Book Notification

Nele Neuhaus Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bodenstein & Kirchhoff Books

Eine unbeliebte Frau (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mordsfreunde (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ice Queen / Tiefe Wunden (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Snow White Must Die / Schneewittchen muss sterben (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wer Wind sät (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Wolf / Big Bad Wolf / Böser Wolf (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Am Your Judge / To Catch a Killer / Die Lebenden und die Toten (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Im Wald (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Muttertag (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
In ewiger Freundschaft (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Swimming with Sharks (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nele Neuhaus is one of Germany’s most popular authors, specializing in the genres of crime thriller and mystery.


Nele Neuhaus was born Cornelia Neuhaus in 1967 in Munster. She was first struck by the passion to write at the tender age of five though she did this phonetically seeing as she was yet to master the art of writing.

As she progressed into adulthood, it didn’t take Nele long to realize that writing was the only thing she seemed cut out for. Showing a will lacking in most wannabe-authors, young and old, Nele kept hacking away at her dream, unwilling to give into despair no matter how many obstacles she encountered.

Success for Nele Neuhaus came when she stumbled upon the miracle of self-publishing, quickly realizing the opportunities it could provide her.

Nele achieved the sort of success in the self-publishing arena that most authors in Germany can only dream of, her victories online opening several doors for her, this including the chance to sign with Ullstein, a German publisher.

The success Nele Neuhaus has achieved with self-publishing is notable because she had no background in publishing before bringing her books to readers all over the world via the internet.

Best known for works like the Oliver von Bodenstein and Pia Kirchhoff series, Nele was first published in English in 2013, her novel ‘Snow White Must Die’ immediately winning her several new fans across the United States.

+Snow White Must Die

Pia Kirchhoff and Oliver von Bodenstein are called to a mysterious accident on a rainy November day. A woman fell from a pedestrian bridge onto a moving car underneath. A witness suggests that she may have been pushed. In the course of their investigation, detectives Pia and Oliver are led to a small village, to the home of Rita Cramer, the victim.

Eleven years earlier, on a September evening, two 17-year-old girls disappeared from the village. Based on circumstantial evidence, 20-year old Tobias Sartorius, Rita’s son, was sentenced to ten years in prison.

Pia and Oliver learn that Tobias had served his sentence and returned home. They cannot help but wonder whether his return had something to do with the attack on his mother.

Pia and Oliver meet a wall of silence wherever they go in the village. When another young girl disappears, for the villagers it is all too clear who the perpetrator is; and this time, unlike 11 years ago, they are determined to take matters into their own hands.

Snow White Must Die capture the attention of its readers from the very beginning, an entertaining read that has more to offer than the average crime procedural.

When two girls with romantic connections to Tobias disappeared more than a decade ago, all suspicion fell upon Tobias, who wasn’t helped by the fact that he had blacked out around the time of the girls’ disappearance.

He returns home after a stretch in prison to find his parent’s estranged, their business in ruins and the town determined to hold onto their suspicion. When another girl disappears, the town is quick to turn against Tobias, with detectives Pia and Oliver taking steps to delve into the mysteries of the case and unearth the truth behind the crimes before the villages exact their notion of justice against Tobias.

Nele Neuhaus’ work is very reminiscent of Elizabeth George and Laura Lippman. The mystery is one of the best aspects of the novel. It is highly engrossing though some of the twists become easier to discern as the story progresses but only because readers are allowed to glean certain clues and pieces of information ahead of time before the detectives learn of these vital revelations.

Because of the similarities between some of the names, portions of the book might prove confusing for some readers with regards to figuring out who is who, though for any individual willing to invest the time and attention to the story, this shouldn’t prevent them from having a blast.

The German names are bound to complicate things for some English-speaking readers, but even these are hardly an obstacle for any individual determined to enjoy Nele Neuhaus’ work.

Snow White Must Die is a very German novel, that much is clear. However, the themes explored are universal and the most readers shouldn’t face much difficulty connecting with the characters and plots Nele creates.

The book is rewarding and compelling. Readers will struggle with the urge to keep reading as the tension in the story heightens and the mysteries take a number of unexpected turns.

+Bad Wolf

The body of a sixteen-year-old girl washes up on a riverbank near Frankfurt one hot June day. She’s been brutally murdered and no one will come forward with any information regarding her identity.

Weeks pass and the police still can’t identify who she is. A new, more recent, case takes precedence. A popular TV reporter was raped and locked in the trunk of her own car.

She barely survives to provide the police with hints regarding her investigation into a child welfare organization and a child pornography ring with members from the highest echelons of society.

When the two cases collide, Pia and Oliver are summoned to dig beneath the veneer of Bourgeois society, finding a secret that will impact their personal lives and the lives of those around them.

Bad Wolf is the sixth novel in Nele Neuhaus’ series. However, because of the translation order, Bad wolf is only the second novel in Nele’s series to receive an English translation.

As such some readers might be flabbergasted by the gaps in information, especially with regards to Pia and Oliver, the protagonists of the story.

As has become Nele’s habit, Bad Wolf begins with several seemingly unrelated characters, cases, and incidents that slowly begin to merge. The cast is quite large, though not so large that readers will struggle to maintain a handle on the story.

Multiple story threads weave in and out of one another, with the novel initially feeling overcrowded but eventually rewarding the patience of its readers with a number of satisfying revelations, twists, and plots.

Bad Wolf is a pretty absorbing novel and the translation was done skillfully.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nele Neuhaus

3 Responses to “Nele Neuhaus”

  1. Brenda maxwell: 2 years ago

    Absorbing. I really enjoyed it.

  2. Bruce Estey: 3 years ago

    Will more of the series be translated for Kirchhoff Bodenstein followers?

  3. chloeross3: 6 years ago

    Just discovered Nele and in a short time have read them all. So well plotted, so down to earth, so they arei n my top ten. Waiting for her next one. She can write, she can plot and her characters become people you know very quickly.


Leave a Reply