Book Notification

Nicky Charles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hearts and Halos Books

with Jan Gordon

Publication Order of Law Of The Lycans Books

The Mating (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Keeping (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Finding (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bonded (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Betrayed: Days of the Rogue (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Betrayed: Book Two - The Road to Redemption (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
For the Good of All (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deceit Can Be Deadly (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kane (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kane presents Kane’s viewpoint on the first Law of the Lycans novel, The Mating.

Chronological Order of Law Of The Lycans Books

Bonded(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kane(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Keeping(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Finding(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Betrayed: Days of the Rogue(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Betrayed: Book Two - The Road to Redemption(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
For the Good of All(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deceit Can Be Deadly(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mating(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Forever in Time (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nicky Charles is a Canadian writer known for writing books in the Suspense, Romance, and Fantasy genres. Much of her works are independently published and is an immensely popular author at Smashwords. In Apple’s iBookstore, her paranormal romance stories have received numerous high ratings and can be downloaded by users with no cost at all. This is one of the reasons why Charles is endearing to her fans, as she writes for the sake of writing alone and encourages those who want to support her financially to give it to charity instead. Each of the books in her most famous series, “Law of the Lycans”, has received a solid average rating of four stars and above out of five in Goodreads.

Nicky Charles has lived most of her life in Canada. This heritage is evident in her writing style, as she has confessed that she tends to use Canadian punctuations and spellings in her books, as a way of showing pride for her country. What sparked her enthusiasm for story-telling and, inevitably, her writing career is a fanfiction that she wrote in 2009 for “Scarecrow and Mrs. King”, a TV series. She said in an interview that what spurred her to write the said piece is the lack of more episodes of the TV show for her to watch. It is while being a member of the said show’s fan group that she made the acquaintance of Jan Gordon, the person primarily responsible for the start of her writing career. It is not long afterward that she was convinced by Gordon to write her own original stories, the first of which is romantic suspense novel titled “Forever in Time”.

In 2010, she was able to publish the first book that is included in her “Law of the Lycans” series, The Mating. Because of the evident popularity of the book, it did not take long for her to publish The Keeping and The Finding, which are parts of the said series as well. This triumvirate of novels was what served as the strong foundation of the “Law of the Lycans” series, which has since been developed and expanded by the author.

With regards to the factors that she considers most important to a story, she is known to treat every scene in her stories similar to a movie. She believes that the writer should not solely focus on the plot and characters as she believes the setting (what is immediately ‘palpable’ to the reader once he reads the passage – like sights, sounds, and various other sensations) should be given equal importance and described in greater detail as well. She also believes that what makes a story great is how its characters are able to grab the empathy and imagination of the reader.

She has revealed in an interview that the reason why most of her stories have a happy ending is because she has a tendency to write what she likes to read. And, as is evident in her popular series, she has a penchant to write about werewolves – a preference that was also inspired by Jan Gordon, who, on the other hand, writes about panthers in her works. Most of her stories feature ‘steamy’ and sexy romance passages and scenes.

Nicky Charles does most of her writing during her off-duty hours, as she is working on a full-time job. When not writing, she likes to travel and discover unfrequented places. She is also an animal lover (she has a fondness for cats) and an ardent supporter of nature preservation, animal shelters, and a lot of other charities. She lists Cherise Sinclair, Elizabeth Peters, and S.C. Stephens as her favorite writers.

The Mating

Although The Mating is considered as the third book of the “Law of the Lycans” series if the chronology of its narrative is to be followed, it is actually the first story that Nicky Charles wrote that basically began the series. Charles herself said that she initially didn’t intend to write a series, as publishing The Mating was essentially her way of ‘testing the waters’ of online readership. When she found out that she still has a lot of materials to work with after finishing The Mating, and not to mention the amount of praises showered on it by its readers, only then did she acknowledge its potential to develop into a series.

The Mating centers on Elise, a member of a werewolf pack, whose leader (Alpha) is her father. Much like medieval customs of old. it is a tradition among werewolves for a mating between two important werewolves from different packs to occur in order to form and solidify alliances. Elise, being her father’s daughter, has no choice but to abandon her supposed mate, Bryan, for Kane, the Alpha of the other pack.

It is because of this that their relationship doesn’t start off well, but it doesn’t take long for them to warm up to each other. Their budding romance is threatened by the arrival of a powerful female shifter, however, who would stop at nothing to get back her supposed mate, Kane. Can Elise maintain her right to be Kane’s mate and save her pack from the danger that it suddenly faces?

The Keeping

The Keeping follows Ryne Taylor, a werewolf/photographer that was introduced in The Mating as Kane’s brother. In the start of The Keeping, it is revealed that he is intent on establishing a pack of his own. Melody Greene, a rather amateurish journalist, is sent to interview him to learn more about the ways of werewolves. Ryne is immediately smitten by Ms. Greene due in part to his wolfish nature – an urge that he tries to hide as much as possible. Ryne is reluctant to reveal the secrets of his kind, however, so he does his best delay Mel’s interview as long as possible.

Little do they know that this would serve as a catalyst that would set in motion the enactment of an old rule among werewolves known only as The Keeping, which if a werewolf fails to adhere to could prove to be deadly. What are the other consequences do the breaking of this ancient law entail? And can Ryne find a way to save his lupine hide and pack from it?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nicky Charles

Leave a Reply