Nick Cutter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Fighter (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cataract City (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Troop (As:Nick Cutter) (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Deep (As:Nick Cutter) (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Acolyte (As:Nick Cutter) (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Little Heaven (As:Nick Cutter) (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Saturday Night Ghost Club (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Mean Utility (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Monsters (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Rust and Bone (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sarah Court (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cascade (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Precious Cargo (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

The New Black(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Various personalities act and react in differently when they make it big. On the one hand, they are those that get carried away by the fame associated with career success. On the other hand, they are those that, despite the success, maintain a low profile or, better still, eschew the fame. Novelist Nick Cutter is in the latter category, at least on face value. Meet Nick Cutter.

Nick Cutter, who is a notable Canadian national, is a penman with several standalone books, collections, novellas, non-fiction work, and short stories to his credit. Cutter is a novelist and doubles up as a short story writer. Cutter, who has been writing since mid-2000s, is a boxer and fighting scenarios often appear in his work. Did you know that the name Nick Cutter is merely a pen name? What’s more, Cutter has also authored literary work under the pen name Patrick Lestewka.

Nick Cutter, whose birth name is Craig Davidson, was born in 1976 and his is a quadragenarian. Cutter’s birthplace is Toronto upon Ontario, located in Canada. Cutter spent his formative years in Calgary and part of his teenage life in St. Catherines wherein he frequented Niagara Falls. Cutter is presently a Toronto resident. Incidentally, Nick Cutter considered writing under the pseudonym Lemondrop Pennyfeather but his literary agent dissuaded him. The literary agent suggested the pen name Nick Cutter instead. While we are at it, it is an open secret that Nick Cutter and Craig Davidson refer to one person. Nevertheless, the Canadian publishing industry is secretive about Cutter’s real identity, apparently because it is a marketing strategy. What’s more, Cutter once vehemently denied the relation, though many people have since joined the dots.

Nick Cutter, who has co-authored literary work with American author Edward Lee, has been liked to American journalist and novelist-cum-essayist Charles Michael Palahniuk. Cutter’s articles have appeared in various publications, both dailies and magazines, including ChiZine. Cutter opines that he was influenced by the usual things, chiefly alcohol. On a serious note, authors that influenced Cutter include: American penwoman Suzanne Collins, specifically her 2008 book titled The Hunger Games; English writer William Golding, particularly his 1954 novel entitled Lord of the Flies; and Japanese author Koushun Takami, notably his 1999 book entitled Battle Royale.

Section on Books
To labor the point, Nick Cutter writes under various names. As such, there are varying dates when he debuted under the respective names. Writing under the controversial real name Craig Davidson, Nick Cutter debuted in 2007 and his debut novel was titled The Fighter. Under the pen name Patrick Lestewka, Cutter debuted in 2004. However, writing under the pseudonym Nick Cutter, he debuted recently. There are about 23 editions of Nick Cutter’s first book. Even then the first book was initially published in early 2014, titled The Troop, and this standalone debut novel is shelved under the fiction, science fiction, thriller, and horror genres.

Tim Riggs is the featured main character in the 2014 book authored by Nick Cutter. Meet protagonist Tim Riggs: he is a scoutmaster, single man, and medical practitioner. He conducts survivalism-oriented days-long scouting expeditions each year, targeting people aged fourteen.

The watershed moment in Nick Cutter’s debut book, The Troop, is a gaunt gatecrasher who intrudes into Tim Riggs-led camping trip. Worse still, the gatecrasher is carrying a contagious biological hazard with him and poses a threat to the campers. The flurry of self-prevention makes it a horrific, suspenseful, and fun-filled book that bagged the James Herbert Award.

Nick Cutter Awards
Nick Cutter has clinched and been nominated for literary prizes over the years. For instance, in 2015, Cutter clinched the James Herbert Award, thanks to his 2014 book The Troop. In 2014, Nick Cutter was nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award, in the Horror category, courtesy of the said book. In 2015, Cutter was nominated for the Sunburst Award in the Adult category, thanks to the aforementioned book.

In 2015, Nick Cutter was nominated again for the Goodreads Choice Award, in the Horror category too, albeit for his 2015 book titled The Deep. In 2006, Nick Cutter was nominated for the Danuta Gleed Literary Award, thanks to his short story collection titled Rust and Bone; the said collection was a finalist. In 2013, Nick Cutter was nominated for the Hammett Prize; also in 2013, Cutter was nominated for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. In both cases, it was courtesy of his 2013 book entitled Cataract City.

Nick Cutter Books into Films
Nick Cutter’s collection of stories, titled Rust and Bone, has since been adapted for the big screen. Jacques Audiard is the director of the romantic film which was produced in 2012. The starring is actress Marion Cotillard, who appears as Stephanie, and Mathias Schoenaerts who acts as Ali.

Best Nick Cutter Books
The following are the best books penned by Nick Cutter. The first one is the aforementioned The Troop. The second one is the prize-nominated book titled Cataract City. This features two childhood friends turned foes, whose quest for survival amid social problems drives a wedge between their long-lasting close friendship.

The third one is called The Deep. The title denotes the location of a deep-sea laboratory set up hard on the heels of a bizarre plague that spells doom for civilization. The plague affects people both psychologically and physiologically. The facility is mandated to research on the alleged healing properties of a hitherto undiscovered so-called universal cure. Communication between the deep-sea lab and land-based correspondents is lost, prompting a daring duo to head for the lab on a scary troubleshooting mission.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked the books authored by Nick Cutter also liked the following series of books. The first is called The Dog-Faced Gods series, authored by Sarah Pinborough. This trilogy features protagonist Cass Jones, a detective inspector, whose scope of investigations ranges from suicide to serial killings to a deadly worldwide financial crisis.

The second is named The Roger Huntington Saga series, authored by Ryan C. Thomas. Also a trilogy, it features protagonist Roger Huntington who is angling for avenging himself on a perverted serial murderer that scarred him forever. The third is called West of Hell, authored by Jason Brant. Mad Dog McCall and Karen are the featured protagonists. McCall and Karen, an outlaw and a prostitute, respectively, are angling for self-preservation against cannibals.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Nick Cutter

Leave a Reply

No Responses to “Nick Cutter”