious timepiece when he is drawn away from the blast scene that causes the complete destruction of Scotland Yard. This life-saving incident makes Thaniel Steepleton go in search of the maker of the gold watch. He turns out to be a lonely and kind immigrant from Japan named Keita Mori. When Thaniel comes across Keita Mori, he appears to him as a harmless person. But, several unexplainable events happen later that make Thaniel Steepleton suspect that Keita Mori might be hiding something very important.

An Oxford physicist named Grace Carrow happens to interfere unwittingly, causing Thaniel to be torn between two opposing loyalties. The novel turned out to be an entertaining and sweeping read. Its atmospheric narrative tends to take the reader on a mesmerizing journey through London of the Victorian era and Japan at the time of its crumbling civil war. Author Pulley has done a fantastic job of combining historical events with interesting, fancy flights. The original story and mind-blowing characters enabled the book to reach out to readers in huge numbers. Author Pulley’s wonderful style of writing and original story helped the book win the Betty Trask prize in 2016. Following the tremendous success of the book, Pulley began working on the second volume of the series and published it with much more success and popularity.

The second book of this series is called ‘The Lost Future of Pepperharrow’. It was also released by the Bloomsbury publication in 2020. This novel takes place in 1888, five years after the events in the first novel unfolded. At the start, it is mentioned that the unassuming translator, Thaniel Steepleton, and the watchmaker having the ability to remember the future, Keita Mori, are taking a journey to Japan. Steepleton has received a posting to Tokyo-based British legation, while Keita has some business of his own in Yokohoma. As Thaniel Steepleton arrives at the legation, he is informed that several staff members have been witnessing ghosts. So, he sets himself on the task of finding out what is really happening there. But, while he stays with Keita Mori, Thaniel himself begins to see ghostly happenings. Keita Mori appears to be frightened upon learning about the ghostly happenings, but he does not share the reason behind it.

Shortly after, he goes missing and Thaniel Steepleton is left confused at the happening of events. Meanwhile, it is learned that a strange thing is happening in one of the frozen labor camps located in Northern Japan. Takiko Pepperharrow, who is an old acquaintance of Keita Mori, is asked to look into the matter and investigate. Suddenly, the weather becomes too rough. Ghosts begin to haunt people in different parts of the country. Thaniel Steepleton suspects that the shocking events have something to do with the sudden disappearance of Keita Mori. Thinking that Mori might be in some kind of danger, Thaniel sets out to find him and put an end to the mystery of the ghost appearances. This novel received wide popularity and went on to become immensely successful. Readers who already read the first book enjoyed this book a lot and felt completely satisfied with Pulley’s work. Her fans are now waiting eagerly for the third installment, which she has promised to come up with soon.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Natasha Pulley

One Response to “Natasha Pulley”

  1. Dolores Jefferson: 1 year ago

    Hello – I borrowed, The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, from my friend yesterday; I started to read it last night and was immediately engrossed. I am sure that I will finish it quickly and read the sequel, and order her other books from the lending library. Warmest regards to the author, and whoever posted her books. Keep writing for all of us lovers of books!


Leave a Reply