Book Notification

Nicola Upson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Josephine Tey Books

An Expert in Murder (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angel with Two Faces (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two for Sorrow (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fear in the Sunlight (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of Lucy Kyte (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
London Rain (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nine Lessons (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sorry for the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets of Winter / Dead of Winter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dear Little Corpses (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shot With Crimson (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Stanley and Elsie (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nicola Upson was born in a lovely part of England, best known for its history, meaning Suffolk. She always had a passion for reading and books, which she later decide to explore by enrolling for English studies at Downing College, at Cambridge. She stood out as one of their best students and went on to pursue her career as a writer. With an unstoppable force, she quickly produced her first novel, for which she was rewarded with an award from the England Council of Art. Her career had just started and soon her name would be on the lips of everyone, not just in England, but in other parts of the world as well.

Her first novel appeared in 2006 and it was entitled ‘An Expert in Murder’. With a suggestive title, Nicola Upson made her debut in the world of crime fiction and managed to meet the expectations of all those around her. With her first novel, she introduced crime detective writer, Josephine Tey and made sure everyone understood how important this character was. She continued to release books in the same series, with Josephine Tey remaining her main fictional character. Two years after her debut, in 2008, Faber Publishing released her first novel and praised her unique talent. Nicola Upson was becoming a recognized author and she loved the attention.

The book was so successful that BBC Scotland decided to bring it on television. The production received promising reviews and it gave Nicola Upson a reason to pursue her career as a writer. She released three more books in the Josephine Tey series, meaning ‘Angels with Two Faces’, ‘Two for Sorrow’ and ‘Fear in the Sunlight’. All of these books have received positive reviews from some of the most feared critics out there and there were some major publications that have made their own reviews as well. ‘Fear in the Sunlight’, the novel Nicola Upson published in 2012, received an amazing review from Financial Times. Once again, Nicola Upson’s talent was recognized and for all the right reasons.

In 2013, Nicola Upson published the fifth book in the Josephine Tey series, entitled ‘The Death of Lucy Kyte’. By now, everyone was familiar with the detective writer Josephine Tey and, in truth, all the world waited to see what she would do next. For Nicola Upson, these series have been spectacular but they are not the only work she has produced. She has also published non-fiction books, among which ‘Mythologies: The Sculpture of Helaine Blumenfeld’ was received with great praise. It seems that, everywhere she goes, Nicola Upson has the opportunity to turn heads around.

Apart from her career as a writer, she has also worked in theater and experienced a little bit with freelance journalism. Because she loves crime fiction more than anything else, it should come as no surprise that she worked as a critic in that area for a period of time. Her passion for writing has been obvious in everything that she has done and this is one of the reasons why she has regularly appeared on radio. As a matter of fact, she has contributed to the programs of BBC Radio and readers are more than interested in listening to her on the radio.

In her personal life, Nicola Upson enjoys simple things and she likes to split her time between Cambridge and Cornwall. She lives together with her partner and she describes her favorite place of writing to be in her summer house, right in the garden. She spends a lot of time researching her books and declares herself to be have been influenced by the real Josephine Tey and Patricia Cornwell. She is currently making research for the sixth novel in the Josephine Tey series but she is also planning on writing a completely separate novel.

Nicola Upson’s first novel, ‘An Expert in Murder’, led to the creation of the fictional character we all know as Josephine Tey. In the first book, the crime detective writer travels to London to star in her famous play, ‘Richard of Bordeaux’. However, she gets caught in a murder mystery and makes her sole objective to unravel that mystery and get the killer. The plot of the book is more than interesting and this detective novel will certainly keep your adrenaline level where it should be.

In her second novel, ‘Angel with Two Faces’, we meet again with Josephine Tey and the already-famous Inspector Archie Penrose. This time, the crime writer is invited to spend some time at the Inspector’s house in Cornwall. The main purpose of the visit is to obtain inspiration for the second novel she is writing. As crime seems to follow this crime writer everywhere, it should come as no surprise that she becomes interested in recent death of a young man. They say it was a riding accident but she can smell a crime from afar. Once again, Josephine Tey will unravel the mystery of a crime.

Josephine Tey is the main fictional character in all of the detective novels Nicola Upson has written. Not many people know but Josephine Tey was actually the pseudonym Elizabeth Mackintosh used in real life. She was also a mystery novel writer and she was indeed a source of inspiration for Nicola Upson. Many of the elements regarding Josephine Tey in the books of Nicola Upson are inspired from the real life of Elizabeth Mackintosh; the writer declared it was a real challenge to transform such a powerful woman into a fictional character, while maintaining certain elements true.

Nicola Upson is the kind of writer who manages to capture the hearts of her readers in an instant. Her detective novels have sold real well and they have received more than positive reviews. The whole world is waiting, almost breathlessly, for her next work. Without any doubt, crime fiction writer Josephine Tey, still has a lot more things to show. As for Nicola Upson, her talent is only measured by her modesty. She is indeed one of the best British writers out there. The future is her and we, the readers, want to read more from Nicola Upson. Because when there is great talent, we also get inspiration by reading such beautiful works. And, no doubt, her new books are going to represent a pleasant surprise and the source of inspiration we are looking for.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nicola Upson

Leave a Reply