Nick Petrie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Peter Ash Books

The Drifter (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Burning Bright (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Light It Up (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tear It Down (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Wild One (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Breaker (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Runaway (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Nick Petrie is a popular author best known for Peter Ash, a series of books whose protagonist has been compared to Jack Reacher.


Nick Petrie showed all the signs of publishing greatness at a relatively early age. And it wasn’t just his MFA in Fiction writing from the University of Washington that got people talking.

There was also the short story he wrote as an undergraduate at the University of Michigan that saw him win a Hopwood Award. Then there’s ‘The Laundromat’, a short story he wrote in 2006 and which won him a Seattle Review Short Story contest.

The author has since been nominated for an Edgar Award, Barry Awards and a Hammett Prize, feats that have further cemented his place in the literary arena. A father and a husband, Nick Petrie has always been good with his hands.

When he wasn’t roofing, he was doing carpenter work and even carving out a career for himself as a remodeling contractor.

The author got into the remodeling contracting business because of its tangibility. Unlike his work as an author, Petrie’s efforts as a carpenter and a contractor allowed him to see the results of his work on a regular basis.

Each new week brought a whole slew of new accomplishments that he could look at and admire. And it always gave Petrie great joy to see the work of his hands produce drastic change.

Eventually, Petrie became a home inspector and, while that work wasn’t as transformative, he found that he enjoyed the opportunity to interact with all manner of individuals.

The author’s inspiration for his first book was ignited during his time as a home inspector.

+Literary Career

Before he wrote novels, Nick Petrie was a reader. Writing did not come into the picture until high school. Petrie started out writing for the school newspaper. Over time, he produced a multi-part soap opera that used the school hallways as a setting.

Nick Petrie knew he was meant to write for a living when the people who read his stories kept stopping him at school and telling him how much they liked his work. There was a sense of exhilaration that followed each compliment which Petrie began to obsess over.

The author spent more than two decades writing before he got his big break in publishing. ‘The Drifter’ is the first novel Petrie ever published. It was released in 2016. However, ‘The Drifter’ is not the first novel Nick Petrie ever wrote.

Petrie will be the first to tell you that his first ever written novel was not good. In fact, he couldn’t even find an agent willing to give his work a shot. Fortunately for Petrie, he did not dwell on that failure, instead choosing to move on to a second novel.

That one got him an agent but her best efforts to find the book a home ended in utter failure. Again, rather than dwelling on the defeat, Petrie moved forward with a third novel.

Once more, he elicited the interest of an agent. The New York hotshot actually got a few publishing houses to look Nick Petrie’s way. But again, failure reared its ugly head. However, that time it wasn’t Petrie’s fault.

It was bad luck that he chose to go shopping for a publisher in 2008. That was the year the economy crashed. Most Publishing houses were willing to move forward with books they have committed to, but they wouldn’t buy new ones.

This time, Petrie let the defeat wear him down. He gave up and even stopped writing for a while, instead focusing his efforts on his remodeling work. Petrie wasn’t the most appealing of companions during that time, and his wife told him that his moods wouldn’t lift until he started another writing project.

The author relented and went back to his writing. Petrie was working as a home inspector at the time. His work allowed him to talk to many interesting people.

One day, the author took note of the fact that so many of his clients were veterans who had fought in the Afghanistan and Iraq wars. A number of them just wanted to buy a house and settle down after coming home.

When Petrie began asking questions, what he learned about the plight of these veterans intrigued him. After a little more research, the character of Peter Ash began to take shape in his mind.

Ash is a war veteran who basically wanders the country righting wrongs. Petrie did not mean for veterans and war to feature so heavily in his first book. But that is what happened. Petrie’s friends and clients loved this book because it looked at the lives of veterans and the manner in which those closest to them were affected by their shattered lives once they came back home.

The author was happy to know that he had not only written an entertaining tale but that his book actually had the capacity to touch lives. Nick Petrie has since written several sequels to ‘The Drifter’.

He still cannot believe that the fourth book he ever wrote got published by Putnam. The author imputes his success to hard work, perseverance, and pure luck.

+The Drifter

With Iraq and Afghanistan finally behind him, Peter Ash comes home determined to forget the wars. But Ash’s PTSD won’t let him settle down. So he spends a few months just roaming the country and enjoying the wonders of nature.

Ash is forced to return to civilization when a friend of his commits suicide. Ash initially just wants to help the Marine’s widow make a few home repairs. But then he finds a case of cash and explosives under the porch that drags him into a sinister plot.

+Burning Bright

Peter Ash is a war veteran looking for peace in the Northern California redwoods. However, the dense forest and the fog do not favor his claustrophobia. Things only get worse when Ash encounters a grizzly and makes a hasty retreat up a sapling.

The undertaking reveals a climbing rope to Ash which he follows to a hanging platform, a woman on the run and men with guns.

June Cassidy escaped an attempted kidnapping. She thinks her determined kidnappers want something that belonged to her mother. She will need Peter Ash’s skills to stay ahead of her pursuers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nick Petrie

Leave a Reply