Book Notification

Nathan M. Farrugia Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fifth Column Books

The Chimera Vector (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seraphim Sequence (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Phoenix Variant (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Phoenix Ascent (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Helix Books

Nathan M. Farrugia is one of the noteworthy authors of Australia who likes to write his books based on the mystery, thriller, fantasy, science fiction, and techno thriller genres. He was born on June 28, 1983, in Melbourne, Australia. Before going on to take writing as a career, author Nathan did service in the Australian Army in the reconnaissance and infantry. After completing his short service, he went on to study television, film, and professional writing. Later, he started working as a video editor, copywriter, and colorist for a post production company. It was during this time that he earned his nickname as Fagoogoo as no one of his colleagues were able to pronounce his surname Farrugia properly. As of today, author Nathan lives in Melbourne, Australia. Whenever he gets some spare time from his busy schedule, he likes to spend them in practicing lock picking and discovering almost all the hidden places located around the world with the help of the urban explorers.

Author Nathan also likes to study Systema, which is a lesser known form of martial arts training. It was used as a secret weapon by the special forces of the Russian Army. The other achievements of author Nathan include trainings under the SEAL team, instructors of the Defense Intelligence, USMC, and Spetsnaz. He has even received training of the tracking and wilderness skills of the scouts of the Chiricahua Apace as well as the Australian Aboriginals. Other than writing novels and spending time in receiving different kinds of special trainings, author Nathan likes to enjoy drinking while relaxing at his home. He believes that his success as a techno thriller and science fiction author is greatly because of getting influenced by the popular works of the noteworthy novelists like Damon Lindelof, Sheldon Pacotti, Dean Koontz, Marc Laidlaw, the Wachowskis, etc. As a successful author of the bestselling techno thriller novels, author Nathan has written and published the The Fifth Column series, which was released by the Momentum Book publishers. In the publication of all his literary works, author Nathan is represented by the agent known as Xavier Waterkeyn from the Flying Pigs Literature Agency.

Almost all the books written by author Nathan have been appreciated very much. Most of them are well known for their depiction of technology, action, and the distinct characterization of the female protagonists. In fact, most of the technological thriller books written by author Nathan have gone on to receive ‘A’ rating for the gender bias and diversity of the Bechdel test. The first book written by him is titled as ‘The Chimera Vector’, which went on to win the Thriller Book of the Year Award by the iBookstore of Apple. For studying Film and Television, author Nathan had enrolled himself in the Melbourne Polytechnic. Also, for learning about the Professional Editing and Writing, he had joined the RMIT University. He wanted to be a perfectionist in order to develop the characters of his books. Therefore, he out himself in real life dangerous situations on a number of occasions, and came out as a winner. Especially, author Nathan used to climb the rooftops in Russia, explore the underground places in New York, and learn how to escape capture during a ‘Resistance, Survive, Escape, and Evasion’ training session in Texas. By doing all this, he was able to understand his characters very well. All his research works helped him a lot when he went on to do the description of the characters and plots of technological thriller books.

The Fifth Column series written by author Nathan M. Farrugia consists of a total of 3 books, published between the year 2012 and 2014. Its first book is titled as ‘The Chimera Vector’, which was released by the Momentum publishers in the year 2012. The setting of this book is done is numerous places, including Tehran, Volterra, New York, Old Lyon, and Desecheo Island. It features the important characters in the form of Damien, Denton, Dr. Benito Montoya, Sophia, Dr. Leoncjusz Adamicz, Jay, Nasira, Lucia, and Dr. Cecilia McLoughlin. During the start of the book, it is depicted that The Fifth Column is the most secretive and powerful organization of the world. They run all the militaries, governments, and also the terrorist cells of the world. Sophia is also part of the organization and works as a deniable operative. She was recruited by the secret organization when she was a small child. Similar to all the other operatives working in the organization, her DNA too was altered in order to augment her major senses and splinter her mind into several programmed subsets. When she is sent on a routine mission in Iran, bugs begin to appear in her programmed systems, due to which her mission goes out of hand. On the whole, the book is filled with a number of sequences of gun fights, high speed chases, immortal psychopaths, helicopter battles, mutant abilities, and super soldiers. All these elements tend to make the novel a must read by every fan of techno-thriller books.

The next book in the series is titled as ‘The Seraphim Sequence’. It was also released by the Momentum publishers in the year 2013. The plot of this book is also set in various places such as Kuala Lumpur, Denver, Melbourne, New York, Boracay Island, Miami, and Manila. Even this book features the same set of characters with Sophia shown as the central lead. At the beginning of this book, it is shown that the world is about to reel in the aftermath a genocide caused by The Fifth Column. Sophia is shown as a former operative of the world government organization, who is now among the few remnants of the once-strong resistance organization called as Akhana. After the fall of the resistance of the Akhana against The Fifth Column, Sophia gets labeled as the most wanted terrorist of the world. She is targeted so much that she is barely able to make escapes and save her life so far. Now, it is learned that a new threat is developing in the world organization. A new project called Seraphim is being developed which has the power of utilizing the lowest frequencies for making people do and feel things at any time. Due to this, mass population is about to fall under the unlimited power of the new technology. In order to stop this deadly project, Sophia is required to join hands with her former friends and recent allies. First one among them is Denton, who described as a master manipulator. The only time left with Sophia if 4 days for saving the human race from becoming slaves forever. Just like the previous novel of the series, this novel too shows numerous sequences of betrayal and counter betrayal. This helped it to become an international bestseller.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nathan M. Farrugia

Leave a Reply