Book Notification

Nicki Thornton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Howling Hag Inn Books

The Howling Hag Mystery (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Poisoned Pie Mystery (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Seth Seppi Mystery Books

The Last Chance Hotel (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Luck Lighthouse (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cut-Throat Cafe (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nicki Thornton is a published author.

In addition to writing, she also sold books and ran a bookshop for over a decade along with her husband Mark. To this day she continues to reside in Oxfordshire. She has a huge passion for books, book shops, and anything that is celebrating reading. She enjoyed the alchemy resulting from bringing together readers with authors. She enjoyed hearing from kids about books that they love (as well from her sons) and this is what first inspired her to try and write.

The book shop was called Mostly Books. It was located in Abingdon, Oxfordshire. Her husband is just as excited about books as she is. They would organize an events program that helped to bring writers and published authors to town. They also helped bring some to local schools to help inspire others to read. She loved talking to customers about books as a book seller and thinks that diversity in publishing is needed so that kids can find stories that they enjoy. Nicki enjoyed making a difference when it comes to others finding their love of reading.

Nicki always had dreams of seeing her own name in print. In 2018, her murder mystery novel The Last Chance Hotel was published. It had won a competition in 2016 from the Times and Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition. It was a best seller around the world and ended up being translated into over a dozen languages and counting.

The book also was picked to be a book of the month in October of 2018 by Waterstones. In 2019 it the Ealing Junior Book Award. It also earned her a nomination for the Carnegie Medal, made the short list for CrimeFest that year when it comes to best children’s crime novel. It made the short list as well for the Warwickshire Junior Book Award and Oxfordshire Book Award. The novel made the long list in 2018 for the Specsavers National Book Awards. The book is described as being both haunted and funny.

The author regularly writes a Mystery Journal that is focused on crime fiction written for younger readers. When she was growing up, some of her favorite writers were Roald Dahl, Agatha Christie, Enid Blyton, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, and Daphne du Maurier. Some of her favorite children’s books were titles like The Phantom Tollbooth and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. She still loves books written for children, such as the Lockwood & Co series, the Skulduggery Pleasant series, and the Harry Potter series, of which she is a big fan.

Nicki likes reading mystery stories the best of all but doesn’t mind when the books are about magic. She thinks that great books have mystery in them. In fact, murder mysteries are part of what spurred her to keep on reading while a child and a teenager. She found authors like Agatha Christie to read and then just kept on reading them. She also discovered that she’d like to write a murder mystery story for children in today’s world, an idea that is more difficult to pull off than one might think. She’s even scrapped some mysteries that she wrote for young readers because they ended up too dark. However, she eventually found inspiration in writing stories that take place in a world full of magic, which made them more fun.

She enjoys inspiring kids to find their own love of reading books. She herself has always loved reading and has not been able to recall a time in her life where she wasn’t currently engaged in reading a book. The author loves reading for many reasons. One reason is that it’s great for your imagination and seeing other lives. She describes reading as rocket fuel to give to your imagination, taking you places that readers can ‘only dream of’. They also can teach you how you want to be. She likes that stories are always ready and waiting for a reader to get back into them and can be read at any pace. Nicki thinks reading is enjoyable, fun, and a good escape. Being a good reader can also contribute to being a good writer as well.

Nicki Thornton is the creator and author of the Seth Seppi Mystery series of fictional novels. The series first started in 2018 with the publication of the debut novel in the series, The Last Chance Hotel. The second installment would be published in 2019. The sequel is titled The Bad Luck Lighthouse. The third book came out in 2020 and is titled The Cut-Throat Cafe. The Last Chance Hotel was named one of the best books of the year by The Telegraph, The Sunday Times, and The Observer.

The Last Chance Hotel is the first novel in the Seth Seppi mystery series by Nicki Thornton. In this story readers get to meet the main character of Seth for the first time.

He works at the Last Chance Hotel as the kitchen boy. The Bunn family owns the hotel and they are not that friendly at all. The only pal he has in the world at that place is Nightshade, the black cat he keeps as a pet.

One day some guests come. The magicians arrive to have dinner there. But a special dessert prepared by Seth somehow has gone wrong. Dr. Thallomius ends up being poisoned by it.

A murder investigation begins with all the rooms locked. Naturally, Seth is the one that everyone has their eye on. But he can’t be the only suspect because he knows that he didn’t do it!

It’s up to Seth to try and clear himself of any wrong doing. Can he prove that when it comes to this mystery, he’s innocent? Will magic get in the way of the truth? Read this mystery to find out!

The Bad Luck Lighthouse is the second installment of the Seth Seppi series. With the first book, Seth had an important mystery to solve at his hotel.

He had plenty of incentive to do it. But in the process, he discovered a magical world. Now he and his cat are starting to get involved in another case. The MagiCon case is an investigation into murder at an abandoned lighthouse. Are they in over their heads? Or ready to crack another case? Find out by reading this lively sequel!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nicki Thornton

Leave a Reply