Book Notification

Neigbor from Hell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Neighbor From Hell Books

Playing for Keeps (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perfection (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Checkmate (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Truce (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Game Plan (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Double Dare (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas from Hell (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire & Brimstone (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Delectable (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Promise (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Irresistible (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Finally (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Another Christmas from Hell (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pretend (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pretend is a prequel in the Neighbor From Hell series.

Publication Order of Neighbor From Hell YA Series Books

“Neighbor from Hell” Series is a set of romance novels by R.L. Mathewson, an American author from Massachusetts. Mathewson is known for her contemporary and paranormal romance novels, all of which are characterized by relatable characters, quick wit, and humor. The author has said that she grew up a very shy and nerdy child that would always be found with a book. After she graduated from high school, she went to college after she worked several odd jobs. Some of the jobs she worked included, fast food cook, bellhop, museum worker and then as an EMT after she took a specialized course. It was while she was working as an EMT that she overcame her shyness and got some disturbing memories as well as some very fond ones, some of which sometimes appear in her stories. Mathewson is a mother to two children who keep her very busy. She also has a major hot chocolate and romance novel addiction and the perfect day for her is when she can combine the two. Mathewson cites her biggest influences as G.A. Aiken, Julia Quinn, Gena Showalter, and Kresley Cole. Apart from the Neighbor from Hell series, she is also the author of young adult and paranormal contemporary novels that include the “Sentinel/Pyte” series, the “Hollywood Hearts” series, the “EMS” series, and the “Honeymoon from Hell” series.

The “Neighbor from Hell” series is a different type of romance series as it does not adhere to the cliched romance formulas of her contemporaries. The hero of the series is a very different type of man as he is more often than not, the one who is stressing out the heroine rather than rescuing her. The heroine is an independent woman that just wants to live her life only for the neighbor from next door to come to mess it up. However, the chemistry between the characters is always intense as they go from enemies to love. The first novel of the “Neighbors from Hell” series “Playing for Keeps” tells of Haley who thinks her neighbor Jason is a charmer though he plays too loud music. Jason is a cold-blooded womanizer but when his neighbor lost her to over flowers he ruined, he realized how much attracted he was to her. In “Perfection,” Zoe is tired of the loud jerk next door especially since she lost her job and things could not have been worse. Bradford thinks she is frumpy only to realize that he is slowly but surely falling for her when she is nothing close to his ideal. “Checkmate” the third novel of the series is about next-door neighbors Connor and Rory. Connor had been tormenting Rory ever since he bought the house next to hers though he told everyone that he planned to fix it up and sell. The truth is that he has been protecting her from awful boyfriends and feels jealous whenever she dates someone. She has also been feeling attracted to him though she thinks he would never look at her that way.

“Playing for Keeps” the debut novel of the “Neighbor from Hell” series is about Haley and Jason. Haley is a sucker for punishment and thinks that nothing the loud jerk next door does will faze her. But five years of antics is too much for anyone and she finally flips out and unleashes her fury. But then she is pleased when she learns of the reason he tore up her garden. He loves women but he does not like relationships and has sworn off them. After getting the cold shoulder from his neighbor for five years, he is happy to learn that she cooks very good pastry, is a baseball fan and is also very fun to hang out with. Soon a unique friendship develops and Haley and Jason find that they are not dating while actually dating one another. Could this develop into something more over time? It is a cute and funny story with many surprises and beautiful moments between the leads. Jason has a very unhealthy and obsessive addiction to food which makes for hilarious moments.

“Perfection” is the story of Zoe, a woman used to her independence. But a lot of bad things have happened to her and she has become disillusioned with life. She lost her job because she did something most bosses would have been happy about and things had only gone from bad to worse since then. Zoe certainly did not expect anything good from Bradford Trevor, the loud jerk who lived in the house next door. But she has nothing to lose and so she confides in him and hopes that everything will work out. But she did not expect to get an amazing arrangement that would be a once in a lifetime opportunity yet be a mutually beneficial arrangement. But things have never been so good for her and she should have known better when her luck changes suddenly. Bradford loves food and leads a simple and straightforward life without many complications such as romantic relationships. He is looking for the perfect woman and has the picture in his head until he learns that he is attracted to his little neighbor. He had always thought her a frumpy little thing and he cannot believe that he could be attracted to Zoe and immediately sets in motion a plan to get her out of his system. He is going to try looking for perfection but, in the meantime, will keep her around.

Connor and Rory the leads in “Checkmate” the third novel of the “Neighbor from Hell” series opens to the competition between Rory and Connor. They had bid on the same construction project and then had been forced to work together after both bids were accepted. Rory and Connor are now battling for control of the project and the working space is soon a disaster as they cannot get along. To make it worse, they cannot leave their feud at home since they are next-door neighbors back home. Connor has been telling everyone that he decided to buy the house next to Rory since he wanted to fix it up and sell it. But the truth is that while he can get some good profit from the house, the pleasure he gets from tormenting her is also something he has gotten used to. Moreover, he has gotten quite fond of her and loves being near her though he is yet to declare his true feelings. Rory is just as attracted to him but is yet to admit it even to herself. She tells herself that the attraction is physical given how hot the guy is. She thinks there is no way he is attracted to her. But then he blackmails her into pretending to be his loving and doting girlfriend. He tells her that this is the only way she can get control over a project they both want but it is just a game to get closer to her.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Neigbor from Hell

Leave a Reply