Book Notification

Nicholas Meyer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nicholas Meyer Holmes Pastiches Books

The Seven-percent Solution (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
The West End Horror (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Canary Trainer (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventure of the Peculiar Protocols (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return of the Pharaoh (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sherlock Holmes and the Telegram from Hell (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Target Practice (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Orchid (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Confessions of a Homing Pigeon (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Nicholas Meyer Film Scripts Books

The Undiscovered Country (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Voyage Home (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The View From the Bridge: Memories of Star Trek and a Life in Hollywood (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nicholas Meyer is a popular American director, screenwriter, producer, and writer, who likes to write mystery and thriller novels. He is particularly famous for writing the bestselling book, The Seven-Per-Cent Solution. Over the years, he has indulged more in directing films than writing novels. Some of the well-known films directed by him include Time After Time, The Day After, Vendetta, and a couple of feature films of the Star Trek series. Meyer adapted his bestselling novel into a film of the same name in 1976 and was nominated for an Oscar Award in the category of the Best Adapted Screenplay. The other prestigious award nominations received by him include a Satellite Award and 3 Emmy Awards. Meyer has won the Saturn Award four times in his career.

In 2017, Meyer appeared in the spin-off series called The Trial as himself, where he testified about San Francisco and Star Trek. Author Meyer was born on November 14, 1945, in New York City, New York. His parents were Jewish. Meyer’s father, Bernard Constant Meyer, was a psychoanalyst from Manhattan; while his mother, Elly Kassman, was a concert pianist. He completed his graduation from Iowa University and obtained a degree in filmmaking and theater. Author Meyer gained the attention of the public for the first time in 1974 for his Sherlock Holmes book called The Seven Percent Solution. In this book, he has shown Sherlock Holmes confronting his addiction to cocaine, with the assistance of Sigmund Freud.

Following the worldwide success of the novel, Meyer penned 3 more Sherlock Holmes novels and published them in the subsequent years. The last book was published as recently as 2019. In 1976, Meyer adapted his first Sherlock Holmes book into a movie and also wrote its screenplay. Herbert Ross was the director of the movie and lead roles were portrayed by the actors Nicol Willamson, Laurence Olivier, Robert Duvall, and Alan Arkin. When Meyer came to know that his college friend, Karl Alexander, is writing the book, Time After Time, he was so intrigued by its story that he asked his friend to let him make a film on it. At that time, the book Karl Alexander was still writing the book. Meyer put the book up for adaptation with the condition that he will be the director.

Warner Bros. bought the rights and allowed Meyer to have his directorial debut. Meyer gave full freedom to Karl Alexander to use his screenplay to finish the remaining part of his novel. The film and the novel were released around the same time. The movie starred Mary Steenburgen, David Warner, and Malcolm McDowell in the main roles. In the subsequent years, Meyer directed and wrote the screenplay for many other films, mini-series, TV series, and theatrical films. He has spent 5 decades working in the filmmaking and novel writing fields. The highlight of his writing career is his debut novel that has sold over 2 million copies across the globe. It had stayed on the bestseller list of the NY Times for 40 weeks and won the prestigious British CWA and Gold Dagger awards. Other prominent awards that he has been nominated for include Edgar Award. Meyer is quite satisfied with the amount of success he has achieved in his career and is hopeful of coming up with many more interesting novels in the coming years.

A popular book written by author Nicholas Meyer is entitled ‘Confessions of a Homing Pigeon’. It was released by Dial Press in 1981. The central characters mentioned in this novel include George Bernini, Uncle Fritz, Aunt Susan, and several others. Meyer has set this book in Paris and Chicago. The book opens by introducing George Bernini as the 5-year-old son of the famous Flying Bernini’s Ringling Brothers Circus. After the death of his parents in a tragic trapeze accident, his eccentric Uncle Fritz takes him as his ward. George follows in the wake of his uncle as he grows up and gets exposed to an expatriate, self-styled musician’s footloose existence at a young age. George studies and lives in Paris in the 1950s. He drinks excessively, visits local bordellos frequently, enjoys the cafe society, and adopts a carefree approach towards life.

When the educational deficiencies of George Bernini and the lifestyle of Uncle Fritz are discovered by the conventional members of the family, a custody suit is filed. As a result, George Bernini is sent to live in the traditional family environment with Aunt Susan in Chicago. While in Chicago, George studies at the Marcus Leader Progressive School and does everything that his family asks him to do. When he turns 14, George runs away from his home to join Uncle Fritz. He feels that living in Chicago has far less enthusiasm and appeal. George also feels that Chicago is rather boring as compared to Paris. This novel gives a poignant description of childhood and adolescence and is very well depicted through the unique writing style of author Meyer.

Another mind-blowing book penned by Nicholas Meyer is known as ‘Black Orchid’. It was published in 1978 by the Bantam Books. Meyer has shown the lead characters in this book in the form of Harry Kincaid, Dolores, and a few others. He has set the plot in London, Shanghai, Mississippi, and Amazon. Initially, it is mentioned that Harry Kincaid is a travel-sworn fortune soldier. He is used to getting port calls at exotic locations and has visited Victorian London’s drawing rooms, Shanghai’s opium dens, and Mississippi’s wild saloons multiple times. But, when he comes to Manaus, he gets mesmerized by the decadence and the splendor of the city. This city is located a thousand miles up the Amazon river and deep inside the deadly jungle of the rainforest.

The magical city boasts fabulous mansions, billionaires citizens, prostitutes having diamond-studded teeth, and flourishing business of rubber. Harry Kincaid arrives in Manaus as an adventurer on an important mission. No one can stop him from doing what he has come to do in the mesmerizing city, except the beautiful daughter of the most powerful and wealthy family of the city, Dolores. She starts loving Harry Kincaid, but makes up her mind to betray him after learning about his mission.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nicholas Meyer

Leave a Reply