Book Notification

Nathaniel Drinkwater Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nathaniel Drinkwater Books

An Eye of the Fleet (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
A King's Cutter (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Brig of War (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bomb Vessel (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Corvette / Arctic Treachery (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
1805 (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baltic Mission (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Distant Waters (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Private Revenge (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under False Colours (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flying Squadron (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath the Aurora (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow of the Eagle (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ebb Tide (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nathaniel Drinkwater series by Richard Woodman

Author Richard Woodman writes the “Nathaniel Drinkwater” series of historical naval fiction novels. The series began publication in the year 1981, when “An Eye of the Fleet” was released. The series ended publication in the year 1988, when “Ebb Tide”, the fourteenth novel of the series, was released.

Richard Woodman retired in 1997 after a thirty-seven year long nautical career. He is unlike other modern naval historical novelists since he served afloat. Richard first went to sea when he was just sixteen years old as indentured midshipman and spent over a decade in command.

Each of the books takes place in a different period in Nathaniel Drinkwater’s life, as he is a different rank and has different adventures.

“An Eye of the Fleet” is the first novel in the “Nathaniel Drinkwater” series, which was released in the year 1981. Seeing action in Admiral Rodney’s dramatic Moonlight Battle of 1780, that sees Cyclops capture the Santa Teresa is the start of Nathaniel’s life at sea. HMS Cyclops becomes involved in going after American privateers that are a danger to British trade. Drinkwater is a part of a prize team as initiative and courage during a rather critical situation help him survive a dangerous encounter.

The frigate winds up detached on special service in South Carolina swamps, grim actions are fought out at sea. It results in some violent deaths before Cyclops can get to New York in the year 1781 and is dispatched back to Spithead to hear about Lord Cornwallis surrendering at Yorktown.

Through experiences both in the hard life on the Cyclops and in action, Drinkwater starts to mature and is able to start to stand up to all of the tyranny of the midshipmen’s mess. As well as the evil influence from Morris, the senior midshipman. Through overcoming all his difficulties he is able to keep going by his growing love for Elizabeth and the differences of home life with the brutalities that come with being in the navy.

Readers found this to be an entertaining read, and both Morris and Nathaniel are well developed over the course of the novel. This is an author that is able to capture his reader and hold their attention from start to finish.

“A King’s Cutter” is the second novel in the “Nathaniel Drinkwater” series, which was released in the year 1982. The year is 1792 and Nathaniel Drinkwater has rejoined the Royal Navy, this time appointed to Kestrel, the twelve-gun cutter, and is commanded by the enigmatic Madoc Griffiths. Due to the growing menace of the French Revolution, he is involved in dangerous and secret operations just off the French Coast. These include the landing of agents.

While Europe plunges deeper into this war, Kestrel takes part in the fight for supremacy inside the Channel. Drinkwater engages in some sinister encounters with Edouard Santhonax, a guy who stirs up interest with the British Government Agents. The network becomes discovered due to Drinkwater’s initiative I, but the Royal Navy becomes paralyzed by a mutiny. Is Kestrel going to have to stand by itself between disaster and the Dutch Fleet? Events come to a head in Camperdown. In the aftermath of this bloody battle, Drinkwater and his opponent confront each other.

The book feels like normal life, where things do not just happen easily for Nathaniel. Richard Woodman knows his stuff, and readers find his work convincing and fascinating, both from a sailor’s perspective and from a human point of view. The book features some wonderful characterization, dark nuance, and gruesome action.

“A Brig of War” is the third novel in the “Nathaniel Drinkwater” series, which was released in the year 1983. Bonaparte is shaking the world up in Paris, as he moves his forces around like they are pieces on a board game. For Lt. Nathaniel Drinkwater, all of the Frenchman’s cleverness means he has to leave the English channel and set sail to the Red Sea to duel with France’s most notorious secret agent, Edouard Santhonax, Drinkwater’s arch enemy.

From the fire of ships’ cannons over to the raging sea at Cape of Good Hope, Drinkwater’s is a story of courage, combat, and duty. All of which is played out on the world’s great sailing ships.

“The Bomb Vessel” is the fourth novel in the “Nathaniel Drinkwater” series, which was released in the year 1984. A young Captain Nathaniel Drinkwater gets handed a command of the old Virago, to be sent over to the Baltic to haul cargo. Drinkwater has an ambition to turn Virago back into a fighting ship, but gets thwarted in his efforts by Lord Nelson. Drinkwater’s brother asks for help, at the same time, in his desperate try to get free of the gallows. While Sir Hyde Parker’s fleet gets closer to the Danish coast, Virago is almost caught in their destructive path. With all the ice and gales, Drinkwater hopes to save his brother as well as his ship.

During the spring of 1801, Napoleon reached supreme power in France and allied with Tsar Paul of Russia. Against this rather hazardous backdrop of Baltic expedition, Drinkwater’s action in the bloody and complex battle of Copenhagen is vital.

“The Corvette” is the fifth novel in the “Nathaniel Drinkwater” series, which was released in the year 1985. The Artic Ocean’s frozen splendor as well as the absorbing drama of some nineteenth century whale hunt plays out in the book. Rewarded with a promotion for his work at the Battle of Copenhagen, Commander Drinkwater is sent quickly to replace the Melusine’s captain, who was shot during a duel.

The ship sets sail as escort to a whaling fleet during its annual expedition to the Greenland Sea to pursue some right whales. While this whale hunt is going on, the loss of one vessel starts off a series of misfortune. Death, treachery, and disaster are the result. To fix his ship, Drinkwater looks for shelter near the Greenland coast and is able to find more hazards than even the Arctic is able to produce. It is here that Drinkwater makes the toughest choice of his entire career.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Nathaniel Drinkwater

One Response to “Nathaniel Drinkwater”

  1. john serber: 8 months ago

    Loved the series and other works by Mr. woodman. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply