Nicholas Petrie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Peter Ash Books

The Drifter (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Burning Bright (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Light It Up (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tear It Down (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Wild One (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Breaker (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Runaway (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Nicholas Petrie is the author of the “Peter Ash” series. Not only has the Peter Ash character been compared to Jack Reacher, but author Lee Child has even given it the seal of approval. Child said of Peter Ash “Lots of characters get compared to my own Jack Reacher, but Petrie’s Peter Ash is the real deal.” If you’re a fan of Jack Reacher – stop what you’re doing now and try out The Drifter. This isn’t just any novel – it was nominated for an Edgar Award AND a Barry award for the “best first novel”. If you’d like to hear more about the author of the series, read on…

Author Nicholas Petrie is a crime suspense thriller writer who has previously worked as a building inspector, a remodeling contractor, and carpenter. Petrie, besides writing fiction, still inspects homes. He got his MFA in fiction from University of Washington. Petrie is both a husband and a father and lives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. His first break as a writer came in high school, after enjoying reading books for a long time. It started with him working on the school’s newspaper. And by the time he was a senior, he was writing a sarcastic soap opera that had eight parts and was set in the halls of the school.

His first novel, “The Drifter” was nominated for an Edgar and a Barry for best first novel, and a Hammett Prize for Best Novel. His story called “At the Laundromat” won the Short Story Contest in The Seattle Review (which is a national literary journal). He was given a Hopwood Award for short fiction while at the University of Michigan as an undergrad. Despite being the fourth novel Petrie wrote, “The Drifter” was the first that he got published.

The first novel he wrote starred a roofer from Wisconsin that was having family problems; he wrote the short book in his twenties. The first three failed to get published, with each one getting closer and closer to getting published. The first one failed to get him a literary agent to represent him. The second, the agent he did find, could not find a home for the book. And by the third, most publishing houses were not buying new books (due to the economic crash that happened in 2008).

This made him quit writing for some time, he remodeled his kitchen and sulked some. And then his wife told him he is a bit of a pain in the butt to be around when he is not writing anything. While he wrote the book, a lot of the economic problems and veterans coming back from the war swirled around in his head. It was here that he started to put this into the novel that he started working on.

The novel came to life, he says while he was researching the book by talking to veterans; he got to see both the challenges that they had faced and were continuing to face years later. A hot shot agent (that he contacted with his third novel) remembered who he was and brought the book to an editor at Putnam. Both the agent and editor loved the book, the latter championing it. “The Drifter” is the first novel in the “Peter Ash” series and was released in the year 2016.

Peter Ash came back from the wars in both Afghanistan and Iraq with only one thing for his trouble (something that he calls “white static”, a buzzing claustrophobia). It is because of the static that he roams in nature and sleeps beneath the stars for a year. Peter returns to civilization, after a Marine buddy kills himself, to help the man’s widow fix up her house. He finds a very mean and ugly and large dog under the ruined porch.

Not to mention, a suitcase full of cash and explosives. He finds himself at the center of a large plot, as he looks into things. It is a lot bigger than he ever thought it could be, and it might take him back to the place that he thought he had left a long long time ago. Fans of the novel found that there is quite a bit of suspense and thrills to be had, and it has a compelling hero from a fresh voice in the genre of crime fiction.

The characters here are great, and the story hangs together all the way through the novel. There are some little things that Petrie built into the story that really added to things, making the novel feel even more real. Even Lee Child (who writes the “Jack Reacher” series) has praised the book. “Burning Bright” is the second novel in the “Peter Ash” series and was released in the year 2017. Peter Ash was looking for quiet and peace in the redwoods of northern California.

Things are not as he wanted them to be, and do not balm his wounds much. Dense forest, close fog make his claustrophobia to act up on him, and finds a grizzly that was supposed to have left this part of the country. He does not like his odds in the fight, so he makes his way up a tree. Peter sees something very strange, a climbing rope, and this rope leads to some more; these end at a hanging platform. On said platform, he sees a woman who is on the run.

From the men that are shooting at them from down below. Days ago, June Cassidy (who is an investigative journalist) got away from the men, who are still hunting her and kidnapped her. June believes that they are after something that her mother owned. She was a big deal in the software designing business and she died in an accident a short time ago. She needs to figure out what is going on, but for that, she needs time. June also needs someone with Peter’s skills.

They stay one step ahead of these men, and try to put the pieces together as fast as they can. It leads them to a reclusive eccentric, an extraordinary tool that might just change things in the modern world until the end of time, and a pseudo-military organization that is shadowy.

Fans of the novel found that this is another taut plotted, full of action novel. It has well drawn characters. Like Petrie, he is sensitive, loyal and holds true to his word; he will also kick the butts that need to be kicked and take the proper names. There are a lot of details for the reader to process as they read, so get ready to take your imagination on a thrill ride and put it to work. This here novel far exceeded expectations and was better than the first book in this series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nicholas Petrie

2 Responses to “Nicholas Petrie”

  1. Marie Fearne: 6 months ago

    Brilliant books! Lots of action, like Jack Reacher, but then again, different. Well written, keeps one locked in to the story – and all very relevant, No padding like some stories. Thank you for introducing them to me. Marie

    • Graeme: 6 months ago

      You are welcome 🙂


Leave a Reply