Book Notification

Niel Hancock Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Atlanton Earth Books

Greyfax Grimwald (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faragon Fairingay (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Calix Stay (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Squaring the Circle (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Wilderness of Four Books

Across the Far Mountain (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plains of the Sea (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Boundaries of Darkness (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to the Middle Islands (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Windameir Circle Books

The Fires of Windameir (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sea of Silence (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wanderer's Return (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bridge of Dawn (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Old Dime Box Stories (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Niel Hancock was a published American author. He is known for his fantasy writing, making the universe of Atlanton Earth, and being the author of the Circle of Light, Wilderness of Four, and Windameir series of novels.

Hancock was born on January 8, 1941. He began in the Texas Panhandle. He was present on the ground near Roswell, New Mexico when the Sky Riders went down just outside of it. It piqued his curiosity. When the Trinity Site saw the Atom Bomb touched off as a young boy, he was on the Road to the Sacred Mountain’s trail.

The author was surrounded by wilderness as he grew up, always searching to see if he could find clues to mysteries. He would attend university and then go on to spend some time in Europe. Hancock entered into the United States Army’s ranks in 1965. He was drafted and received basic and then advanced training. In July of 1967, he was assigned to a unit in Vietnam. He would serve right up until July 1968. That year, he would survive the Tet Offensive.

After participating in the war, Hancock decided to change things up. He would go to the Virgin Islands to spend some time there, then relocated to California. There he would hang with musicians until he found himself in the desert of Chihuahua. After having spent time using drugs and alcohol, thanks to leaving that and some friendships, Niel started to pursue the one thing he had always dreamed of doing, writing stories of what he had done and seen. He passed away May 7, 2011 in Deming, New Mexico.

Many of his books were out of print for years but then found a new life through Tor Books, which decided to have them reprinted. These included three different series of his books, each with four installments. They also republished Dragon Winter, his fictional stand alone novel that does not belong to the story line of the others but takes place in the same universe.

During his career, Hancock created high fantasy stories that were largely targeted towards adult readers but ended up becoming popular among younger readers too. This may be due in fact to including anthropomorphic animals that are usually a staple of children’s books as well as easy to understand plots.

Many of his books also incorporate motifs of Eastern religion and Buddhism that remind readers of J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis. His books were also unique at the time because high fantasy was of large interest among readers but there were not many fantasy books. The books have stood the test of time and still are popular years later, as evidenced by their reprinting.

Niel is well known for the Atlanton Earth setting that many of his novels are set in. They are similar to the Narnia books in that the books do not have a publication that matches the fantasy world’s events in chronological order. The Wilderness of Four takes place at the earliest time, while Circle of Light is set last in chronology. The Windameir Circle takes place some time in the middle, while Dragon Winter is after The Wilderness of Four.

Many of the author’s fantasy stories were made to include various Buddhist concepts regarding rebirth and cycles of time. While his stories have the mainstay of the fantasy quest, the plot often involves characters that are working to resolve their karma or escape samsara, a river of the Dhammapada. Familiarity with Eastern religion and Buddhism often benefits the reader in having insight into these inclusions, while not being necessary to read the stories or enjoy them.

Niel Hancock is the creator and the author of the Circle of Light series of fictional novels. This series first began in 1977 with the publication of the debut novel, Greyfax Grimwald. That was followed by the publication of the second novel, Faragon Fairingay. The third novel is titled Calix Stay, and the fourth makes it a quartet and is titled Squaring the Circle.

Greyfax Grimwald is the first novel in the Circle of Light series. This is where readers get introduced to the fictional fantasy world of Atlanton Earth for the first time.

Readers also get to meet three friends that go by the name of Otter, Dwarf, and Bear. The trio of friends have always been loyal to one another. Now they are put together again thanks to an enchanted summons. So it is that they say goodbye to their home, located in the Lorini kingdom, and go on a journey together.

They are traveling to reach the World Beyond Time, a place of fable. This is the location of the Circle of Light, which glows in its ageless beauty. On the way to make it there, Otter, Bear and Dwarf meet and make a lot of friends. This includes Greyfax Grimwald, a powerful wizard.

Even though they are doing well, the three friends have no idea of the risks that are waiting for them up ahead. First there is the Northerland, with its gloomy borders. Then there is the dangerous Palace of Darkness, and its green fires. There are also dark enchantments to contend with, along with malicious spells.

They’ll also have to deal with the Dark Queen, perhaps the scariest thing of all besides the city of Humans. Can the friends stick together and make it through, succeeding in their quest? Or will they find that the dangers of their journey is far too much for them? Read this enchanting fantasy novel to find out!

Faragon Fairingay is the second novel in the Circle of Light series of fictional novels by Niel Hancock. If you loved the first adventure, check out this novel for yourself!

Dwarf, Otter and Bear make a new friend in young warrior Faragon Fairingay. He joins them on their quest. The Lady of Light Lorini has requested that they go to Lower Earth. So it is that they take their quest on, looking for the Arkenchest and its Five Secrets.

This is going to be a tough challenge. Can the friends make it to the Arkenchest unharmed? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Niel Hancock

Leave a Reply