Book Notification

Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales Books

One Dead Spy (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Bad Ironclad! (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Donner Dinner Party (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treaties, Trenches, Mud, and Blood (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Underground Abductor (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alamo All-Stars (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raid of No Return (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lafayette! (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Major Impossible (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blades of Freedom (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold War Correspondent (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Above the Trenches (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nathan Hale is a published author as well as cartoonist, illustrator, and public speaker.

Nathan is a best-selling author, cartoonist and illustrator whose work has been featured in publications such as the New York Times. He is known for his Hazardous Tales series of books as well as his picture books like The Devil You Know and Yellowbelly and Plum Go To School. He is also the creator of several fun graphic novels and the horror and science fiction comics Apocalypse Taco and One Trick Pony.

He has illustrated several books and graphic novels, including Rapunzel’s Revenge, a graphic novel that was nominated for an Eisner. He has also illustrated the sequel to this graphic novel, Calamity Jack, in addition to Animal House, Frankenstein: A Monstrous Parody, The Dinosaurs’ Night Before Christmas, and many more. He also likes to note that there is a different Nathan Hale out there that has authored apocalyptic tales such as ‘Extinction Earth’ that is not the same person as he is!

Nathan resides in Utah. Hale is also an energetic speaker that will come to schools to speak to students. He covers topics like social studies, writing, drawing, storytelling, and more. He will come speak in person and draw the presentations on a screen live. Combined with story telling, it can be a really fun but also educational experience for students. He also conducts workshops for students at third grade and up that involves creating comics and drawing.

The Hazardous Tales series was created, authored and illustrated by Nathan Hale. It has been nominated for an Eisner and the series focused on American history is not only a best-selling graphic novel series but it is also very educational! The graphic novel series first began in 2012 with the publication of the first graphic novel, One Dead Spy. Many more would come and all of them are an interesting read, so be sure to check this series out if you love graphic novels, Hale’s work, American history or want something cool and new to read!

One Dead Spy is the first graphic novel in the American history series by Nathan Hale. This graphic novel features a man with the same name as the author who was the first spy for America. He was the man in question that was known for his famous quote where he declared the regret that he had for only possessing a singular life that he could lose for his country. This was of course uttered right before the British hanged him.

In this series, Hale attempts to use this historical figure and his namesake to be a platform to present readers with the most unusual and roughest stories from history, all in comic book form. This tells the story of the man Nathan Hale from history, who he was, his role as a spy and an officer for the Americans during the time period of the Revolutionary War.

Everything true is focused on here by Hale, from the gruesome to the unusual and more. This is the true story of the man that went by the name of Nathan Hale, from attending college at Yale to his interesting career as an officer. Follow it all and find out more about this person and American history by picking up a copy of this graphic novel for yourself!

Big Bad Ironclad! is the second graphic novel in the interesting and well-researched Hazardous Tales series by Nathan Hale. Every book that is contained within this unique series has stories that may sound strange, but are ultimately true. Each comes with an easy to understand and engaging format that features characters that are so much larger than life in so many ways– and the interesting thing about them is that they were real people that existed throughout history!

This graphic novel centers around the steam warships with ironclad sides that were popularly used during the time period of the Civil War. It focuses on the inventor of the ship, a guy that was no stranger to making things explode for fun. He also only had one hundred days in total tasked to him in order to finish the project.

The book also covers William Cushing, a mischievous man that was fond of pranks. In fact he pulled pranks on his way through the entire war. Check this graphic novel out for some facts about history and to learn more about the unique characters that populate it!

Donner Dinner Party is the third in this Hazardous Tales series and focuses on what the average person might do to survive, using history as a backdrop.

You may already know the treacherous tale of the Donner Party. It was 1846 during the spring season when a group of families set out from Illinois to make their way to the state of California. It was going to be a long way, but they knew that. So to make the trip shorter, they decided they would take a shortcut. The consequences, as we now know, were fatal.

Many things that could have gone wrong did go wrong. Poor choices were made, the weather was bad, and the pioneers had to make their way through the mountains during winter without enough to eat. As they struggled to make progress, it soon became clear that survival would become the main priority.

The families were starving and your imagination can fill in the rest if you aren’t familiar with this story. Find out the details of this true horror story ripped from the pages of American history by picking up a copy of this graphic novel!

Treaties, Trenches, Mud, and Blood is the fourth graphic novel in Nathan Hale’s popular Hazardous Tales series. All of the novels focus on some part of American history, and this one is no different.

This book focuses on the 20th century and the advent of the first world war. The war would establish a large part of the century’s tone and also ushered in warfare that had evolved from what came before. Full of true stories from wartime, Hale has done it once again with a lively and informative graphic novel readers will be sure to love.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales

Leave a Reply