Book Notification

Nicky Pellegrino Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Delicious (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gypsy Tearoom / Summer At The Villa Rosa (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Italian Wedding (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Recipe for Life (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Villa Girls (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
When in Rome (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Food of Love Cookery School (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Summer in Venice (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under Italian Skies (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Year at Hotel Gondola (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dream of Italy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tiny Pieces of Us (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Italy, With Love (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
P.S. Come to Italy (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer at the Villa Rosa (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marry Me in Italy (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Don't Sweat It (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nicky Pellegrino is an accomplished English author.

The author was born in 1964 close to Liverpool, England, where she grew up. She may have been born in Liverpool but would spend summers during her childhood in southern Italy, staying with her family. She was a tall and shy child with ginger hair that never quite fit in with her outgoing Italian cousins and she would more keep to herself and just take things in. Writing fiction for the first time made her memories of those Italian summers come all the way back and give a certain flavor to her own stories and incorporated all of the food, passion, and more that Italy makes her think of.

She has a mother who is English and her father is Italian. Nicky attended the University of Lancaster, graduating with her English BA Honors degree. Once she had graduated, the author decided that it was time to go to London. There she wrote for a variety of entertainment and women’s magazines. She went to Auckland in 1995, becoming deputy editor and later the editor of New Zealand Woman’s Weekly. Previously the author had been a bridal magazine editor as well as the books editor for seven years for the Herald on Sunday newspaper. She has written articles for Food Magazine, Next Magazine, NZ Gardener, and the New Zealand Listener, as well as penning a book column regularly for the New Zealand Woman’s Weekly.

The author would start her first novel in 2001. That is roughly the same time that a close friend was found to have a brain tumor. The scenario moved the writer to act on her dream to write a novel, and she wrote her first fictional novel Delicious at the same time that she helped her friend to write her autobiography.

As for how she met her future spouse, that’s a story of chance. The author was in New Zealand on holiday years ago and it was through chance that she met Carne Bidwill, her future husband, while attending a wedding. The two are now married and live in Auckland together close to the beach with their dogs, Charlie the poodle and Lucy the pointer.

The author predictably spends a good amount of time writing her own novels. She also pays the bills as a freelance journalist. She has two horses and she also likes riding them in her spare time as well as tending to her garden, growing the vegetables, cooking, attempting to get others to cook for her, reading, and eating. She says that with all of that taken into account there are not always hours available for other things like housework.

Pellegrino names Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird as her favorite book. The book that she liked most in 2013 was Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life. Today her novels have been translated into many different languages and can be found in New Zealand, Australia, and the United Kingdom. Her favorite things include drinking red wine, cooking, walking on the beach in New Zealand, going through the forest on her horse and reading other people’s novels while lying in bed.

Her first book to come out was Angela: A Wonderful Life!. The novel was co-authored with Angela D’Audney and came out from Penguin in 2001. Her own first novel written entirely solo was Delicious, which was released in 2005 from Orion Books. Since then she has gone on to write several more novels and gain acclaim and success.

Delicious is the debut fictional novel from Nicky Pellegrino. If you love Italy or just getting whisked away in your mind to new locations, take a vacation and read this book!

Main character Maria Carozza is just sixteen years old and experiencing everything that comes along with it. She lives in San Giulio, a small and pretty village in Italy. There she can often be found in her mother’s kitchen, especially in the mornings as every day she bakes bread. This is what the women of this area in her family have done for a long time.

Maria is over the routine of her daily life and wants to have an adventure and see somewhere different. That is how she ends up in Rome, a place where she unexpectedly stumbles into an affair of love that is filled with passion. The one thing that she did not count on was something coming of that affair.

A short time later, Maria finds herself pregnant. She goes back to San Giulio one year later, and she is eight months with child. No one knows who the father of the baby is. Quickly, the family hatches a plan and she gets married to the son of a neighbor.

But Maria quickly makes a getaway once more to England, taking her daughter with her and hoping that they can start a new life. With Chiara by her side, this is the story of different generations of women in the same Italian family and the kitchen that they all know so well. What will happen to Maria and her child? Read this book to find out!

Summer at the Villa Rosa is the second novel to be released from Nicky Pellegrino. It was first released for readers to enjoy in 2007. If you are interested in the story of a young woman searching in a small village in Italy for happiness, this is the book for you!

Main character Raffaella Moretti is a stunning girl. In the town of Triento in southern Italy, she could very well be said to be the most gorgeous girl there. She is also on the verge of getting married to the only guy she’s ever truly loved, and her life appears to stretch out before her with nothing but blessings waiting for her.

She did not anticipate being a young widow just one year after getting married. The beautiful woman must take work in Villa Rosa as the housekeeper, for an American employer that will be in Triento temporarily working.

Looking for happiness, Raffaella also wants to find ways that she can help others around her find it too. As she meets more people around the village, she finds that they are all dealing with something. However, will she end up being pulled into something that could ruin everything? Read this interesting book for yourself to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nicky Pellegrino

Leave a Reply