Book Notification

Nightside Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nightside Books

Something from the Nightside (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Agents of Light and Darkness (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightingale's Lament (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hex and the City (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paths Not Taken (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sharper Than a Serpent's Tooth (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hell to Pay (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unnatural Inquirer (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just Another Judgement Day (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good, the Bad, and the Uncanny (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hard Day's Knight (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bride Wore Black Leather (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Nightside Collections

Tales from the Nightside (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nightside is a series of urban fantasy novels that follow the exploits of a private investigator that has a knack for finding things.

+The Story

The Nightside is a fictional creation of Simon R. Green and the primary setting of the Nightside series. Green describes it as an inner city area located in London. The Nightside is called so because it experiences perpetual night.

Regardless of the time you choose to step into this particular pocket of supernatural real estate, you will find that it is always 3 am in the morning. And that is hardly the strangest thing about the Nightside.

There’s also the fact that the setting is situated in London but it is somehow much larger than London in size. And as tends to be the case with urban fantasies, the Nightside is hidden from the normal world, though people from the normal world are constantly streaming into the Nightside.

This is a place where both dreams and nightmares seem to come to life, and sometimes at the same time. Anything you could possibly want you will get in the Nightside. The fun never seems to end but the dangers are also quite rife.

You never know what you will find there. With the numerous supernatural creatures and entities that walk the various streets of the Nightside, it pays to journey with some caution.

Business in this particular section of London is supervised by a mysterious committee known as ‘The Authorities’. They make the rules and enforce any laws that have been enacted.

When the Nightside Series first kicks off in ‘Something from the Nightside’, John Taylor is forced to go into the Nightside to do a job. John Taylor is the protagonist of the series, the character through whose perspective the elusive mysteries of the Nightside are explored.

Taylor is a private investigator of sorts, though he wouldn’t use that term to describe himself. The hero has a special ability called the ‘Private Eye’ which allows him to find things.

Because of that power, Taylor is best placed to play the role of private investigator. And it comes as little surprise that people keep hiring him to find things for them. Taylor’s jobs are never without drama.

While Taylor does not intentionally seek out trouble, he expects it. That is the least you can expect to encounter when you are forced to probe the supernatural business of paranormal clients.

However, Taylor isn’t one to shy away from a challenge and his special ability isn’t quite as passive as many of his enemies seem to think. Taylor’s connections to the Nightside run deep and it takes him a while to realize that his lineage might be to blame for all the hostile looks that sometimes come his way.

Taylor is surrounded by a strong and vibrant cast of supporting characters. Chief amongst them is Suzie Shooter. The most dangerous bounty hunter in London, Suzie came to the Nightside after taking drastic measures to right a wrong she suffered at the hands of her family.

She eventually garners a reputation for bringing her bounties back dead because it lessens her load of paperwork.

There’s also Henry Walker, an Agent of the Authorities who has a power called ‘The Voice’ that allows him to make people do whatever he commands. Henry’s connection to Taylor can be traced back to his relationship with Taylor’s father.

Additional characters of note include Razor Eddie, the Collector, Dead Boy, Alex Morrisey and Merlin Satanspawn to mention but a few.

+The Author

Simon R. Green is a British author that writes science fiction and fantasy. Born in Wiltshire, Green studied Modern English and American Literature in college. The author started writing in 1973 and sold his first story in 1976.

Green’s works include the Deathstalker, and Hawk and Fisher series.

+Something from the Nightside

John Taylor is a detective. You can call him a detective because that is what his card says. However, Taylor could be more accurately described as a finder of things. After all, that is where his true gifts lie.

Taylor has a special ability that allows him to find lost things. It is a gift he was born with, and it isn’t that surprising seeing as he was a child of the Nightside.

While Taylor does not have the capacity to completely escape the paranormal aspects of his life, he was able to leave the Nightside. And unlike so many people he still had his skin and sanity.

Life on the streets of London isn’t too bad for Taylor. At the very least, there’s plenty of sun, this as opposed to the Nightside which is forever shrouded in darkness. When business begins to slow, old demons come calling.

It begins with Joanna Barrett showing up at his door. Life is going great for her, and it isn’t that hard for Taylor to discern her wealth. But she has a problem, one that only Taylor can solve. Barrett’s teenage daughter has run away.

Taylor is good at finding things, and he should have been enthusiastic about undertaking a seemingly ordinary case. Then he learned that Barrett’s girl had fled to the Nightside. Suddenly things don’t seem so straightforward.

A square mile of hell hidden in London, a place where morning never comes, Taylor isn’t too keen on going back to the Nightside, and it isn’t just because of all the monsters and myths that walk the streets.

Taylor must overcome his fears and the promise he made himself to save the life of a child.

+Agents of Light and Darkness

The Nightside is part dream, part nightmare. A place where Gods and Monsters walk the streets, and pleasure and pain are doled out in equal measure.

John Taylor promised he would never return to the Nightside. But then a case brought him back home and now he cannot seem to pry the hooks of the Nightside out of him.

Taylor has a special power that allows him to find lost things. When you lose something, Taylor’s the man you go to. And this time Taylor is on the hunt for the Unholy Grail.

The Unholy Grail is the cup Judas used at the last supper and it is well known that, for all the power it grants, the Grail corrupts those who touch it. If Taylor wants to get this most dangerous of treasures, he will have to battle angels, devils, saints and everything in between.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Nightside

Leave a Reply